We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a good stay, manager and reception staff very helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Save Saved
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Once again a good stay, manager and reception staff very helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent again all round, too the people who leave the negatives- it's amsterdam if your looking for luxury 5* then go pay €4-700 per night somewhere else! If you want simple and clean and good prices then this is for you and the location is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    322
    206
    88
    74
See reviews for
88
400
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location is excellent, it was right behind the palace. nice little resturant on the side of buiding open late *note eat the donner kabob. my room had a jacuzzi tub shower thing which was quiet large.... really fun for a single guy in amsterdam. i only stayed in one room, it was on the top floor. my view was a quiet street which i didnt mind, because next to my room was a small stair way which lead to this quiet street. i could only exit this way but it was a nice private exit...
tram stop in frront and everything was in walkng distance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for ten days recently and in terms of location you'd be hard pressed to beat it
Right off dam square and close to tram stops its easily walk able to anything you want to get to and only ten min walk from central station itself
The hotel boasts being situated on the site of a former Heineken brewery so is very interesting to stay in
The breakfast is good if not a little expensive for what's on offer at 19€ and the bar next door good for a beer at the end of a days work
Rooms are some what dated and I found the standard of room service could be a little better in terms of cleaning
I'm not a messy person but coffee cups are seldom removed, bathroom items go unreplaced once run out, that sort of thing. Not major just annoying as that's all the maids job is. Beds get made though and sheets are clean
I found the needs to be old and imploding on them selves but my colleagues had better and worse
In general a pleasant place to stay, perfect location- just a little dated

Top tips
Tell them you're having breakfast for your entire stay as you'll get a cheaper rate than paying daily
Our the front door, left and first street left is an excellent kebab shop- open until three am. And I don't mean one of those shocking UK places this food is all good
Take the stairs unless you like slow lifts
Reception can help you with pretty well anything. We found them very helpful
Don't expect much from the in house internet.it's shockingly bad

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and found the location of the hotel and service by the staff at reception to be quite good. As other reviewers have noted the exterior of the hotel is quite impressive, along with the restaurant and lobby area downstairs. Unfortunately, there were a number of negatives that we encountered in our stay. The bed was quite old and sunken in the middle which caused some discomfort when we were able to sleep. I say 'when' as our room was located near the internal stairs. Whenever anyone uses these stairs, every step they take is echoed through the room. Although there is a lift, many people on the first couple of floors probably opt to take the stairs. This is extremely noisy and frustrating as it continues throughout the night.
I would suggest that people try and avoid the room we had (i think it was 130) if you want to get a good night sleep. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to invest in some new beds..

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view and don't stay on the first floor near the stairs (130 I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The front of the hotel looks good and is attached to a restaurant on one side and a quiet bar on the other. The lobby is also very nice if a little small. We then got to the room and wondered where the rest of it was. It was tiny! We could not walk around the bed as it was virtually butted up against the window, which spoilt the view of the corridor and elevator. The taps were poorly fitted and you had to hold the shower head to have a shower.

All in all, its actually not a bad place for the price that we paid (£50) and location was perfect, but I am totally confused as to how they say this is a 4* hotel. I have stayed in better 2* places in Paris.

Another annoyance was that we were with friends and our room telephone didn't work. We reported this immediately on the first day and it still wasn't fixed when we left 4 days later. Luckily, the free wireless was useful so we could communicate with our friends via email.

Another annoyance, was the speed of the elevator. Not a big deal, but it was sooooooo slow.

Location is great, staff were very nice, but I probably wouldn't recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited this hotel 31st Jan for 3 nights. We had booked a 2nd or 3rd floor room for mobility reasons but on arrival we were offered 5th floor however after discussions with 3 receptionists we were given a 2nd floor room (202) at the rear of the hotel. The room was reasonablly clean, but in need of upgrading. It backed onto a street at the rear of the hotel and at 1.00 pm appeared to be quite quiet. We dropped off our luggage and went out for a walk around Centrum. We decided to eat out as the restaurant did not appear to be open as we could see no staff nor any customers although a menu was posted at the door????? We had some very expensive drinks at the Hotel bar later before retiring but Amsterdam is not cheap for alcohol anyway. We dropped off to sleep around midnight only to be woken at 4.30 am to the sound of bin men removing a communal skip and replacing a new one at around 5.00 am it drove off and then 30 minutes later another bin lorry came to do the wheelies bin for what sounded like the whole street. Ok off to sleep - no a delivery van pulled up to deliver supplies to the hotel. It was now light and we were fully awake now. These rooms we observed have single glazing and you could even here the sound of people in the street below talking. OK off for breakfast at 9.00 am and found that the hot buffet was empty. We had to wait about 10 minutes for it to be replenished.

We spent a pleasant day seeing some of the city's sites and again that evening we assumed the restaurant was closed as there was no one in it so we went out for a fantatsic meal downtown. We got in around midnight and headed off for a decent nights sleep. No we did not sleep for long before a bin lorry pulled up underneath our room around 5.30 am and started to crush its load for nearly half an hour. We went down for breakfast around 9.45 am to find that once again the hot buffet was nearly finished.

Saturday night we went out for dinner and got back in around 11.30 pm. We were nearly dead on our feet with doing the tourist things and lack of sleep so we went to bed after a quick drink at the bar. We thought that no bin lorries would be out on a Sunday morning and wrong were we! Also lots of voices in the street below and we discovered that the hotel is only 50 metres away from a smaller never mentioned Red Light area.Usual breakfast fiasco at 9.45 am - no hot buffet and pancakes turned to rubber. I had to chase the waitress to replenish the hot food. This took around 10 minutes or so.

We left this hotel disappointed and tired. We would certainly come back to Amsterdam but this hotel will be given a wide berth even although it is very central. This is not 4 star and equivalent in the UK would be an average 3 star. I really hope the managememt pay attention to this review as I am sure they must be aware of the problems and if not they ought to wake up and smell the coffee. We just wished we had the opportunity to wake up naturally to smell our coffee!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The views are great if you get the right room. Rooms were clean and the deco reflected the age of the hotel. Excellent location for exploring the city we walked for miles around the canals and back streets. if you want the hustle and bustle of Dam square its right on your door step! H&M very close too and a supermarket right next door. We ate in the bar Brasserie De Poort one night. Very cosy indeed, I had the goulash it was very good a must if your anywhere near the hotel. I was a little disappointed with the irish coffee I ordered. It wasn't hot enough, bar staff would benefit from a look at you tube to see how to make a good Irish coffee. A great hotel especially if you like something a little quirky.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Port van Cleve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.