We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I want to say that this was our first time in Amsterdam. We loved Amsterdam very much! Our hotel room was very nice and spacious! Although two other business associates we traveled with said their rooms were very tiny compared to ours. Our bed appeared to be 2 twin mattresses pushed together and sleeping in center felt like we would fall through! Covers for bed was a duvet with a heavy down comforter inside. No sheet. So if you were hot, you had heavy duvet or nothing at all. They served a complimentary breakfast each morning which was nice. Location was very close to bus line, restaurants, and even a grocery. We will definitely return to Amsterdam and would have no problem returning to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    78
    31
    24
See reviews for
42
144
25
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Wish I hadn't read reviews 2 nights before going, I worried about mice for days! But when we got there the neighbourhood and location are fab, the room Was clean and no sign of furry friends! Lovely room and breakfast, slept soundly the 2nd night not worrying and would definitely recommend and come again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our 3rd hotel staff post London & Paris and was of the type of hotel we are accustomed to in Wellington NZ where we stay often. Really helpful & efficient staff, full breakfast, bar & restaurant. Great location right on tram route (regular and great value!) and close to local shops & cafes. AC not the best but otherwise fine1

Room Tip: We had a street facing room, was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Memphis is a small hotel about 7 or 8 tram stops from Dam square in amsterdam! We were given a room at the back of the hotel on the third floor overlooking private houses/apartments with small garden courtyards! The bed was lovely and comfortable, bathroom had really good power shower! The walls were a little thin, but luckily our neighbours were reasonably quiet. Staff were pleasant, rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily! There was a restaurant at hotel but we didn't,t eat there so cannot comment on quality. Bike hire is available, but unfortunately they had all been booked when we enquired! The hotel was located in an upmarket area, with a few nice small shops, restaurants close by. 2 tram stops took you to the museum quarter, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, lovely park area. We hired bikes close by here at Mac bikes for 17.50 euros for 24 hours including insurance. Our first trip to amsterdam, but we will return! Beautiful city! We got shuttle bus from hotel to airport (bus number 197), which stopped about 250 yards from hotel at side of opera house - 5 euros each - about 30 minute journey!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter. We stayed on 3rd floor - bizarrely, a flock of green parrots can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was in a lovely location near the real scenic side of Amsterdam. In walking distance there was resturants. Pastry shops, boutiques and cafés . Must see the real culture of Amsterdam' Also near the tram stop that takes you into the city . Near the museum quarter where there is a super market and a street of shops. Hotel was clean and welcoming ! Would stay again . Thank you

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2014. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spacious. We had a triple room which consisted of a double bed and one single - it was a good size and there was plenty of room for three of us. Staff were pleasant. The hotel has a small bar and a restaurant (which we didn't use) but the menu looked good. They have a luggage room which was very handy for us as we had a late flight, so we could leave our luggage at the hotel and go and spend the afternoon in Vondelpark (5 minute walk away). There is Free WiFi which we managed to connect to in our room.

There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes you straight into the heart of the city which is about 10 minutes away. A day travelcard for the tram is around 7 EURO which works out cheaper then getting single tickets that are only valid for 1 hour. We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport which cost around 35 EURO.

We all decided that we were happy with staying at this hotel as it is situated in a quiet neighborhood away from the city centre. We would stay at this hotel again if we are ever in Amsterdam,.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice hotel. Good located, ten minutes walk from the museums area.
We had a big room at the upper floor, with a terrace with a view to the city.
The room was very clean. Friendly and helpful staff.
The only thing is that I expect from a four star hotel some toilet stuff in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner etc.). Nothing!
Overall, a convenient place to be in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper room with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.