We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel! Didn't want to leave! Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel! Didn't want to leave! Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is amazing and I would definitely return to this hotel when coming back to Amsterdam! The staff are all really friendly and helpful - they give you so much information about the best way to travel to places and the best places to go to suit your tastes! Always cheery as well!

The room was absolutely amazing! We were lucky upon arrival to be given room 120 which was the biggest in the hotel and just perfect. We had a massive jacuzzi bath as well as a separate living and sleeping area. When we first entered, we were gob smacked as we didn't even expect it to be half that size - we went with the mentality that we would get a basic room just for sleeping however it was more like a spa resort room! The best was so comfy! Had the best few nights sleep ever! It was like sleeping on a cloud!

Situated right in the centre as well! Perfect location. R square and L square (the main ones) are a £2.90 tram ride away or a 10 min walk. We walked there easily in the day but got the tram at night due to me walking in heels! It is so close to everything.

Would recommend eating at the Irish bar - it is amazing! It's on R square. We had the beef sandwich specialty and it was amazing! Got to have New York pizza when you're there too! Any meal we bought was worth the money as even though in the capital - the meals were huge so defo worth the price!

Grasshopper was a fave coffee shop to sit outside (or in) and just chill. The spag bol there was gorgeous!

Nightlife is great! L square and R square just as good as each other! L square is more close and friendly and smaller bars whereas R square focuses more on the clubs but still has crazy little bars which we loved! Smoky's is good to go as very busy and has lots of drinks deals on.

However, back to the hotel - they let you leave your luggage safely in a room before and after check in. They will do anything to help. They give you a card for the ironing room and have adapter plugs you can borrow. The hotel itself is very pretty and looks amazing inside and out. Couldn't have been happier with our stay here. The room just topped it off as that was just incredible! It always helps when a hotel has such friendly staff as here, as well.

Thank you for an amazing stay!! Loved it and will defo return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    367
    220
    96
    81
See reviews for
107
443
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

wireless internet so slow....twin bed room so small...this hotel is 3* but not 4* ! only good location,but for value you can find many more hotel around this area....i will not stay anymore again this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went there for 6 days and we were upgraded to the suite. The suite is amazing. You wake up with a view to dam square. Hotel staff is really friendly. The bar is special since it is the original Heineken brewery and the bartender was so nice he even went with us to the Escape club on his way home to show us the city!!!.
Restaurant serves a mean steak as written by several others. To conclude, this hotel is really special.

Room Tip: Dont miss out on the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend had stayed here several times. When i suggested a trip to Amsterdam we had to stay here. I wasnt dissapointed.

I contacted the hotel and paid in advance and on arrival we were warmly welcomed. Our room 308 was fab. Large room, comfy bed ( we were upgraded by reservations to a large bed as i am heavily pregnant ) it seemed nothing was a problem foe them and another suprise a deep spa bath.

Great location opposite Dam Square with shops and restaurants and only 15 minute train ride from the airport.

Didnt eat at the hotel as we were room only however may try on a future return trip. Drinks at the hotel werent cheap however possibly the same at other hotels, large beer and small bottle of 7 up was 10 euros.

No hot water for one of our days and night - usually i would have complained how ever it was such a nice hotel and our stay over all was great it wasnt an issue.

Would recommend the hotel to anyone and we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel in July the location was fantastic right near dam square the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Our air conditioning was broken in our room the hotel staff were very helpful and moved us straight away, would definitely recommend this hotel 10/10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The story of this hotel property is really cool, but there the elevator was TINY, went very slow, and our luggage could not fit. The hike up the stairs was not pretty. It is in a GREAT location to everything in the city, so highly recommended for that. I don't remember there being air conditioning - could be painful in the summer for some people. The rooms were nice, and I had a balcony that overlooked Amsterdam, so that was gorgeous. The bathrooms were clean.

This wasn't the most affordable hotel for business or leisure travelers. I've stayed in other places in Amsterdam that were far better price-wise. I would recommend this place for a lightly packed business traveler, but don't know that I would recommend it for a leisure traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently stayed for fourth visit and not disappointed. Easy #s 1,2,5 tram ride from central station and #5 tram to RijksMuseum and Van Gogh Museum, main purpose of our visit.
Hotel staff very sharp, quickly moved us after first night when street noise bothered us. WiFi worked great. Food in hotel adaquate, bar pleasant.
Air conditioning was a big plus.

Room Tip: Rooms around courtyard best for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.