We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, a very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Caransa to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #118 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, a very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great time at the NH Caransa. Although we were a bit concerned about the possible noise, our room which was on the 6th flour was very quite (as long as the windows were closed!). The hotel is very clean, the staff friendly, and the location is fabulous. We would be very happy to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.
We understand your concern but indeed the noise is also acceptable at many times.
Hopefully you will choose our hotel once more in the future and we will be able to again make sure you have an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    256
    90
    29
    12
See reviews for
48
247
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed at the Caransa for two nights with my boyfriend.
LOCATION:
The hotel is situated in Rembrandt Sq, nice location surrounded by lots of pubs, restaurants and shops. It's about 15-20mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station and about 10-15mins from the main attractions i.e. sex museum, red light district, madame tussauds. I do recommend bringing comfortable shoes as we walked everywhere we went as it's all fairly local, however it can be very tiring.

FOOD:
We just ate breakfast here. The food is quite limited. They do not provide a full English breakfast, it missed baked beans, sausages, hash browns. There was no toaster for the bread. It was a basic breakfast selection and the dining room is quite small but has a nice balcony which overlooks the square if you wish to sit outside.
There is a free hot drinks machine on the same floor as the dining room (1st floor) which i presume is free to use for guests at any time, with some light snacks.

RECEPTION:
We were greeted by a friendly man at the desk. The free wifi at the hotel works very well however does expire every 24hours so you'd need to get a sheet with a code when it expires, this is available at the desk. There are plenty of brochures at the front of the hotel also which details excursions. We didn't come across much of the hotel staff.

ROOM:
Our room was nice and cosy, decent sized, very clean and well maintained. The bathroom provides the standard amenities (hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel, soap, etc.)
Our room was situated to the side of the hotel facing another building so we didn't experience much of the street noise, however our window was closed all the time and we slept with the air con on.
The room provides two pillows and one spare in the cupboard, however 2 out of 3 of the pillows were lumpy. The beds are nice and firm, but i wasn't too best pleased with the lumpy pillows. The TV in the room has plenty of channels but most of them are not in English.
There's a minibar to use at an extra cost and you can store drinks in the fridge to keep cool. The room does offer complimentary tea and coffee.

We were pleased with this hotel, however would probably stay just a little closer to the station if we were to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback on your stay.
For any future visits to our hotels we are happy to inform our guests that FREE WIFI will change to one log in code instead of different ones every 24 hours. As we do understand it can be annoying having to log in each time.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to welcome you soon in one of our hotels.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Regular visitors to Amsterdam, but new to this hotel. Great location if you want a central location, near all the fun of Amsterdam. Room was very clean and bed very comfy, and the free wifi worked, and that does make a change. would defiantly use again.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors are best, lower can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mark.

Thank you for your positive comment. We will make sure to pass on your compliment to our housekeeping department.
As you visite Amsterdam often we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Leticia Muro
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I thought the hotel was great based on value, location and staff. The rooms were nice but nothing fancy. I will definitely consider this hotel on my next visit. You cannot beat the location,
but if you are looking for a quiet, country hotel then this one is not for your. I slept with the windows open and you could hear all the sounds of the city, very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leticia M, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Caransa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Google Translation
Heel hartelijk dank voor uw positieve feedback betreffende uw verblijf. Het hotel is inderdaad in hartje van Amsterdam gevestigd waar veel activiteiten plaats vinden.
Een kamer aan de achterkant zou eventueel uitkomst kunnen bieden voor een volgend verblijf mocht u dit wensen.

Wellicht tot ziens.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Leticia Muro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Upon extensively researching which NH hotel to stay at in Amsterdam (there are plenty of NH hotels there) I chose this one for two reasons - location in Rembrandtplein, plenty of pubs and restaurants and about 20 mins walk to the Damrak. The second reason is how well renovated the property is.....from the outside it is a grey concrete box but inside it is tasteful, very contemporary and large windows in my room overlooking the square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

great location, close to many attractions with bars and restaurants along the square outside, the rooms were nice and quiet also very clean and modern was very happy on my stay. staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel, very quiet for its location. Right on the bus stop in Rembrandt plaza, three stops down from the main train station. there are many restaurants within feet of the hotel, many outside cafes to people watch and have a leisurely drink or meal. we stayed 2 nights in May.

Room Tip: 5th floor toward the back was good, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Venere, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.