We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
wirral merseyside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went for our 30th wedding anniversary, the staff were helpful you get a free map, they are very courteous. the hotel itself is right in the centre of everything, you can walk from the station to the hotel and right next door is a food plaza so you can buy your breakfast if you had room only, as we did. The hotel is beautiful and has blue delft everywhere the rooms are clean although smallish, we went easyjet and that was a great service too.

Room Tip: book early !! its a very busy hotel due to its location. no noise at night but thats probably due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    368
    220
    96
    81
See reviews for
107
443
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has a very good location in Amsterdam but the hotel itself was disappointing. Our room was small and reminded me of a cabin on a ship. Water pressure in the shower was rather low. Breakfast wasnt included and cost € 19,50 extra p.p a day. Got breakfast in Albert Heijn instead, a supermarket 2 min from the hotel. Dont buy bottled water in the reception! 1 litre cost us € 7. Generally the staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend in the beginning of December 2012. The staff at reception said specifically that breakfast started from 6.30 am every day of the week, but when we went to breakfast on Saturday, it did not start until 7. I had to leave for work by 7 so could not get breakfast on that day.
We did not have enough toilet papers and items for shower, and we have to ask for new items every time. And our room was not properly cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for our first visit to amsterdam. The hotel is in a perfect location just steps away from dam square, kalvestraat, amsterdam central station and very close to the red light district as well. The staff was also very helpful with tips on places to visit, directions etc etc. Only grouse the room was small but if u are gonna be out all day like us it doesnt matter. The perfect location more than makes up for other faults.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from the Hotel, my daughter and I stayed for 3 nights. the hotel was very easy to find and 10 mins from station, perfect location. Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels. we would definitely stay here again. Can also recommend the Ribs at mas Y mas restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first short break to Amsterdam. The hotel was very easy to find and walk to from Central Station, and located perfectly for sightseeing. Our room was clean, comfortable and ideal for our needs. We would highly recommend the hotel and certainly stay here if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is amazing and I would definitely return to this hotel when coming back to Amsterdam! The staff are all really friendly and helpful - they give you so much information about the best way to travel to places and the best places to go to suit your tastes! Always cheery as well!

The room was absolutely amazing! We were lucky upon arrival to be given room 120 which was the biggest in the hotel and just perfect. We had a massive jacuzzi bath as well as a separate living and sleeping area. When we first entered, we were gob smacked as we didn't even expect it to be half that size - we went with the mentality that we would get a basic room just for sleeping however it was more like a spa resort room! The best was so comfy! Had the best few nights sleep ever! It was like sleeping on a cloud!

Situated right in the centre as well! Perfect location. R square and L square (the main ones) are a £2.90 tram ride away or a 10 min walk. We walked there easily in the day but got the tram at night due to me walking in heels! It is so close to everything.

Would recommend eating at the Irish bar - it is amazing! It's on R square. We had the beef sandwich specialty and it was amazing! Got to have New York pizza when you're there too! Any meal we bought was worth the money as even though in the capital - the meals were huge so defo worth the price!

Grasshopper was a fave coffee shop to sit outside (or in) and just chill. The spag bol there was gorgeous!

Nightlife is great! L square and R square just as good as each other! L square is more close and friendly and smaller bars whereas R square focuses more on the clubs but still has crazy little bars which we loved! Smoky's is good to go as very busy and has lots of drinks deals on.

However, back to the hotel - they let you leave your luggage safely in a room before and after check in. They will do anything to help. They give you a card for the ironing room and have adapter plugs you can borrow. The hotel itself is very pretty and looks amazing inside and out. Couldn't have been happier with our stay here. The room just topped it off as that was just incredible! It always helps when a hotel has such friendly staff as here, as well.

Thank you for an amazing stay!! Loved it and will defo return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.