We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Book Deluxe Room for the best luxury in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Book Deluxe Room for the best luxury in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Another pleasant stay at NH Krasnapolsky. The trick is to book just about 10-15 days in advance and select Deluxe Room. Off Course the price will be somewhat higher but you will expect to get a much larger room that is modern and has features that are well contemporary.

All the Standard Rooms and Executive Rooms are in the main building so are very old fashioned and not modernly designed. Request your Deluxe Room in The Royal Wing which is seperate from the main building. All the rooms are Deluxe with excellent views, most comfortable beds and lots of space. Lower floor rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows and wooden flooring. bathrooms are well clean and enjoyable. Ask for rooms at the top floors that have balconies. Fantastic views and you can smoke !! The rest of Krasnapolsky is non-smoking.

A very strongly recommende hotel for a memorable stay in luxurious atmosphere and feel good factor.

  • Liked — The location and convenience. Access around the whole of city is possible.
  • Disliked — The Deluxe Rooms on higher floors must be able to accommodate twin basis.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    819
    435
    193
    117
See reviews for
259
1,009
142
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Due to business trips, I had to stay in Krasnapolsky for several times on stays of 1-2 weeks.

The rooms I had were always facing the back of the buiding or other corners of buildings across so not much of a view. The rooms were clean, decent decorations - I am not aware how the new rooms look like.

One funny side it's the door to the bathroom : it looks as if you're going in a closet :-)

Breakfast was amazing and I was always looking forward to get to this part of the day. On one side it's the room in itself, old elegant sophisticated with a luminator. The food was also exquisite.

The hotel is located across the Royal Palace and round the corner from Red light district...funny combination but all in all you are exactly in the heart of everything.

  • Liked — Some of the old decorations in the lobby and breakfast room
  • Disliked — Slightly outdated, they can invest a bit of money to make it look better
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed here with my husband over the weekend at the end of November. Check in was quite quick. I arrived at 12 noon expecting them to tell me my room was not ready but it was (Good start). The hotel is very impressive and on walking through was expecting great things, the room however was average. There was nothing wrong with it but after being so impressed with the lobby etc I could not help be a little dissappointed. The hotel looks 4 - 5 star but the rooms make it a 3 -4. The bed however, was soo comfortable.

We did eat in one of the restuaurants and whilst eating we saw a mouse inside and not too far away from us. We had a quiet word with the manager so as not to draw attention and it was explained to us that since digging in Amsterdam has begun for the new Metro system mice had become a big problem everywhere in the city. I have no doubt that the Kitchen was clean and I do believe the explanation. The manager dealt with the complaint well and gave us a free meal for the fright it caused.

Staff are really helpful.

This hotel operates Sleepy Sunday, which means you do not have to check out until 5pm on Sunday - An excellent idea

You may think due to the mouse thing I would not rate it so highly but I really do believe what I was told and otherwise no problems. I would definately stay here again

  • Liked — Check out at 5pm on Sunday with nothing extra to pay, also location
  • Disliked — The rodent
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Took my boyfriend to Amsterdam for his birthday and had the best time ever. The hotel was lovely even though we did not have a front facing view (over my budget!) the room made up for the (lack of) view outside (into a central court yard). The bed was huge, the bathroom was lovely and spacious! The reception was busy, but the staff were still friendly (if alittle slow). We loved the late check out on the Sunday (For Free till 5pm) and would come back here for the location - right in the middle of everything, hussle and bustle but you could not hear it in the room. Security was good at night time. Would recommend for all types of visitors. Walking distance from everything.

  • Liked — Location, Big Comfy Bed!
  • Disliked — More 4* then 5 and busy reception area!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

The hotel is by no means 5 star, more a slightly jaded 4 star. I guess it's got 5 stars because of its conferencing facilities (which meant it was packed out with people in formal clothes, which I guess is a good sign, although getting into the building when they were all having a cigarette break was a bit of a battle). We got upgraded to the 'Royal Wing', which is the new bit at the back, separated from the main hotel by a walkway. The room was bigger, though not much better and it was noiser as it was on the first floor above a main road. The room smelled a bit of drains (something to do with the water change over in Amsterdam and the rain). However, the hotel was very well located, meaning we could walk to most places and the staff were helpful. There's a decent alternative to the hotel bar across the square, it's called Majestic; good for a cocktail .

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I booked this room through Lastminute, and was rather surprised to find the rate that was quoted.

I didn't have a credit card with me, and foolishly didn't arrange to have a pre-auth sent through. No real problem - the Duty Manager could see I was unlikely to be much of a problem guest so a cash advance against room service was ok. More on that later.

My room at it's bargain rate turned out to be on the top floor and was not one of the recently renovated ones. This was ok with me, the room had everything I needed and more despite being a little bit on the dated side. The bathroom looked to have been fairly recently upgraded.

The bathroom contained a bit of a surprise to me, the wealth of toiletries which are supplied. Way above the usual and very very nice quality (the hotel sells them too, which I didn't take advantage of as I was travelling hand baggage only so couldn't have taken them home again). There was a little sponge, a comb, a hairbrush, a shaving kit and a toothbrushing kit as well as the usual shampoo, shower gel, soaps and body lotion. All in little wrappers! The comb was confiscated on the way back through Schipol (maybe they were scared I'd take it out of the wrapper and start demanding to comb the pilot's hair).

One down side was some dust - possibly due to renovations however it did make me think that the rooms don't get used enough or are not being worked on enough by the staff. There was dust on the coffee sachets - this being said, the cleaning staff were very much in evidence so maybe just one of those things. I was given extra coffee sachets cheerfully on request by the maid.

Everything otherwise was fine, though I did in the end use the minibar (I wouldn't have without having given a deposit). Possibly the most expensive thing going, 12€ for a diet coke, small can of Pringles and a Snickers. 12€!!

Checking out, the balance was returned without any worries and the City Tax was simply deducted.

Next time I might even not worry about upgrading to a "better" room. There were electronically remote controlled sunscreens outside the window, a little book of stories as light reading and even a packed of Smints!

  • Liked — The feeling that even in the cheapies, this was a 5 star experience
  • Disliked — The overspill from the red light district on a Saturday ... can't be helped really
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

I stayed here for a night in Sept 2008. Booked from priceline so we did not have any high expectation especially after reading the comment.
However, the hotel was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in Europe. Our room was in the 4th floor, very big spacious room with large bath tub. Everything was perfect that we regret we did not stay longer. We moved to Hilton Amsterdam but Krasnapolsky is way better.

  • Liked — the size of the room
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, NHHotels, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.