We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Caransa to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #125 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

we stayed as a couple for 3 nights, overall impression is good(if you don't mind the noise from the clubs, you are in that area after all!) our room, 515, overlooked the square from the 5th floor, really good to sit and watch the world go by. Can't comment on food or breakfast as we opted to find somewhere ourselves. There is a coffeeshop right across the square, smokeys, and a couple more dotted around the side streets if any of you like us are going for a smoking holiday ;-) We are already looking to go back in november for the 3rd time this year and will definitely be considering the caransa, hopefully they may give discount for returning guests, worth a try!

Room Tip: if your not a fan of nightlife make sure you ask for any room not overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience here.
It is nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that you are considering to visit the city again and stay with us.

We are offering a lot of promotional & discountrates on the NH website.
Please feel free to take a look and hopefully we may welcome you again in the NH Caransa.

Best Regards

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    78
    25
    12
See reviews for
41
206
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great value considering the location. This hotel is located in a popular square with other hotels and many restaurants and clubs. One can walk to almost any location or hop on a tram to any location. A car is not necessary, but if you have one, there is no parking facility except expensive local garages. Suggest taking advantage of hotel parking arrangement with private company (valet service). It is less expensive and only requires a bit of planning in advance for when you need your vehicle and a few Euros when you go in and out.

Staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Rooms are neat and clean but little to no drawers for clothing. Breakfast is nothing fancy, but provides a decent choice considering. Free WiFi is available and appreciated. Noise outside hotel is a bit much, but very tolerable if you don't mind it or are used to it (actually quite entertaining to watch all the night people).

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a quiet room in this hotel. We did not mind the noise and activity. It was well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Two words - Air conditioning!

I stayed at your hotel on 18-23 JUL 14.
A very 'hot day’s' period...

As a guest on vacation, when I come back
to the hotel room after it’s very hot and humid
outside. You'd like to run away from the heat.

But it was very hot and humid in the room.
The window didn't open much and the
'vent' they had was less than enough…

They gave us a poor excuse that it’s
only few days a year - which is unacceptable!

FOR THEM: it’s only few days a year.
FOR ME: it was my summer vacation…

I was in AMS on business two weeks before.
Stayed at the TOREN AMS and they had AC
in the room so... I'm not sure why they don't
have AC in the rooms.

If I need to choose in which hotel
to stay on my next time in AMS it would
most likely be the Toren.

But, I would recommend this hotel to
other people because it is a nice hotel.
Location is great and staff are very nice!
...and in AMS most of the year it's cold...lol




  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had expactations of the well know Caransa hotel on the Rembrandt square in Amsterdam. Right in the centre of the city. Location is perfect. But. The rooms and the hallways, the hall etc. were not clean, Shabby it looked. Everywhere there was dirt and dust. The carpets were dirty. No, not the standard you expect. Of course higher prices because of the gay pride, that seems to be normal.
Breakfast was reasonable, beds OK, spacious room (superior room) with view on the square. The large couches in the room were not clean.
Lots of noice 'till early in the morning (ear plugs provided), that's OK. But, a sink or washbasin that not flows through, also not after three complaints is not acceptable. Hairs and other dirt every time came up from the drainage, it was disgusting.
All together not a (NH) hotel where we come back again. We have been in many hotels, but this was very under the normal level. Yakky.

Room Tip: there are a lot of better hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were offered an upgrade when we checked in, 20€ after a discount, so we took it (we where also promised a late checkout on Sunday, no extra cost cause they weren't very busy at the moment) When we checked out the cost was suddenly 80€ plus fee for late checkout. (A total of over 100€)

We're never staying here again. The man at the front desk (when we checked out) was so rude that our driver, who had came I. Yo the Lobby to help with our luggage, commented on the mans behaviour when we walked to the car.

There are lots of other hotels in the city centre of Amsterdam, we highly recommend that you choose one of them instead of this one. Or, make sure to pay up front when the offer you a deal cause they will most certainly Not keep their promise when it's time for you to leave.
C and K from Sweden

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Catrin,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We would like to express our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

We always aim to provide excellent service at any time and regret that we failed you on this occasion.
We find that the experience your were put through at your departure was unacceptable.
Please rest assured that we will be addressing this with the utmost seriousness.

Unfortunatly we do not have all you details here, therefore we can not contact you personally .

Please be so kind to contact the hotel for my details, so we can contact you back for a suitable solution.

Once again thank you for your comment.

Kind Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed for six nights for a conference. It's not the fanciest or most luxurious, but the staff was very hospitable, and it was clean and comfortable. The room was decent room/bathroom for Europe, and it was an easy hotel to get to thanks to the tram stop right in front of it. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but fine for my needs. LOTS of restaurants, cafes, small eateries, tourist shops, and quick marts/drug stores near by. However, being right on Rembrandtplein is an issue if you prefer quiet! During week nights it's busy and loud until late...on weekends no one goes to bed and it's complete mayhem (at least during the summer time). Be advised that events like concerts, etc. also take place there...there is a jumbotron (luckily on the same side of the street as the hotel) that will also add to the fray. This is definitely something you should check into before booking.
(To give you an idea, this weekend is Gay Pride Weekend, and the Rembrandplein is tented and there is a massive concert going on there. I am writing this 4 blocks away and can hear it!) But if you're going to be out most of the night anyway, this won't be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the square if you are a light sleeper. It won't be super quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment on tripadvisor.

Being located on the rembrandsquare, one of the entertainment area's here in amsterdam, it is true that there is always something going on at night.
Events and festivities like this weekend (gay pride) are always anounced and are indeed louder than the clubs and bars on the square, we are sorry for this inconvenience.

Hopefully you have enjoyed your stay

Once again, thank you for your comment.

Kind regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

i was only at this spot for one night but still loved it. beautiful view from the 6th floor over looking the roof tops and canals. rooms were clean, beds were good, but the shower was smaller then i'd like use. front desk was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations.
walking distance to Anne Frank's house, Van Gouge Museum, and Red Light District.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time for leaving a comment on tripadvisor.

Hopefully your next stay in Amsterdam will be a bit longer so you can enjoy our service and the hotel some more.

Kind Regards,

Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.