We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Saved by Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Caransa to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa) (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #126 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Saved by Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I gave this hotel 4 stars, rather than 3, due to its location at Rembrantsplein. The room was clean, but there was construction going on early in the morning, with workmen walking about on scaffolding front of the window. This might make some female travellers uncomfortable, considering how thin the blinds are. The workmen also used power tools early in the morning. Not so good after a night of Amsterdam fun. The lift was also broken, and you had to use a claustrophobic service lift. Go there for the location, and ask for a room at the back, away from the construction.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    261
    95
    30
    12
See reviews for
50
250
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My boyfriend and i took a 3 day trip to Amsterdam and we were really happy with the NH Caransa. The location was fantastic, right on the tram and within walking distance from everywhere. The square around the hotel has loads of lovely restaurants, bars and amenities. The Hotel was clean and the staff were lovely but the room was very small and a bit claustrophobic. But other than that we were absolutely delighted and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The square can get loud at night so try to request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I can understand the mixed reviews for this hotel, it depends on the purpose of your visit. If you are there to party then it could not be better - Rembrandtplein is in your room all night with the noise. The hotel is central - you are on hand for the night clubs and bars and tram stops are outside the door to get you anywhere in the city.
The room itself and level of cleanliness were fine, staff very friendly. One small lift that was adequate as the hotel was not too busy. There are currently refurbishments that took out the rooms at the back leaving the noisier rooms on the square and side. Earplugs are provided, you'll need them at the front.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back if you wish to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location and decent room size.
8 minutes from the Dam square and 10 min's to the red light.
Clean and good value for the price.
Would stay here again and what you pay is what you get here.
No thrill but just what you need to explore and enjoy Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a weekend away at the beginning of the month and what a pleasant one it was. The rooms are very spacious, modern, clean and well presented with all the facilities you need. The reception staff were always on hand and spoke very good English. I moved rooms a few times due to scaffolding works outside the window, and the reception staff were more than accommodating and very helpful. The hotel is located in Rembrandtplein, the heart of the city's nightlife, which didn't disturb our sleep, so everything is on your doorstep. The hotel WiFi is free and they will keep your luggage at no extra charge. We were allowed to keep our room until 5pm on our last day as it is part of the hotels 'Endless Sundays' initiative where you can sleep in after a late Saturday night out and breakfast is extended until midday. We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and will stay at any NH hotel again and most certainly will!

Room Tip: Rooms on the West and South Side are without builders and scaffolding at the moment so probably a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

18 of us stayed at this hotel for a hen party, brilliant location to base yourself for a busy weekend! Hotel itself was very clean but basic which was fine, had no problems at all, staff were great.
A visit to Anne Frank house is a must, for a group outing do the beer bike ride which was hilarious. Lovely city but keep your wits about you for all trams and cyclists, they are everywhere!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just got back from a weekend away with my boyfriend here and everything from the location to the decoration is lovely, there is so much to do around the hotel and it's only a 5 minute walk down the high street to Dam square
One slight blip was that when we got into our room there was scaffolding and builders on the outside window sill, straight away we went down to reception and they only had a superior room available which would cost us €20 extra per night which we thought we shouldn't have to pay due to the fact it was their fault and we weren't warned. We paid the extra anyway and the room was beautiful and had an amazing view of Rembrandt square

When we got home we contacted the hotel management and politely explained what happened to see what their opinion was on us being charged and in 24 hours we were given a refund & sent a free upgrade voucher!

There were lots of clubs and bars below the hotel but it didn't disturb our sleep, if I got up in the night I quite enjoyed looking out and watching everyone outside! And got back to sleep straight away

We 100% would stay again in any NH hotel again and am truly grateful for what they did for us, the hotel also kept our luggage from 10-3pm when we arrived as our room wasn't ready and from 10-5pm on our last day as we had a late flight with no problems at all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#159 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#220 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#164 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.