We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff but a mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff but a mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and quickly sorted out a problem with our booking (we had booked two adjoining rooms, but only one room had been allocated to 4 adults). The rooms were clean, although the bathrooms were dated. We had no major problems but there were several small 'niggles' during our stay (no towels when we arrived, shower head that had a life of its own, no maid service one day, air conditioning not efficient...). The rooms were an average to small size for a city hotel.

Yikes - I read a review from another traveller about mice in the hotel whilst I was sitting in our room!! Although we didn't see any mice, there were traps under the beds in one of the rooms and as we needed to use the emergency stairs & normal staircase due to a false fire alarm we saw several traps here too. From this I would say If you don't like mice, this hotel may not be for you!

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, and as there are some lovely bakeries and cafe's in the area and the weather was good for us this was the right choice. The hotel arranged a taxi to the airport which cost us €38 which seemed a reasonable price and saved us the hassle of catching trams & trains with our luggage.

The hotel is in a lovely area and conveniently situated for the Musuemplein area of Amsterdam. I would certainly stay in the same area when we come back again, but would try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    129
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
41
138
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel of course, but very far from central Amsterdam and the rooms need better lighting, it's very dim in the rooms plus the Internet is incredibly slow. I don't recommend this hotel !! Too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Memphis hotel is a calm hotel in a plaisant place near the mueums square (three tram stops before). The quarter is nice with a lot of small restaurants, nice bars and places where to take the breakfast. There are possibilites also to take the breakfast at the hotel.
The romms are big and clean. The staff is efficient and welcome.
A good place for some nights in Amsterdam near the old city but much more calm !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my daughter and I first trip to amsterdam and found the Memphis hotel a very pleasant experience. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the fifth floor was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.the hotel is about ten minutes away from all the major attractions on the tram which you can get right outside the hotel.All in all a great experience for our first time in Amsterdam and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is clean and hotel staff are very helpful,i had to extend my stay and there was no problem to do the extension,location is good near the museums and short tram/bus ride to centrum,i had good value for my money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have never written a bad review before but I felt like it was very important to warn people about this so called four star hotel. I'm still in shock that it ever got good reviews, especially so recently. This hotel is in an amazing location. That is all. When we arrived it wasnt clear where you could park your car and the staff was of no help initially. the response was, "we dont drive so we really arent sure". After 20+ minutes they found someone to give my husband directions to a parking lot that was far enough away that he had to take a tram back. He was gone to park the car for over an hour! We arrived in our room and it was so dirty that you didn't want to remove your shoes. The paint on the baseboards and trim was peeling off everywhere. The walls had holes and exposed anchors where something had been previously hanging. There were also pencil markings all over the walls where they had obviously measured to hang something but then didn't. The walls were filthy. The room had a layer of dust on everything and when I opened a drawer there was mouse droppings! I asked to be moved to a new room and while it was larger and free of mouse droppings it was still gross.
The next morning we went down for breakfast. Our table was set but again covered with a layer of dust. The food was less than adequate and to be honest you really didn't want to eat because everything was so dirty. The kitchen was right off of where you got your coffee and the door to the kitchen was left wide open. That was enough for us. We elected to eat outside of the hotel after that even though we had prepaid for the breakfast.
The staff was less than helpful. Any questions we asked were answered with ,"no". Not once did they offer to find an answer. We were sorry that we had booked and prepaid for three nights. We have been traveling throughout Europe for two weeks and this was by far our only negative experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

In two separate occasions on the first floor and on the fifth floor we had a mouse visit. It seems a normal occurence in this hotel. If it happens they offer you a breakfast for free. You would expect more cleanliness in a four star hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.