We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Cute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam 1071 NX, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
1 review
“So Cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While this hotel was a bit further out, it was still an easy walk through Vondel Park to hit the action. In reality, it was nice to stay just outside the crazy. Very clean, "american-sized" hotel rooms. Great staff. And, they allow small dogs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    111
    61
    31
    20
See reviews for
31
107
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is quite central, and with both the number 16 and number 2 Tram stops being very close it is an ideal location to explore the delights that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room was neat and tidy and although our room was on the roadside - there was very little noise. Service was good and the prices in the bar on a par with the rest of Amsterdam.

One warning - Breakfast - we were unsure as to whether this was included in our stay - we decided to give it a go - very little choice and also very expensive for what you get.

Oh and no mice ;)

Room Tip: Flash your trip advisor tags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed here after a thorough search of hotels in Amsterdam. We came across the 'Memphis' since they had a good deal on. Our stay was nothing but amazing! for the price, the room was top notch, nothing to envy 4 or 5 star hotels. Very clean, modern, and most importantly in a very nice location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, bike hire a brezze....
Would def recommend for a nice stay with your partner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our last night in Amsterdam before flying home. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would say probably only 3 star. We found the hotel very clean and most of the staff efficient. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant/dining room and the young waitress did a great job to manage all the patrons on her own. She had a very pleasant attitude and a happy smile for everyone. The internet access was good and the midday check out also very good. The hotel is located in a convenient part of town, close to the art gallery and sourrounded by lovely shops, and houses. We were able to do a couple of lovely walks through the streets. Also close to the trams to access the inner city.

Room Tip: We had a front room over looking the street but there was no noise and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I asked for a quiet room and got one next to the elevator with a loud 'clonk'. Everything said or done in the corridor was easy to hear. As well as the creepy sound behind the wall. A rat? No, a mouse, answered the receptionist in the morning. There was a warning to keep all food in the fridge...well, I did not have any. Good distance from the Museumplein, though.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Highly overpriced for the quality you get, certanly not 4 star worth. Strange smell in the room. There was a letter with request not to leave the food out because of the problem with mice. Kudos for admitting there was mice problem, but this should have been delt in a professional way, not putting responsibility on guests. Long wait for taxis to arrive, 15 to 20 minutes. Fairly poor breakfast choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish I could give half points because I'd like to score this a 3.5. We stayed two nights just after a massive storm. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and suggested a wonderful restaurant nearby. I loved the tree-lined streets and pretty neighborhood with only a couple of blocks to a tram stop and walking distance to the Museum District. The rooms were nothing special but the beds were comfy and the room as quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam
Address: De Lairessestraat 87, Amsterdam 1071 NX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list