We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Location, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a really short break to Amsterdam in the middle of October 2013. Chose this hotel as it was on a great value Groupon deal - £80 for one night B&B for 2 people. Having read lots of appalling reviews before my trip, I was rather concerned. But I certainly didn't need to be. The hotel staff were on the whole friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very well located just by the 16 tram route and a short walk to the no 2 tram route. We thought it was very nice being slightly out of the city centre.
The hotel was clean, well kept and a great find. We ended up in the basement suite and this was a massive room with 4 beds, extra seating area, extra TV, a large bathroom, skylights and a walk in safe! The bathroom smelt of stale damp water when we first went in but the staff came quickly and we believe it was just that the room had not been used for a couple of days as once we started using the bathroom the smell went away.
Yes, the hotel has a problem with mice, encouraged by lazy guests who leave partly eaten food open in their rooms. The hotel had a letter in all the rooms acknowledging this issue and asking guests to leave food in their fridge to protect it and to stop encouraging the mice. We saw no trace of mice activity in our room, heard nothing and saw nothing.
Breakfast was good - quite a small restaurant so we had to wait for a table at 8am. The waitresses in the restaurant weren't interested. But when we sat down, the food was good, not a huge selection but it was good quality and we really enjoyed and had our fill.
I would certainly consider this hotel again on a trip to Amsterdam. The Cornelis Schuys Straat between the hotel and the no 2 tram route is well worth a walk along with its little shops and some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    131
    76
    31
    22
See reviews for
41
140
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I came here once before on business, and when I looked to return to Amsterdam with my husband for a mini-vacation, I found myself looking at the Memphis hotel again. It's a great hotel - service is excellent, the rooms are very nice for the price and it well connected to the center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms next to the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in October 2013. We had a wonderful time there. The hotel is fresh and clean. The service is really good and the location is great. It's walking distance to Museumplein - 500m away (where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and Stedelijk Museum - and the concert hall Concertgebouw are located). There is a tram station nearby (1 block away) and one can take tram number 16 to go to the Amsterdam Central Station.
We had breakfast there during our stay and it was good quality but with limited options. Nevertheless, we would recommend this hotel due to its great location and good service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Handy location on tram route, walking distance to museums. Neighbourhood has eating pkaces and shops. Quiet location. Staff were helpful and assisted with ticket purchases for activities throughout the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I truly believe our experience in Amsterdam would have been much better not staying at this hotel... Staff is unfriendly, not wanting to help tourist find places or advise on how to get places. Hotel smells like sewage, beds are hard and uncomfortable, room smelled of gas, walls paper thin and could hear everything...plan on walking at least 20 min to get anywhere you want to go, which isn't bad if the hotel was nice. Breakfast was disgusting as well. hotel try's to scam you on everything, they told us we could only buy tickets to canal tour at their desk which was a lie we knew and they tell you only way to airport is to take their taxi which cost 40 fixed rate and the taxi was late and then charged us 45 euros...he gave himself a nice tip...we took taxi to avoid hassle and ended up having to run to our flight to not be late...better off to take the bus 197 straight to airport or tram to central station and take train to airport....horrible horrible people that just scam you..BEWARE DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Memphis hotel 4 star gem on fringe of museum district
A small hotel (35 rooms) in a very posh district of Amsterdam. Excellent quiet location out of the typical tourist hustle and bustle yet within an easy walk of the Van Goth & other museums. Also very convenient to public transportation. Great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two plus it's own very serviceable restaurant, very good for dinner but overpriced for breakfast. Only negative was spotty housekeeping service. Rooms were clean & towels changed, but glasses not replaced and no tissues for two days. Despite this I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam. Reasonably priced for location in Amsterdam (116€ double)

Room Tip: Request top floor there is an elevator) back. It was as quiet as our home in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room on the tram line side. Initially the noise was noticeable but you got accustomed to it. The hotel is old and tired, but it does have a lift. The room was large and basic with a large, comfortable and clean bed. It also had a safe. The shower was over the bath. No shampoo, conditioner or clothes line. Liquid soap in dispensers were over the bath and basin. A hair dryer was provided.

Like other reviewers we also had a visit from a mouse which ate some chocolate out of my opened carry on luggage!

Breakfast was adequate although the scrambled eggs were always nearly cold. However, there were boiled eggs too. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday nights. We dined
the three nights in local restaurants only 5 minutes away. Good quality and nice food and not too expensive..

There is a little supermarket in the same area where you can buy organic food and drink. On the
last day we discovered a "normal" supermarket in the next block away. We bought drinks and put them in the refrigerator in the room.

At reception you can buy both a 24 hour travel card (7.50 Euros) or 48 hour travel card for about
13 Euros. We bought a 24 hour card and used it from midday to midday. Much better value than buying single tickets which I believe are 2.80 Euros.

The reception staff were pleasant enough and it was nice to be provided with umbrellas each
time we needed one.

The taxi to the airport was 38 Euros which seems to be the standard price.

Would we stay there again - probably, but I'd also see what else was around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.