We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet residential area about 10 minutes walk from the Museum area. After a busy day in the rather crowded city centre it was good to get back to a more orderly and peaceful place.

Our double room had good quality furnishing, good lighting, comfortable bed and very clean bathroom with large bath sheets not always found these days in hotels. Our son's single room was fairly small but good compared with many European capitals.
We found all the staff helpful and efficient.
Brits - this hotel provides a kettle in each room. It might be 'hidden' in a drawer or cupboard but just keep looking and you will find it. There is a good supermarket near the concert hall in the Museum Plein where you can top up beverage supplies and anything else you might need.

There are good restaurants nearby. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that.

All round it suited us well and we would return.

Note that all hotel guests in Amsterdam must pay a city tax - currently 5.5%, payable on checking out. This seems to be increasingly the case in Europe so be prepared.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    139
    84
    36
    25
See reviews for
43
154
25
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights. I had a single room which was very small, with no
closet or dresser. I am used to European accomodations, so it wasn't a
problem for me. I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness
of the entire staff. The people manning the reception desk were outstanding and made me feel very welcome and answered all my questions with a smile. They have a great attitude toward tourists and I
very much appreciated their help and advice.
The location is excellent, also, if you want to be near the Rijksmuseum
and the Van Gogh Museum, and there is easy access to several tram
lines.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel rooms are larger than any others we'd seen in Europe! The toilet had a strong sewage smell to it.. fortunately it is separate from the shower/sink, and the rest of the room. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast in the lobby once. It was a surprisingly good buffet, and was added to our room charge.

I love this location for Amsterdam. We were a few blocks from Vondel Park, and a bit more of a walk to the main square. It was nice to be a bit further away so we could have quiet at night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thanks for a great 3 days. Excellent hotel, good breakfast and very helpful staff. A special thanks to the front desk for helping us pack a painting that we purchased in the park on Queens Day. The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. In spite of the room being street side, it was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just ok, average hotel in a good location (near museums and concert square).
We were on fourth floor, facing out onto tram line but did not experience any noise.
Decor a bit worn but clean. Pokey little bathroom.

Very friendly staff. Keen to help and offer travel and sightseeing advice.

Reasonably priced.
Cannot comment on catering as did not eat at hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely quiet residential area, close to the park and with cafes nearby . It would be a bit out of the way for some people, but at 20 minutes walk or 5 minutes on the tram (which run every 10 minutes) to Leidersplein which has the nicest restaurants, I think it was ideal.

We stayed here Easter week and it was really cold outside, but the room was pleasantly warm. Our room was enormous with four single beds put together as two doubles, a lounge area, and a bathroom with two sinks, bath and walk-in wet room style power shower. It was the Graceland Suite, décor a bit dated but very comfortable beds, very clean, sheets and towels very new, and very quiet. Downside was it was in the basement so the corridor outside smelt fusty and the only window was a skylight along one side of the room. As someone with mild claustrophobia it took me some time to adjust, we did ask to move but there were no other triple rooms available, although we hardly saw anyone around the hotel! The wardrobe area was an old bank safe/vault which was a novelty, and had a free room safe in it too.

The reception staff were not particularly friendly, but did advise up helpfully to buy a 2 day card for the trams which pays for itself in no time. They also provided more pillows when requested.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we were out and about early two of the days, to beat the queues at the Van Gogh Museum and Anne Frank House (you have to get there before 9am) both of which are must-sees . Tragic lives but fascinating history. I would also recommend "Our Lady in the Attic" near the Old Church in the Red Light area.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city and you can wander for hours just looking at the buildings. There is something for everyone; couples, families, groups, stags and hens etc, and there is a laid back anything goes vibe which is brilliant. Bars and restaurants seem quite pricy due to exchange rate but cheaper than Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here last summer for 5 nights. Great transport links from the the airport to the hotel. Just one bus ride away, and the bus stops outside the hotel. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Vondelpark and 10 mins from the museum quarter. The immediate area has a lovely bakery, an organic supermarket and some other fashionable shops. The architecture in this area (around the park) is very impressive.

The hotel is on the side of a main road, which, depending on which room you stay in, can be very noisy. Take ear plugs. We stayed in a superior room, located on the first floor. Apparently all superior rooms are located at the corners of the buildings. The windows didn't keep the sound of the traffic out at all, which never stops during the day. Maybe the higher floors were quieter.
The hotel was very clean. There was a nice looking bar next to the lobby which we never used.

The room was very clean and very spacious. Lot's of wardrobe space for luggage and clothing. The fridge was empty and didn't seem to work, but that didn't bother us. The air conditioning worked well and I found the bed to be very comfortable. The bathroom was average, quite small but enough room for everything you need. The showers were also OK. The shower controls were a bit awkward though. As it was a corner room we had two sets of tall windows. Lot's of light came in, and we had black out curtains which worked very well. The inside of the hotel was very peaceful. The free Wi-Fi was fast which was great.

The reception staff were OK, they were dressed smart and did their job, although they did nothing to make us feel welcome. I'm not the kind of person who wants a red carpet rolled out for me everywhere I stay, but I do expect service with a smile and to feel valued as a customer. That didn't happen here. The women serving at breakfast were very nice, and the breakfast room was airy and bright. I was shocked at the door man who didn't smile once during our stay and almost seemed annoyed. One night he seen us getting out of a taxi, turned around and walked into the building where he stood staring at the TV with his arms folded. We had to walk between him and the TV to get to the lift, but he didn't even look at us. It was very odd. I encountered that man a few times during my stay, said hello but he didn't respond.

Based on the negatives I have pointed out here, the cold atmosphere and the location, which is a little out of the way, I wouldn't stay here again. If you are on business and you want to be left alone then this would be a good choice. Just remember, bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.