We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep and delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great night's sleep and delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room was spacious and had everything we needed. The shower was particularly good and the bed was comfortable. The room was generally clean there was just one small spillage (probably from the previous occupants) that had been missed in cleaning up.

There was plenty of choice for breakfast, including for vegetarian. The fresh fruit and juices were delicious and the croissant, breads and 'cake' were very tasty!

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends and we would visit again happily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vienna
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

could hear every breath from the guests next door but still a cheap place to stay in Amsterdam. staff is very friendly and tram takes you to city center within minutes (take bus 197 from/to airport). there are bicycles in front of the entrance but i prefered to walk. make sure that breakfast is included (otherwise 12,50 will be charged)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmin_Armin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent four nights in the Memphis and it ticked all the right boxes - easy access to airport and city centre, pleasant area, spotlessly clean, comfortable, spacious bedroom, decent breakfast and helpful staff.
As we were leaving on the last morning thirty minutes before breakfast would be served, we arranged with the chef the previous evening that we could quietly nip into the dining room, have a bowl of cereal, a quick coffee and then go. Unfortunately the supervisor on duty next morning would not allow us under any considerations to have anything - even though we could see that all the food was already arranged and ready for serving. Eventually we persuaded the guy from reception - who was obviously intimidated by her - to get us something, so he rather shamefacedly brought us two slices of bread and cheese. It was a pity that our experience of the hotel ended on such a sour note.
Would we return? Yes, we probably would, because all our other experience of the staff had been so positive and the hotel has a great deal going for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHG234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice hotel in upmarket residential area near the Amsterdam Hilton and opposite Christies.There were nice upmarket shops nearby and the area felt very safe. Trams 2 and 16 were nearby and took you straight in to the city. The museums were only about a kilometre away and could easily be walked.Hotel breakfast was very good and staff very helpful. We bought a tram pass from reception, for 12 euros that allowed unlimited travel on trams and buses.
The room was air conditioned which would be great in summer and the shower/bath had the most powerful shower we had ever experianced.
Stayed on first floor which did not seem noisy -facd away from the street though.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the houses at the back rether than the main road if you want a quiter night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezzeHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at Memphis EMB last weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is small, but very nice. The bedroom was good - very comfortable bed and super bathroom. All spotless. We will certainly return there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank AnneL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,766 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memphis Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis Hotel Museum Square

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis Hotel Museum Square 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Memphis Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing