We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient 5 Star hotel, currently undergoing building work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Convenient 5 Star hotel, currently undergoing building work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I haven't stayed here for years, so it was nice to return to an old friend. The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Dam square, so great for shopping and site seeing. Please note the hotel is currently being renovated, so the main entrance is closed and you need to walk up the street and into a temporary entrance.

The building works seem to be managed well and there was no climbing over building works to get in (I have seen that before!). However, I would have appreciated some notice that this was the state of the hotel prior to visiting, it may have changed my choice.

Check-in, whilst professional and friendly, is slow. I queued behind a couple of people and it took about 5-10 minutes to get my key.

I was sent to lift 5, which made me feel a bit under-rated - its the car park lift, so a little walk and because there is only one lift - a fair wait for it to turn up.

The room is nicely decorated, but on the small side - I would expect more for the money. There is no natural place to put your suitcase and the wardrobe is tiny.

However, the room was comfortable, everything worked and it was cleaned very well.

Breakfast in the hotel is very good, situated in the winter gardens, its a large and impressive venue. There is a good choice of items, but I did find things had run out (bread, eggs etc) - a bit more attention to detail here, would be appreciated. However, a great place to spend a hour and you do not feel rushed.

I did not eat here during the evenings no had room service.

So in general, a good hotel that seems to be making a fair job of renovations, but there is inconvenience to the customer which was not recognised.

I will be back, when the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    977
    497
    221
    138
See reviews for
302
1,199
166
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled here on the 24th March 2015 and stayed for four nights with my boyfriend and another couple. We arrived in Amsterdam at around 9am and got the train to Dam Square. The train station was just a short walk away from the hotel.

We read many reviews that the hotel was under renovation, upon arrival at the hotel it looked like a construction sight which put us off straight away, however once entering the lobby through a side door our doubts were gone and the lobby area was beautifully decorated.

We went to check in about 10 but were told the rooms were not available until 3pm something we expected, concierge will look after the bags so you can go out and explore. We were upgraded to two superior suites for free on the same floor. However the biggest shock was getting told that we had to pay €200 deposit something we was not told when booking!! As students this was a shock to us all as it was a big chunk of our spending money. (Natasha) the lady at the desk was very helpful and reduced this to €100 per room.

The superior rooms were modern and cleaned throughly everyday. We were given clean towels without having too request them. Rooms came with a safe and there was a ice machine at the end of the corridor. There was air conditioning in the rooms, however it could easily be switched off.

Do be careful with the mini bar, our friend moved an item in their room in there and was nearly charged.

Overall a fantastic stay and we would not hesitate to visit again, close to everything as students this was great for us. Only downside was the very high deposit price but like I mentioned this did get reduced straightaway.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited Amsterdam for couple of days so the fact that this hotel is situated just at the main square helped a lot to see this beautiful city. Personal, room, restaurant and all the rest is on very high level.
Next time will stay here for sure.
Recommendations;)

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As I drove around europe, I got there around 5ish so hit the peak traffic. Hotel was a little on side but next to shops. A lot of restaurants, cafe and bars close by we went for a walk and had coffee. For dinner we decided on takeaway, hotel it self was clean, and good condition. Reception people were very helpful as I need a converter for wall charger they just give it to me for use. Parking is on side in small street but if you are good driver then it wouldn't be a issue. Over all hotel was good I had a comfortable night, if you are party animal then its excellent place to stay because every thing is close by.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Anaroxia,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky and we are happy that the reception staff was able to help you right away.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Our concierge, who is a member of les Clefs d’Or, would be able to inform you or book any local tours or services for you.

Did you know that we will re-open our hotel lobby, bar and restaurant later this year?

With best regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We've just returned from a 3 day stay. On arrival it was very clear that there's a lot of building work going on.

The reception were very friendly and upgraded us to an apartment. After seeing a standard room (which looked nothing like the pictures) we were glad of this. It was a muddy unsafe walk to get to the apartment but worth it

Large big rooms with living room and lovely bathroom. The doors were a nightmare to open but we figured it out. No complaints about the room but we did have to ring several times for clean towels

Location- fab. Right in dam square and next to the red light district so it was perfect for us

We didn't have breakfast as it was 30 euro per person which I think is ridiculous

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Gabby83,

Thank you for your thorough review about your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky!

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us and that our occupancy allowed us to offer you a free upgrade to one of our apartments! Besides that, we are happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the friendly staff at the reception desk.

However, we very much regret that we did not completely meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We are taking your feedback serious and we have already taken actions in order to prevent this from happening in the future.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again and show you our new hotel lobby, bar and restaurant that will be re-opened later this year.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My 3RD visit to amsterdam and the best stay of all the location of the hotel is ideal for all interests, i will say the reviews that i read on the hotel were a bit off putting but i found the hotel and the staff to be very helpfull , friendly and welcoming even though there is some renovation going on i did not find it incovenient and enjoyed my stay there, i would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear g j,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would recommend NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to others! That is definitely one of the biggest compliments we can possibly receive.

Besides that, we are very happy to read your kind words about our colleagues. We have shared them with our team, since that is a great reward to their consistent and continuous efforts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and show you our new hotel lobby, bar and restaurant that will be re-opened later this year.

With best regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We (my wife and I) picked this hotel on google maps on our laptop while trying to decide where to stay. Our goal was to find a centralized hotel that appeared clean. We found it here. All of the restaurant/ bar scene a person could want was within walking distance. Lets be honest, you aren't traveling to Amsterdam to work on your thesis; we ate and drank too much during our stay but it was a good thing we could walk towards the center of the city to find our hotel. We never found this hotel noisy which was nice. I read statements to which people complained but we did not experience such a thing. I would also like to point out that you can walk to the train station from this hotel. That was a big plus to me! Yes, you can cab it but you don't have to... spend your money somewhere else. Enjoy your stay if you choose this hotel. Like I said before, it is clean, great location and plenty to do all around (and it is not in the red light district, just the outskirts).

Room Tip: Wonderful Location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mjlowrance,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky!

It is great to read how you decided to choose for our hotel and we are delighted to see that we could meet your expectations concerning the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the location. We are indeed situated at the Dam Square: right in the city center of Amsterdam and in walking distance from the train station and trams.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back again in our hotel and show you our hotel lobby, bar and restaurant that we will re-open later this year.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.