We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26 Euros for Breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis EMB Hotel

Save Saved
You added Memphis EMB Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Memphis EMB Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“26 Euros for Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. Our room in back was quiet. Staff was nice. Wifi okay. Neighborhood lovely, you're just a short walk from local markets and Vondelpark. Just two things: carpet was worn out, though clean. And price if you call hotel direct is 99 euros- or 125 euros with breakfast! No way is breakfast worth that much! We walked down the street and bought yogurt and fruit, took it back and had a better breakfast for 4 eoros!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    119
    67
    28
    21
See reviews for
35
128
24
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We received very good service at this average, no-frills hotel.

Considering what is typical for a European hotel, it is probably a good hotel.

If we were to stay there again, we would try to avoid the top floor rooms where the ceiling is angled inward.

Room Tip: As above, try to avoid the top floor rooms where the ceiling angles inward. You loose useful floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Quiet hotel in quiet area. Easy to reach city center by tram or rentable bicycle at the hotel. Forget internet, wifi speed is really bad except at the middle of the night. They claim to have Eurosport on tv but they don't. When asked about nearest shop the didn't know. Bar is supposed to close at 23:00 but it was closed 22:40. Friendly staff but no way a four star hotel. Breakfast was good with enough to choose from. Rooms neat and tidy, very good beds/matress. Safe box in room and bicycle for rent at €15/24h makes this hotel a good choice for anyone who likes a quiet area and doesnt need an good internet hookup.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

With a late arrival at 11pm I was hoping for a welcoming face at the Memphis - but almost immediately on approaching the reception area it was clear that was not going to happen! Clearly I presented a major inconvenience to the lady at reception interrupting her counting cash as I filled in my details on the relevant card that was thrust at me. Once completed I waited patiently as she continued to count cash and bundle it ignoring me until she was ready. What a disappointing start to what was a lovely stay at the Memphis - great room, good location, generous breakfast and other than my lady of little welcome the staff were great and couldn't be more attentive. Perhaps Memphis should pay more attention to their welcome process - a critical part of the customer experience - and focus on getting some consistency around their service quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great area to stay in. Very safe. Residential area. Nice breakfast place near by in the small piazza. No smoking in the rooms - which sucks cause its a large hotel so you have to go up and down the elevator just to have a smoke. Tram is conveniently steps away from the hotel. I highly recommend purchasing an unlimited tram pass while you are there. We didn't do the bike thing cause it was a bit cold - so we just trammed it everywhere. The hotel is definitely away from the loud partying of Leidensplein - but just a 10 min tram ride when you wanted to go there to eat / party / smoke. We walked there once......a little more then 30min so just tram it there. A short tram ride to Dam square - the centre of everything!! Dont forget to visit the Famous Street Market. Buy all of your souvenirs from there (magnets, clog slippers). Those clog slippers are the warmest and most comfortable slippers EVER!! Great gift too!!! The hotel room was a good size. Decor was old.... a little stuffy (carpets) - but clean. We had a terrible view out the window of a brick wall - I asked for a balcony on my reservation = didnt get it. The bed was comfortable. The rooms were a good tempurature. Our bathroom was clean & old. The shower temperature would not stay at what we selected......temperature would rise to the hottest degree.....after I felt the heat going up I had to call my husband to hold the temperature dial in place while I finished. I was already naked and tired and didn't have the energy to ask the maintenance people to come. Also, our room did not have a safe. We called front desk - they told us that one should be there - I told them that there wasn't........again, it was too late and I didn't care that much. Besides, it was the end of our European vacation anyways so we had already spent most of our cash. The receptionists were not very helpful.....no eagerness to assist us - i felt like i was bothering them when i asked them a question. Upon arriving I had paid cash for our tram cards......but they charged them to our room anyway. We had a few words upon our check out.....but in the end I was right and they didn't charge my visa card. Never call a cab to take you to the airport in Amsterdam. It is a rip off and they are soooo rude - like you are a bother in there busy day. We had no choice but to take a cab because there was a strike that Sunday. The best part of the hotel was the bellhop Mr.Khan!!! What a nice gentleman. I wish he was checking us in instead of those girls. He is so informative, and so willing to help us with our Amsterdam travel and questions. Everyone's English in Amsterdam is amazing!!! No need to worry. Amsterdam is wonderful!! I cant wait to go back!! I think i would try a different hotel though but in the same area. Unless I find this hotel for the same price of $140 CAD a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at the Memphis for a long weekend in April. As we arrived on early flight we left our bags at the station in the lockers and explored central Amsterdam before taking the tram to the hotel in the late afternoon.We did the same when we left on the Monday as our flight wasn't until late.
We were impressed with the hotel and found it very quiet, room was clean and staff were most friendly and helpful.We did not have breakfast in the hotel but choose to stop off at a bakers on the way to our first visit of the day. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening but choose to eat in one of the many local restaurants although we found most of the nearby ones were shut on Sunday evening so had to walk some distance to central Amsterdam.
Location was nice being near Vondel Park and quite close to the museum area. Most areas were an easy pleasant walk away although the tram was available close by.
Cons-None
Pros-Much cheaper than hotels in central Amsterdam and much quieter.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend. It's close to tram lines, or alternatively you can hire a bike to ride around. There are some shops near by e.g. Pain de Quotidienne where you can have breakfast if you don't want to have it at the hotel, and a mini supermarket round the corner. It was a nice quiet area where it was close enough to the rest of the city but wasn't subjected to the noise constantly.

All in all it was a good stay at a decent 3* hotel, we had a nice meal at the hotel restaurant which offered a 3 course menu at a discount. Unfortunately it was the same 3 courses every night even though it said in the booklet in the room that it would be different. But we didn't mind as we liked to eat out as well.

The staff were friendly, they were very informative about the area, gave out leaflets on excursions and map of the city, and always said hello when they saw you leaving or entering the foyer.

The room and bathroom were of a decent size and had the usual amenities.

The cons were: the fridge in our room didn't work which we didn't find out until after buying some milk for our hot drinks; the walls are really thin, you can hear neighbours on the same floor, above and below, using the bathroom or shutting the doors loudly which isn't ideal when they're getting up early to go to the airport and you're not.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memphis EMB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis EMB Hotel

Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis EMB Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis EMB Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Memphis EMB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memphis EMB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.