We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel with a splendid location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Caransa to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Caransa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fine hotel with a splendid location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of spending a night in the NH Caransa hotel on the Rembrandt Square in Amsterdam. It is hard to find a hotel with a better location in Amsterdam, especially if you like night life and you want to have a wide choice of restaurants and entertainment close by.

I got a nice room facing the square, with a lovely view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice and clean.

The breakfast buffet was simple but OK and the staff was friendly.

What more would you expect from a city hotel_

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    207
    68
    24
    11
See reviews for
40
181
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed there during a city trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is nice and clean. It has free WiFi which was reasonably fast (they also had a faster paid version). It is located on Rembrandtplein, which has quite a lot of trams. If possible, ask to be away from the tram lines to limit the noise.
We had ask in advance for a baby bed but it was not in the room when we arrived so we had to call the reception and they brought it right away.
The AC in the room was a bit tricky and we could never figure out if it was on of off and were too hot the second night.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is another NH hotel across from the main square and this one does but we did not try it.
The breakfast could be pre-booked at a discount price of 15 EUR instead of 20. Instead, we just went to a local bar around the corner and had a nice continental breakfast for around 11 EUR.

Room Tip: Away from the tram lines on Rembrandtplein is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the NH Caransa on Sunday 27th October and had a wonderful night. We upgraded on arrival and were given a room which had a terrace with outside patio furniture. Granted the weather wasn't quite right to take advantage if it fully but this didn't stop us standing outside taking in the stunning city centre skyline.

The greeting at reception was very warm and friendly.

The room was a decent size and was nice and clean.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious with plenty of choice between continental items and cooked items.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. It is situated just a 10 minute stroll along the canal from Dam Square which is the main tourist area. The square in which the hotel sits had a very lively and friendly atmosphere. There was a good selection of eateries and bars around the square to suit all budgets and tastes. It felt a very safe area.

We ate at the restaurant directly to the left of the hotel main reception as you face it from the street. Kitchen and Bar Van Rijn was its name. It has floor to ceiling windows and looks very modern and plush. The food was amazing. I had the ox stew and expected cubed steak in a gravy type dish. I was pleasantly surprised by a lump of steak like prime fillet which absolutely melted in the mouth. Well worth a visit.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff were wonderful and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

great location, good hotel, excellent service. could be a bit cleaner but in general recommended. stuff is very helpful and the hotel is a few minutes walking distance from the main attractions. the next door sports bar is great too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Chose hotel mainly because all major attractions were within 10-15 minutes walk. Room was large enough to include cot but had no wardrobe wherein to put clothes.
Breakfast was adequate as we had cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon, cheese and hams, bread fruit and pastries, juices etc.
Have two complaints though: (1) used hotel mainly to shower and rest... Resting during the night was almost impossible...out of 7 nights we managed to sleep decently only on 3 nights ... Rembrandtlplein is like being in the middle of paceville in Malta :(
(2) during holiday had an accident due to the inefficient service of Lovers cruise line.... During the night of the accident I tainted the blankets with blood ... Blankets were not changed during 3 consecutive dates ....
Overall, our amsterdam experience was really nice especially when considering that we were travelling with our 1.5 year old baby : )))

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's really horrible experience to stay in that holiday! When i checked in, i didn't get any warm welcome from the receptionist in the counter. She wasn't friendly or helpful, and not show me the way to the room, etc. The safe in the room is too small which i can put my laptop into it! For the bed, the cover and blanket has dirty marks on it, i have removed this before sleeping.
On the next day morning for checking out before going to work, i waited for the lift for more than 10 mins, but the lift not arrived and no sounds. Then i went back to my room to call the reception. Then the staff found out the lift was not working. Poor services. Once i was down there, the staff didn't apologize for any inconvenience caused to me and didn't even have smile or greeting to me at all. When i checked out, i asked for booking a taxi to airport at 7pm that evening. On that evening i arrived back to hotel at 6:45pm, the taxi didn't turn up at 7pm. I asked the staff in the reception to help me to find out what's going on. I did ask very polite, but the staff didn't even helpful at all...instead she was refusing to help as i didn't say "please" but i said to "thank you" when i first asked in the beginning. How come she suppose to serve me, but she didn't deliver the service and ask for thank you instead. What awful experience! Except you want to be tortured by them, then you can try that hotel. Otherwise, i do recommend you to stay in "The Albus" instead, as it's the same area. The Albus has much better services, room, and friendly, smiling stuffs. The most important is The Albus is cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Address: Rembrandtplein,19 | City Center, 1017CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Caransa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.