We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #99 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

My wife & I arrived from the USA around 10am and were offered a choice of different rooms. We chose to stay in a room for 3 people - all at the same cost we had booked. The room was decent sized and clean. The bed and pillows were surprisingly comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I didn't like the idea that we had to pay extra to gain wireless internet access, but the business center was made available to us - so we used their computers to email back and forth to the states. The breakfast buffet we only okay - not at all worth the 22 euro charge - fortunately, it was included in the low-rate we received from one of the last minute online websites. The location is great - right at Dam Square. However, I believe that if we visit again, we will stay closer to Leidesplein as that is where we often found ourselves. The location is quite convienent, near shopping, canal tours, red light district, many dining options, etc.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    1,149
    572
    252
    156
See reviews for
383
1,450
191
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California and Beyond
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

We stayed at the Apartment portion of this hotel earlier this month. It is a little difficult to book as the link seems to be buried in their website to do it. Overall, we really enjoyed it. We were a bit apprehensive due to a few of the reviews here, but we were completely satisfied. Since we enjoyed the location, the extra space vs. hotel room space and the ability to sleep in w/o maid service constantly knocking on your door, I will just highlight a few drawbacks. First, there was not any oven. We had no intention on "cooking", but we are fond of take-out from our favorite restaurants and sometimes the microwave "re-heating" just doesn't cut it. Not a big deal by any stretch of the imagination. Second, there a A LOT of stairs. Not only in the apartment (which I tried to photograph) but also to get up to the second floor was quite tricky with our luggage. The stairs are narrow, very steep and whindy (sp?). We utilized their bellhop, but it was a chore regardless. Again, not a deal breaker, just something to consider if climbing up 2-3 flights of stairs and down every day is not "your thing".

Bottom line, we will absolutely stay here again. Dam Square is beautiful at night and the apartmemt made it feel like home.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

Not a 4 or 5 star hotel. I agree that the location is great, but the hotel is only ok. I would choose another hotel for my next trip to Amsterdam unless the rate was incredibly low. The bathrooms far below standard cleanliness and upkeep for a hotel of this supposed stature. All else OK, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

Beautiful hotel, we were there for just one night, Sept. 27, 2005. Big, beautiful room, lots of storage, beautiful new bathroom. Front desk was quick and efficient. Great location! AC could have been better, but that's Europe.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

Well, Dam Square is the center of Amsterdam, so the location is perfect. The room had wood floors and a modern Scandanavian motif. My wife and I were given robes and slippers in our room. While we were happy with the room (5138), the hallway outside our room was plain and musty. The lobby and dining areas of the hotel were very beautiful. Overall, I recommend this hotel.

TIP - The hotel bar is the regular happy-hour hangout of Northwesten pilots and crew members. They were nice and fun and gave great tips for seeing the city.

2nd TIP - This hotel is the "5 star hotel" on that well-known site that doesn't reveal the hotel name until you pay (I don't know if I can say the name, but email me for it). Obviously, it's not a five star, but we used that site to get a very good rate of $205 per night.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

After reading the last couple of reviews I feel like I stayed in a different hotel. The room was on the shabby side and the air conditioning did not work. I had 2 meals there and can say the food was terrible. However, the service was fine and the employees were pleasant. The place seems better suited for large tour groups. I will not likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

Stayed at the Krasnapolsky for 3 nights. Front desk staff was very efficient on check-in, and the room was wonderful. Apparently remodeled within the last several years. Lots of storage space, interior furnishings and amenities were very nice, bathrobes and slippers, and the first hotel where we had a doorbell (!). Business center on first floor will let you use their Internet computers for 10 minutes at a time for no charge. Hotel overall was very nice, in very good condition. Location was excellent, right on the square, across from the royal palace. This is a great place to stay, as you can walk to everything. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
#143 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.