We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable room and bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Caransa

Save Saved
You added NH Caransa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 19, Amsterdam 1017 CT, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Caransa) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room and bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was our first visit in Amsterdam and the location couldn`t be better. Located at Rembandtplein, a with lots of restaurants, shops and supermakets nearby. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony, where we could have a nice view to the canal. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    184
    62
    22
    9
See reviews for
31
158
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a find. This hotel is ideally suited in the Southern Canal Ring... Close to to all the major sights and smack bang in the old clubbing district of Amsterdam.

We arrived at 10am and the friendly receptionist was able to find us a room straight away. Room 201 is very spacious with great views across Rembrandtplein Square double aspect windows. The room is decorated in a minimalist style with light grey wall and a green accent colour. It sounds horrible and the pictures don't look amazing either... However, don't let this put you off; somehow it works in reality.

You'll notice that the hotel have left foam ear plugs for your stay. If you are a light or sensitive sleeper then this hotel might not be for you. The sound of the tram and people on a night out can be heard through the window. With the ear plugs in however, I slept without a problem.

The bathroom is quite small but clean and well appointed. Although I have to admit that the toilet paper sheet dispenser did seem out of place!

Overall, I would both recommend this hotel and stay here again! Look out for special offer deal when this hotel can be really good value!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views but outside noise can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel was perfect! The room was excactly what we want, big ang with nice view and also very clean! it is next to everything!!! in other words perfect location! The stuff is very helpful and the last day they kept our luggages because our flight was late in the evening without charging us! The only negative is the low internet!

Room Tip: We got the 205 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location, halfway between dam square and rijksmuseum. Walking distance to all attractions. Slow wifi, no main light in room, only small table lamps which bit annoying, could be noisy outside in the night time, but it was ok can survive few nights. Nice, clean room, mini bar. Only we had 2 single beds instead one double however very comfy. Eanglish channels, tram just outside hotel. No restaurant, breakfast expensive- 19e pp( we went to starbucks opposite 10-13e breakfast for 2). Overall- recommened.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

great hotel especially its staff and location. as I have mentioned before i think that there is a place to consider working on the rooms' lights , sometimes I rreally could not see well what and where I put my things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed to NH Caransa with my girlfriend from 14 to 20 December.From the first time we got in the hotel everything was very good and the receptionist was very polite.Our room was very nice and clean and the view was very nice.The only "problems" was that we had ask for a double bed but we had two single and the internet connection was really slow. As regards the hotel it is in a very good area near everything...We chose that hotel cause it is between dam square (centre) and Leidseplein (next to Vondel Park), so we where everywhere in soon time. I totally recommend that hotel for your vacations in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great hotel, great location, courteous staff. Most Recommended !! We were there for four nights and it was excellent. The hotel is on the main square, clean, suitable for everyone and especially worth the money

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, Amsterdam 1017 CT, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Caransa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel located in heart of city, overlooking Rembrandtplein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.