We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Allows pets :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
london!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Allows pets :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The best way to get to this hotel is the 197 bus straight from the airport it is 4 euros for a ticket, get off at concertgeboew and its a 7 min walk, otherwise you can get the train to central amsterdam then get the 16 tram, it is much easier with no changes to get the bus and the train is 3.80 euros and tram ride 2.70 euros so you will save a few euros

This hotel is in a very quiet area, it is 7 minute walk to Van Gogh and other Museums.

I arrived and was met by a lady, of asian decent at the desk, she is very firm and not very smiley, she does her job, could loosen up a little and smile, i had no problems checking in, i was allocated a room but 2 days in, the toilet began to smell like a mens urinal, went down to complain and ask for a maid to come and do something, i was told that it is a reoccurring problem in that room so i would have to move, their were no more double rooms, so i got upgraded to a superior, some tv channels in that room did not work, but i couldnt be bothered to complain.

The maids came to clean everyday, the wifi worked sufficiently and the staff were friendly, esp herman, the asian night guy and a lady with long brown curly hair! she was so friendly and smiley, she really just makes your day.

The rooms could have done witha lick of paint nearest to the carpet.

One thing i was alarmed about was, one evening about 9:30pm i was sitting outside the hotel in the coffee area, and i saw a owner and a dog come out of the hotel, it was a fairly big dog, i have a fear of dogs so was alarmed, because i never read any reviews mentioning animals and their website doesnt mention it, i would never have booked a hotel that allows dogs, so i asked an employee about this, who said yes they do allow dogs, but when i mention that i was not happy, he went on to explain only small dogs were allowed, i mentioned the dog i had seen and he went on to mention that dog owners are charged more and the room is professionally cleaned after, i asked why wasnt it mentioned on your website, he said we are not animal friendly, but we do allow dogs.

I feel very mislead by this. although i had a nice stay, i would not book this again!

I used the trams alot and got a pass from hotel reception for 16.00 72 hours, it is a short ride to central amsterdam about 10 minutes, albert cuyp market is about 3-4 stops, its really not far from anything, supermarket is near the museums, no smoking cafes in the area though.

Room Tip: avoid room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    137
    84
    35
    25
See reviews for
43
153
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was really lovely, on arrival we were greeted with a smile. Explained about the hotel and given our room keys.
On entering the room it was much larger than first expected as we had booked a small double. The bed was the best in any hotel we have stayed. The breakfast was plentiful and choice was great. Although in a quieter part of the city this was good as it was more relaxed at night and not noisy. Would reccomend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. Our room in back was quiet. Staff was nice. Wifi okay. Neighborhood lovely, you're just a short walk from local markets and Vondelpark. Just two things: carpet was worn out, though clean. And price if you call hotel direct is 99 euros- or 125 euros with breakfast! No way is breakfast worth that much! We walked down the street and bought yogurt and fruit, took it back and had a better breakfast for 4 eoros!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We received very good service at this average, no-frills hotel.

Considering what is typical for a European hotel, it is probably a good hotel.

If we were to stay there again, we would try to avoid the top floor rooms where the ceiling is angled inward.

Room Tip: As above, try to avoid the top floor rooms where the ceiling angles inward. You loose useful floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Quiet hotel in quiet area. Easy to reach city center by tram or rentable bicycle at the hotel. Forget internet, wifi speed is really bad except at the middle of the night. They claim to have Eurosport on tv but they don't. When asked about nearest shop the didn't know. Bar is supposed to close at 23:00 but it was closed 22:40. Friendly staff but no way a four star hotel. Breakfast was good with enough to choose from. Rooms neat and tidy, very good beds/matress. Safe box in room and bicycle for rent at €15/24h makes this hotel a good choice for anyone who likes a quiet area and doesnt need an good internet hookup.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

With a late arrival at 11pm I was hoping for a welcoming face at the Memphis - but almost immediately on approaching the reception area it was clear that was not going to happen! Clearly I presented a major inconvenience to the lady at reception interrupting her counting cash as I filled in my details on the relevant card that was thrust at me. Once completed I waited patiently as she continued to count cash and bundle it ignoring me until she was ready. What a disappointing start to what was a lovely stay at the Memphis - great room, good location, generous breakfast and other than my lady of little welcome the staff were great and couldn't be more attentive. Perhaps Memphis should pay more attention to their welcome process - a critical part of the customer experience - and focus on getting some consistency around their service quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great area to stay in. Very safe. Residential area. Nice breakfast place near by in the small piazza. No smoking in the rooms - which sucks cause its a large hotel so you have to go up and down the elevator just to have a smoke. Tram is conveniently steps away from the hotel. I highly recommend purchasing an unlimited tram pass while you are there. We didn't do the bike thing cause it was a bit cold - so we just trammed it everywhere. The hotel is definitely away from the loud partying of Leidensplein - but just a 10 min tram ride when you wanted to go there to eat / party / smoke. We walked there once......a little more then 30min so just tram it there. A short tram ride to Dam square - the centre of everything!! Dont forget to visit the Famous Street Market. Buy all of your souvenirs from there (magnets, clog slippers). Those clog slippers are the warmest and most comfortable slippers EVER!! Great gift too!!! The hotel room was a good size. Decor was old.... a little stuffy (carpets) - but clean. We had a terrible view out the window of a brick wall - I asked for a balcony on my reservation = didnt get it. The bed was comfortable. The rooms were a good tempurature. Our bathroom was clean & old. The shower temperature would not stay at what we selected......temperature would rise to the hottest degree.....after I felt the heat going up I had to call my husband to hold the temperature dial in place while I finished. I was already naked and tired and didn't have the energy to ask the maintenance people to come. Also, our room did not have a safe. We called front desk - they told us that one should be there - I told them that there wasn't........again, it was too late and I didn't care that much. Besides, it was the end of our European vacation anyways so we had already spent most of our cash. The receptionists were not very helpful.....no eagerness to assist us - i felt like i was bothering them when i asked them a question. Upon arriving I had paid cash for our tram cards......but they charged them to our room anyway. We had a few words upon our check out.....but in the end I was right and they didn't charge my visa card. Never call a cab to take you to the airport in Amsterdam. It is a rip off and they are soooo rude - like you are a bother in there busy day. We had no choice but to take a cab because there was a strike that Sunday. The best part of the hotel was the bellhop Mr.Khan!!! What a nice gentleman. I wish he was checking us in instead of those girls. He is so informative, and so willing to help us with our Amsterdam travel and questions. Everyone's English in Amsterdam is amazing!!! No need to worry. Amsterdam is wonderful!! I cant wait to go back!! I think i would try a different hotel though but in the same area. Unless I find this hotel for the same price of $140 CAD a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.