We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Last Night in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Last Night in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our last night in Amsterdam before flying home. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would say probably only 3 star. We found the hotel very clean and most of the staff efficient. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant/dining room and the young waitress did a great job to manage all the patrons on her own. She had a very pleasant attitude and a happy smile for everyone. The internet access was good and the midday check out also very good. The hotel is located in a convenient part of town, close to the art gallery and sourrounded by lovely shops, and houses. We were able to do a couple of lovely walks through the streets. Also close to the trams to access the inner city.

Room Tip: We had a front room over looking the street but there was no noise and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    137
    84
    35
    25
See reviews for
43
153
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I asked for a quiet room and got one next to the elevator with a loud 'clonk'. Everything said or done in the corridor was easy to hear. As well as the creepy sound behind the wall. A rat? No, a mouse, answered the receptionist in the morning. There was a warning to keep all food in the fridge...well, I did not have any. Good distance from the Museumplein, though.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Highly overpriced for the quality you get, certanly not 4 star worth. Strange smell in the room. There was a letter with request not to leave the food out because of the problem with mice. Kudos for admitting there was mice problem, but this should have been delt in a professional way, not putting responsibility on guests. Long wait for taxis to arrive, 15 to 20 minutes. Fairly poor breakfast choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish I could give half points because I'd like to score this a 3.5. We stayed two nights just after a massive storm. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and suggested a wonderful restaurant nearby. I loved the tree-lined streets and pretty neighborhood with only a couple of blocks to a tram stop and walking distance to the Museum District. The rooms were nothing special but the beds were comfy and the room as quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel very clean room, Affordable price, Good breakfast buffet, wonderful fresh baked breads. Several eating places are close by. Close to a train track. Friendly staff. Hotel has very good bicycles too if want to ride in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a really short break to Amsterdam in the middle of October 2013. Chose this hotel as it was on a great value Groupon deal - £80 for one night B&B for 2 people. Having read lots of appalling reviews before my trip, I was rather concerned. But I certainly didn't need to be. The hotel staff were on the whole friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very well located just by the 16 tram route and a short walk to the no 2 tram route. We thought it was very nice being slightly out of the city centre.
The hotel was clean, well kept and a great find. We ended up in the basement suite and this was a massive room with 4 beds, extra seating area, extra TV, a large bathroom, skylights and a walk in safe! The bathroom smelt of stale damp water when we first went in but the staff came quickly and we believe it was just that the room had not been used for a couple of days as once we started using the bathroom the smell went away.
Yes, the hotel has a problem with mice, encouraged by lazy guests who leave partly eaten food open in their rooms. The hotel had a letter in all the rooms acknowledging this issue and asking guests to leave food in their fridge to protect it and to stop encouraging the mice. We saw no trace of mice activity in our room, heard nothing and saw nothing.
Breakfast was good - quite a small restaurant so we had to wait for a table at 8am. The waitresses in the restaurant weren't interested. But when we sat down, the food was good, not a huge selection but it was good quality and we really enjoyed and had our fill.
I would certainly consider this hotel again on a trip to Amsterdam. The Cornelis Schuys Straat between the hotel and the no 2 tram route is well worth a walk along with its little shops and some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I came here once before on business, and when I looked to return to Amsterdam with my husband for a mini-vacation, I found myself looking at the Memphis hotel again. It's a great hotel - service is excellent, the rooms are very nice for the price and it well connected to the center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms next to the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.