We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location with large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location with large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was very good size, the bathroom was nice, and included free wifi. The breakfast was nice and robust - eggs, meat, bread, cheese, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc... The location was perfect for us. Close enough to hop on the tram or ride a bike to busy downtown area/tourist attractions but in a quieter neighborhood so it was peacefull in evening and we could walk to quiet cafes for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    135
    81
    33
    24
See reviews for
42
147
25
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights at the end of July and really liked it. Location is fantastic just 5mins walk to Museumplein and 2mins to the NO.16 tram which takes you to or near any of the main tourist spots. I had booked a regular double/twin room and I'm pretty sure I must have been upgraded to a superior room because it was huge! Massive twin bed, which I thought would annoy me but the bed was sooooo soft and they never moved an inch!( so neither of us ended up falling between them!) Nice sitting area, desk area, flatscreen tv, air con, iron, ironing board, safe, bathroom with bath /shower, tea, coffee, kettle and hairdryer -absolutely everything we needed. We even got one of their few balconies to smoke out on(the hotel is strictly non smoking and they will charge you 200e and any loss of income if they then cant sell the room). Shower was lovely but a bit stiff to turn on for me (girly hands). Staff were lovely, very helpful and gave us lots of info, including the hotels branded map which was the best we got anywhere. Only cons were that there was a funny smell in the rooms when we first went in which I seen other people mention here, but it went away after a day. Also no complimentary toiletries just soap, luckily Id brought my own. We didnt eat in the hotel (breakfast was 22.50!) , but there is a small bar area and a restaurant. The most we did was order some coffees on the terrace, good strong coffee. Our flights meant that we arrived and left well before check in and after check out but we could leave our bags in their luggage room and freshen up in the bathrooms. All in all very very happy with my stay here and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you smoke, ask for a balcony, very small balconies but still better than going all the way downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June and really enjoyed our stay.
We arrived much before check in but our room was ready so we could drop off our stuff, freshen up and start our holiday and equally on the day of departure we were able to leave our cases to enjoy our last day.
Very good service, the staff were friendly, rooms were very clean and free WiFi....the only down side is that the walls are very thin so you can hear everything but because its a small hotel its not really an issue.
The hotel is near a bus/tram stop which makes getting around very easy but getting home at night needs a bit of planning because the routes are restricted after midlnight.
I would also suggest the travelcards because you could jump on and off as many connection buses and trams as you like but the transfer from the airport was seperate (we got a return ticket and the driver was very friendly and helpful)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

very helpful front desk service.
big rooms with big windows.
free wifi in rooms
near the hotel there is nice coffeshop to seat and relax and get the atmosphere of amsterdam.
the electric rail is next to the hotel and with 1 line you'll get to dam squre in 10 min.
located next to the vondal park where you can rent a bike,have breakfast or lunch or just a coffee.
seet on the grass next to the small lakes surrounding, while the kids playing around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Memphis Sept 2011, on our first trip to Amsterdam, & were not disappointed. A small older building, but full of character & coziness. Walking distance to several museums, good restaurants, & handy to the tram. Rooms were comfortable, & the included daily breakfast was very good. Espresso to die for, & the staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, from offering advice on getting around, to where to eat locally. While out a bit from the city centre, we were thankful for the quiet, beautiful surroundings. Great value for the price. We loved Amsterdam & the Memphis, & will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The best way to get to this hotel is the 197 bus straight from the airport it is 4 euros for a ticket, get off at concertgeboew and its a 7 min walk, otherwise you can get the train to central amsterdam then get the 16 tram, it is much easier with no changes to get the bus and the train is 3.80 euros and tram ride 2.70 euros so you will save a few euros

This hotel is in a very quiet area, it is 7 minute walk to Van Gogh and other Museums.

I arrived and was met by a lady, of asian decent at the desk, she is very firm and not very smiley, she does her job, could loosen up a little and smile, i had no problems checking in, i was allocated a room but 2 days in, the toilet began to smell like a mens urinal, went down to complain and ask for a maid to come and do something, i was told that it is a reoccurring problem in that room so i would have to move, their were no more double rooms, so i got upgraded to a superior, some tv channels in that room did not work, but i couldnt be bothered to complain.

The maids came to clean everyday, the wifi worked sufficiently and the staff were friendly, esp herman, the asian night guy and a lady with long brown curly hair! she was so friendly and smiley, she really just makes your day.

The rooms could have done witha lick of paint nearest to the carpet.

One thing i was alarmed about was, one evening about 9:30pm i was sitting outside the hotel in the coffee area, and i saw a owner and a dog come out of the hotel, it was a fairly big dog, i have a fear of dogs so was alarmed, because i never read any reviews mentioning animals and their website doesnt mention it, i would never have booked a hotel that allows dogs, so i asked an employee about this, who said yes they do allow dogs, but when i mention that i was not happy, he went on to explain only small dogs were allowed, i mentioned the dog i had seen and he went on to mention that dog owners are charged more and the room is professionally cleaned after, i asked why wasnt it mentioned on your website, he said we are not animal friendly, but we do allow dogs.

I feel very mislead by this. although i had a nice stay, i would not book this again!

I used the trams alot and got a pass from hotel reception for 16.00 72 hours, it is a short ride to central amsterdam about 10 minutes, albert cuyp market is about 3-4 stops, its really not far from anything, supermarket is near the museums, no smoking cafes in the area though.

Room Tip: avoid room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was really lovely, on arrival we were greeted with a smile. Explained about the hotel and given our room keys.
On entering the room it was much larger than first expected as we had booked a small double. The bed was the best in any hotel we have stayed. The breakfast was plentiful and choice was great. Although in a quieter part of the city this was good as it was more relaxed at night and not noisy. Would reccomend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.