We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Caransa

Save Saved
You added NH Caransa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Caransa) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #125 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great hotel, great location, courteous staff. Most Recommended !! We were there for four nights and it was excellent. The hotel is on the main square, clean, suitable for everyone and especially worth the money

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    186
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
162
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A pleasant surprise in every aspect....nice and central location.
Very good and friendly reception and helpful instructions concerning different sites to visit as well as excellent restaurants around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice room...we stayed for 2nights I thought since our room looked onto the square it would be super noisy but it l was suprisingly ok!! Great choice for breakfast!! And loads of it!! Some english channels and right outside is the tram!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of spending a night in the NH Caransa hotel on the Rembrandt Square in Amsterdam. It is hard to find a hotel with a better location in Amsterdam, especially if you like night life and you want to have a wide choice of restaurants and entertainment close by.

I got a nice room facing the square, with a lovely view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice and clean.

The breakfast buffet was simple but OK and the staff was friendly.

What more would you expect from a city hotel_

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed there during a city trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is nice and clean. It has free WiFi which was reasonably fast (they also had a faster paid version). It is located on Rembrandtplein, which has quite a lot of trams. If possible, ask to be away from the tram lines to limit the noise.
We had ask in advance for a baby bed but it was not in the room when we arrived so we had to call the reception and they brought it right away.
The AC in the room was a bit tricky and we could never figure out if it was on of off and were too hot the second night.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is another NH hotel across from the main square and this one does but we did not try it.
The breakfast could be pre-booked at a discount price of 15 EUR instead of 20. Instead, we just went to a local bar around the corner and had a nice continental breakfast for around 11 EUR.

Room Tip: Away from the tram lines on Rembrandtplein is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the NH Caransa on Sunday 27th October and had a wonderful night. We upgraded on arrival and were given a room which had a terrace with outside patio furniture. Granted the weather wasn't quite right to take advantage if it fully but this didn't stop us standing outside taking in the stunning city centre skyline.

The greeting at reception was very warm and friendly.

The room was a decent size and was nice and clean.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with plenty of choice between continental items and cooked items.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. It is situated just a 10 minute stroll along the canal from Dam Square which is the main tourist area. The square in which the hotel sits had a very lively and friendly atmosphere. There was a good selection of eateries and bars around the square to suit all budgets and tastes. It felt a very safe area.

We ate at the restaurant directly to the left of the hotel main reception as you face it from the street. Kitchen and Bar Van Rijn was its name. It has floor to ceiling windows and looks very modern and plush. The food was amazing. I had the ox stew and expected cubed steak in a gravy type dish. I was pleasantly surprised by a lump of steak like prime fillet which absolutely melted in the mouth. Well worth a visit.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff were wonderful and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

great location, good hotel, excellent service. could be a bit cleaner but in general recommended. stuff is very helpful and the hotel is a few minutes walking distance from the main attractions. the next door sports bar is great too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Caransa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel located in heart of city, overlooking Rembrandtplein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.