We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 12th - June 15th 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Save Saved
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“June 12th - June 15th 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My partner & i arrived at the Memphis approx 7.30 pm. Our 1st impression was, it looks lovely. The reception staff were welcoming & friendly.
We got the lift to our room which was on the 4th floor. It was of reasonable size & spotlessly clean, our view was facing away from the main road.
The walk into the town was approx 15mins, it is well worth it though. There is alot going on, from pubs, cafe bars, coffee shops & the stunning Vondlepark. This park is stunning & so much going on inside, all sort of live entertainment for all the family.
If you fancy a trip into Dam Square, the tram stop is around the corner from the hotel No.16.
The journey is approx 20mins & we really recommend it, it's a fascinating city. If your are planning afew trips by tram, maybe sightseeing..then my tip is..buy a 3 day tram pass. It's unlimited travel & much cheaper.

* CAUTION *
Our only let down of the break was, when checking into the hotel, the reception staff advised us to get the safety deposit box with the room. 50 euro deposit & returnable when checking out.
Upon checking out our room we handed our receipt to the staff expecting our 50 euro's back, NOPE!!
All we were given was, 34 euro's & informed, there is a 4% city tax per day, our stay was 4days meaning we lost 16 euro's.
We had no idea this was the case & if someone had told us at the time, we would have declined the safe deposit box.
This is a lovely hotel within the museum area, which is fairly quiet.
this i'm afraid was a sting in the tail, after such a lovely break.

I would definitely recommend the Memphis & we would definitely stay there again.
Minus the safe deposit box!

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor, to avoid any traffic noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    116
    62
    28
    21
See reviews for
33
122
24
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed four nights in the hotel with two friends, we had a five days holiday in Amsterdam. Honestly, don't expect too much, this is a very avarage hotel. The room was OK, clean and big enough for three persons.The room looked to the courtyard, so it was very quiet. The furniture was a bit old fashioned, the bathroom small but clean. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. The big advantage of this hotel was the price and the great location: the museum area is in a walking distance and tram 16 stop is close by, easy to go to the centre or to the Central Station. As we were only sleeping in the hotel and spent the day in the city (having great breakfast at Cafe Het Concertgebouw), it was a perfect option and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel by itself is ok. Front desk and lobby are fine. The disappointment come from the room. very basic small room, with a small bed, no attempt for any kind of decoration. Bathroom one side, toilet the other. Bathroom had a bath but way too small for any kind of relaxing time and left over of a sticky plastic rug at the bottom. Even the toilet paper was cheap. Room was clean however, window was opening on the road with the tram. Good location for direct access to the center with Tram 16 and Museumplat. Ok if you expect no more than a clean room to sleep in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at Memphis EMB Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and compliments on the staff and cleanliness. I am aware of the bathtubs and have plans to make improvements on this point. I will also address your comment on the decorations.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here while attending a trade show. Close to the museum area and Vondelpark. Several high quality restaurants in the area and close to a tram that goes into the city center. If you prefer to be closer to the action and nightlife, this is not the place. However, the surrounding area is great to wander around and the rooms are clean and nice. The front desk staff were always helpful. Overall it was an enjoyable stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at Memphis EMB Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the Memphis Hotel!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I'm lucky to have stayed in lots of different hotels in Amsterdam , and none of them being free last week, my client booked me into the Memphis.

Arriving very late, after midnight, due to flight delays at Gatwick, I still get a very nice room. Very spacious, good bed, good strong Wi-Fi signal. The hotel looks clean, and a few paint chips in the corridor don't detract from the feel that it's nice and luxurious. Nice check in.

Good night's sleep. Breakfast is chaos. The breakfast area doesn't look big enough to cater for a full hotel, and it's a scramble for tables. Holland is not a country to visit if you like breakfast as a meal.

I'd certainly say at The Memphis again, but think I'd pop across the road to Let Spain Quotidian cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at Memphis EMB Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room, bed and WiFi! I will make the changes to breakfast room so we can cater for more guests in the morning. We will also address the paint in our corridors.
Thanks again for your comment end I look forward to welcoming you in the Memphis again.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this comfortable Hotel. Very helpful staff including re booking visits etc, really good breakfast, well appointed room in a good position on a tram route and just a few minutes walk to the Museums. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we had one good meal in the restaurant at the Hotel (under separate management)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at Memphis EMB Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are always happy the hear from guests who enjoyed the stay in our hotel!
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our 2 night stay here was part of a Groupon. The location was good - quite neighborhood which felt safe. 10 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. About 45 minutes walking to the central station.
The hotel says 4 star - maybe 4 out of 8 possible? Tiny room, tiny bed, no AC, loud as hell, and a very cheery woman yelling, "housekeeping" at 9 am and knocking on our door. Plus we heard her yelling and knocking on the other 10 doors on our floor.
The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was good except for some super annoying other guests who let their baby scream while they texted and showed each other photos.
Overall, we spent little on the vacation, so it was ok, but I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and HotelsNL so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.