We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room, Nice quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Room, Nice quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Typical of many European hotels, rooms are a bit small by US standards, but good for the area. You are just steps from the trolley so getting into the center (1/2 mile) is easy. If you want to be right in the middle of the action, this location may not be your choosing, but it is quiet and close to public transportation. There are plenty of smaller shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room was well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    128
    74
    30
    22
See reviews for
41
135
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the this hotel for a week and can not fault it, our room on the 3rd floor was really spacious comfortable and warm.The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a room in the front of the building you do get traffic noise if you have the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel in early April 2014. When we arrived we thought the hotel looked nice, and the room seemed lovely too. The truth is this hotel could therefore be a good 4-star stay, but for the multitude of customer service and quality issues we experienced during our 3 nights.

On our first evening it became apparent the TV was not working. A member of staff quickly came to the room but was unable to fix the problem and suggested we change rooms in the morning. In the morning, another staff member managed to get the TV working but by the time we arrived back later that day, the problem had resurfaced. After more staff visits it became clear it could not be fixed however when we then asked if we could change rooms the chap simply shrugged and said "sorry" and walked off. My fella was not impressed as it was quite a big sporting weekend and he was hoping to catch the highlights.

We also booked a double bed; we got two single beds which kept splitting apart in the night. Not good if you are planning a romantic weekend!!

The room was also very, very warm as other comments have suggested. We left the window wide open and the air con on full blast all weekend (air con suggested 16C - clearly broken) but this did no good. This led to another problem in terms of noise levels from the busy road outside but there was simply no way we could sleep without some outside breeze so just had to put up with it.

The main light in the room was also broken making for an entertaining return from the local coffee shop on the first night (not a problem we had noticed before as it had been light)!

The bathroom pipes smelt horrible and you can imagine the combined effect of smelly drains + warm room. The bath also needed a good clean and the shower was very complicated to use, again as other comments have suggested.

As others have also suggested, if you like your morning tea/coffee you will find the amenities very poor indeed with no milk - instead you get a horrible tasting powdered cream substitute.

Breakfast was poor quality/selection which is fair enough if free but not acceptable when you are paying EUR14.50. When we asked if they provided any cooked breakfasts, a bald headed staff member was so rude in his aggressive, ugly response that it put me off eating full stop. So our 14.50 had bought us a bowl of cereal and verbal abuse... hardly 4* service.

I also don't agree with the positives about location. The area is very nice but tram travel to the main city cost us around an extra EUR50 - this money would have been FAR better spent at a more centrally located hotel who care about their customers and don't (a) fail to fix problems, (b) speak to guests like they are doing you the favor just by being there and (c) charge you a fortune for the privilege.

I have had better experiences at much cheaper 3* hotels in the area. I'd hoped this was going to be a really special weekend at a nice hotel but in truth the hotel was easily the worst part of our trip. I will not be staying here again and I strongly suggest you avoid the Memphis EMB Hotel as a destination for your hard-earned pennies!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this Hotel for the weekend, the room I had was a single, it was quite cosy ( small ) it was very clean and tidy, there was also wifi in the room that worked very well. The usual kettle and coffee and tea was available, but no milk or biscuits in sight. One major point if you use this hotel and have young children, there are not safe latches on the windows and they are very dangerous. The reception and the general feeling in the Hotel is very dull, the staff are fine when you speak to them, but they look extremely bored and uninterested, at all other times. This is not a Hotel that you will have a great evening at, there is no atmosphere at all; even the chairs outside where you could chill and enjoy the world go by with a drink, are put away very early ( Boring ) There is also issues with noise levels from other rooms, I could clearly hear the cleaner hoovering a room, two rooms away for mine. It's not walking distance to Dam Square, you will need to take a 15 to 20 min Tram ride costing ?2.83 each way..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Albans UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Being a four stars I expected 4 stars, very friendly receptionist, rooms clean. However bathroom needed revamping , couldn't turn the tap in the bath on, even my husband battled to turn the taps on, The basin although clean the enamel was stained, the floor tiles broken, as for breakfast i managed to have coffee, and juice, however apart from bread there was very little left on the hot trays, they did replenished the trays but about 30 minutes later, by then I decided to leave.

Room Tip: We chose 2x 3 beds rooms, very well organised just need more pillows if you are a big family its ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel was not bad, seems clean and the room was quite comfortable. The breakfast was good. The personal is friendly, they helped me to find a taxi to get to the station.
What's the problem, so??
I stayed there for three night. The first morning of my holidays I went out early, I left a cereal bars (closed) in the luggage open... The lady who cleaned the room left the windows open and when I came back I found the cereal bar nibbled.... and I found a little mouse poop in the luggage...
Too bad!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent two nights at the Memphis, great location for getting around.The trams stop nearby. A nice walk to the museum area, which is delightful.The hotel is spotlessly clean and warm, the beds very comfortable and our room was a good size. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Not a mouse did we see or hear. We did not eat at the hotel, so not able to comment on the food, although the dining area did look very smart. We have stayed in Amsterdam twice before, in Central area, this was a nice quiet alternative but not too far out. We were extremely pleased we chose this hotel and it was a great base to explore Amsterdam. We got a good deal which was very affordable, don't think we would be able to afford the normal tariff prices.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.