We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decent room size” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Caransa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #126 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location and decent room size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location and decent room size.
8 minutes from the Dam square and 10 min's to the red light.
Clean and good value for the price.
Would stay here again and what you pay is what you get here.
No thrill but just what you need to explore and enjoy Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    195
    64
    23
    9
See reviews for
37
173
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a weekend away at the beginning of the month and what a pleasant one it was. The rooms are very spacious, modern, clean and well presented with all the facilities you need. The reception staff were always on hand and spoke very good English. I moved rooms a few times due to scaffolding works outside the window, and the reception staff were more than accommodating and very helpful. The hotel is located in Rembrandtplein, the heart of the city's nightlife, which didn't disturb our sleep, so everything is on your doorstep. The hotel WiFi is free and they will keep your luggage at no extra charge. We were allowed to keep our room until 5pm on our last day as it is part of the hotels 'Endless Sundays' initiative where you can sleep in after a late Saturday night out and breakfast is extended until midday. We were thoroughly impressed with the hotel and will stay at any NH hotel again and most certainly will!

Room Tip: Rooms on the West and South Side are without builders and scaffolding at the moment so probably a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

18 of us stayed at this hotel for a hen party, brilliant location to base yourself for a busy weekend! Hotel itself was very clean but basic which was fine, had no problems at all, staff were great.
A visit to Anne Frank house is a must, for a group outing do the beer bike ride which was hilarious. Lovely city but keep your wits about you for all trams and cyclists, they are everywhere!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just got back from a weekend away with my boyfriend here and everything from the location to the decoration is lovely, there is so much to do around the hotel and it's only a 5 minute walk down the high street to Dam square
One slight blip was that when we got into our room there was scaffolding and builders on the outside window sill, straight away we went down to reception and they only had a superior room available which would cost us €20 extra per night which we thought we shouldn't have to pay due to the fact it was their fault and we weren't warned. We paid the extra anyway and the room was beautiful and had an amazing view of Rembrandt square

When we got home we contacted the hotel management and politely explained what happened to see what their opinion was on us being charged and in 24 hours we were given a refund & sent a free upgrade voucher!

There were lots of clubs and bars below the hotel but it didn't disturb our sleep, if I got up in the night I quite enjoyed looking out and watching everyone outside! And got back to sleep straight away

We 100% would stay again in any NH hotel again and am truly grateful for what they did for us, the hotel also kept our luggage from 10-3pm when we arrived as our room wasn't ready and from 10-5pm on our last day as we had a late flight with no problems at all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on 13th February for 3 nights , the location is fantastic central to everything there's plenty of bars and places to eat around the square , we found The Three Sisters pub underneath the hotel an excellent place for a reasonably priced full English breakfast .The hotel it's self is quite basic , no bar or resteraunt , but very clean and well looked after , the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful , rooms are big , free safe , comfy beds , tv and nice bathroom , ours had views over the canals.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the NH Caransa Hotel in Amsterdam recently for my Fiancee birthday. Firstly i'd like to say that the location of this hotel is perfect, right in the center and within walking distance of major attractions; however you are given ear plugs as any hotel in the center nights can be a little noisy...didn't bother us though. Secondly I was in contact prior to going to arrange a birthday cake to be put in our room upon arrival. The staff were very accommodating and did exactly as I had asked, once we had arrived we were surprised to learn that they had actually given us a free upgrade to an executive suite. Overall this was a very pleasant experience, rooms view was amazing and staff were so friendly. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at NH Caransa 6 years ago on a business trip and i was very happy with the service then. we decided to stay here again and booked 2 nights. the rooms remained clean and the service the same! which was very pleasing. the room was a bit cold although i put on the heater and the front desk brought me a small mini heater which was very useful. the services were very good, the front desk were all so kind and friendly offering help. the wifi is free but for those that wants faster connection you can pay extra cost of 9.90 euro to get faster connection. the location is the best for those that are visiting the city for a short weekend. it has access to center city in 5-10 min walking distance, there are many nice small museums near by within walking distance and many restuarants and cafes. i would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.