We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Handy location on tram route, walking distance to museums. Neighbourhood has eating pkaces and shops. Quiet location. Staff were helpful and assisted with ticket purchases for activities throughout the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    69
    28
    21
See reviews for
40
129
25
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I truly believe our experience in Amsterdam would have been much better not staying at this hotel... Staff is unfriendly, not wanting to help tourist find places or advise on how to get places. Hotel smells like sewage, beds are hard and uncomfortable, room smelled of gas, walls paper thin and could hear everything...plan on walking at least 20 min to get anywhere you want to go, which isn't bad if the hotel was nice. Breakfast was disgusting as well. hotel try's to scam you on everything, they told us we could only buy tickets to canal tour at their desk which was a lie we knew and they tell you only way to airport is to take their taxi which cost 40 fixed rate and the taxi was late and then charged us 45 euros...he gave himself a nice tip...we took taxi to avoid hassle and ended up having to run to our flight to not be late...better off to take the bus 197 straight to airport or tram to central station and take train to airport....horrible horrible people that just scam you..BEWARE DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Memphis hotel 4 star gem on fringe of museum district
A small hotel (35 rooms) in a very posh district of Amsterdam. Excellent quiet location out of the typical tourist hustle and bustle yet within an easy walk of the Van Goth & other museums. Also very convenient to public transportation. Great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two plus it's own very serviceable restaurant, very good for dinner but overpriced for breakfast. Only negative was spotty housekeeping service. Rooms were clean & towels changed, but glasses not replaced and no tissues for two days. Despite this I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam. Reasonably priced for location in Amsterdam (116€ double)

Room Tip: Request top floor there is an elevator) back. It was as quiet as our home in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room on the tram line side. Initially the noise was noticeable but you got accustomed to it. The hotel is old and tired, but it does have a lift. The room was large and basic with a large, comfortable and clean bed. It also had a safe. The shower was over the bath. No shampoo, conditioner or clothes line. Liquid soap in dispensers were over the bath and basin. A hair dryer was provided.

Like other reviewers we also had a visit from a mouse which ate some chocolate out of my opened carry on luggage!

Breakfast was adequate although the scrambled eggs were always nearly cold. However, there were boiled eggs too. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday nights. We dined
the three nights in local restaurants only 5 minutes away. Good quality and nice food and not too expensive..

There is a little supermarket in the same area where you can buy organic food and drink. On the
last day we discovered a "normal" supermarket in the next block away. We bought drinks and put them in the refrigerator in the room.

At reception you can buy both a 24 hour travel card (7.50 Euros) or 48 hour travel card for about
13 Euros. We bought a 24 hour card and used it from midday to midday. Much better value than buying single tickets which I believe are 2.80 Euros.

The reception staff were pleasant enough and it was nice to be provided with umbrellas each
time we needed one.

The taxi to the airport was 38 Euros which seems to be the standard price.

Would we stay there again - probably, but I'd also see what else was around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's a good hotel, not close from the city, but near to the public transportation. There is not facilities for a 4-stars hotel although has a nice entrance, there is not much in. The breakfast was ok and the rooms are also ok, nothing special, regular size, nothing so clean though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I enjoyed the location a lot. Since it's not in the city center, it's very quiet which made for high quality sleeping. There's a tram stop half a block away from the hotel which takes you directly to the city center and museums. The breakfast served in the hotel is basic but high quality. However, the hotel was not the cleanest. It's clearly an older building. The carpets need to be replaced for sure. Also, in our bathroom, I noticed a smell of urine, like the last guest had missed the toilet and then the housekeeping staff somehow missed cleaning it up. A couple of the plug outlets weren't working, either. Also, one of the reasons we booked the hotel was that per it's website, there's access to the Personal Health Club next to the hotel (it's actually a ten minute walk down the street, but that's no big deal). But, when we asked the receptionist about the access to the health club, she had no idea what we were talking about. When we pointed out that it's ON their website, she (sorta) realized what we were talking about and sent us down the street to the health club. We had to pay to use to the health club, though, and the health club has no connection with this hotel to easily charge access to your room. All in all, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is an older, somewhat outdated hotel. The upside is the location: it's very close to Museumplein and a 20 minutes or so walk to Leidesplein. The hotel rooms are clean but small & old. The location is great but I'd stay in a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.