We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #101 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Fun to stay in the original section of the hotel if you can. Just a good spot to be to hit the museums, restuarants, and the infamous "red light/coffee shop district". Rent a bike while in Amsterdam--The BEST way to get around IMO. And if you can handle a "touristy" thing, the canal tours are pretty interesting and give you a history lessen (plus a different angle to view it all)

Room Tip: Not sure if they've fully finished renovation of original hotel, but if not, ask to see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Mitch L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the location of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you here again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    915
    480
    213
    130
See reviews for
285
1,100
162
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aubel, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Excellent.great location. Walking distance to a lot of tourist attractions,restaurants and the canals. They have a beautiful garden where you can eat breakfast. We did not eat there because we do not eat much breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Edna T,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is genuinely uplifting to receive such positive feedback from a loyal guest. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy your stay here so much and hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location, but very expensive, and not five star. Very noisy all hours of day/night. The beds are singles, they just put two singles next to each other and call it a king size bed, pffff.... big hotel and not enough staff. Took forever to check in/out. They attempted to add extra items on my bill when I checked out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay with us.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for my husbands 30th birthday in Feb 2014, and can honestly say we thought it was set in the best location, or for us it was anyway. It is located directly on Dam Sq and has bars, coffee shops, restaurants surrounding. However, they appeared to be very expensive and went a little further away from main tourist spots as the prices seem to be noticeably increased. The most expensive place we found was on Rembrandt square (main hotspot with bars, nightclubs, ‘coffee shops’, restaurants etc) we found we were paying £11 a pint. If your big drinkers, this can obviously work out very expensive. The cheapest surprisingly worked out in the red light district where we were paying between £12 - £15 for 2 pints. As everyone says the red light district is always ‘crazy busy’ we didn’t think we would get to sit down anywhere, but seeing it was February and not in peak season we never had a problem and it was a great atmosphere to drink in!
Back to the hotel - I notified the hotel before that it was my for my husbands birthday, but no gestures received or even noted. Some you win, some you lose! We stayed in the older part of the hotel, and yes it is a bit tired and dated, but we still couldn't fault the size of the room or the facilities. Mini bar is expensive, but so is everything in Amsterdam plus it’s a hotel mini bar so you have to expect it. Think we paid around 8 euros for a water and 330ml can of Heineken. Breakfast wasn’t included as when I booked it was an extra £80 and I couldn’t justify that amount of money when personally we do not eat that much for breakfast. We just always found a coffee shop and grabbed some pastries and a coffee to go.
We had such a great time, we have booked to go back February 2015! Near enough the same dates and this time breakfast is included! This is due to comments people have made in reviews saying how fantastic it is plus luckily this time it isn’t an £80! We did look into staying in other hotels, but for the price and location it was totally worth it to book this one again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear MrsKatieV,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. The fact that you have already booked another stay here is the greatest compliment we can possible receive.

We are all looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in February and we will make sure that your stay here will be excellent as you can expect from us.

Untill then, we all wish you a great day!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our initial experience of this hotel was a check in that seemed to take forever as there was a lady being trained in and this contributed to the delay. We had to supply a credit card as a guarantee which is something I've never had to do before. We were allocated rooms in the newer part of the hotel - the toilet door had a gap of about 1" - which did not afford privacy, there was very little wardrobe space and the air conditioning seemed to be set at "icy". We were in amsterdam for 5 night stay and as the rooms in the newer part of hotel seem to be for short stay business purposes surely the lady at check could have advised that rooms in the older part of the hotel would be more comfortable for longer stay ?? We moved to older part of hotel but one of the rooms had an unpleasant odour which despite the staff spraying with air freshener did not alleviate the problem over the period of our stay. We had requested twin rooms but the beds were double but have to say very large and very comfortable. Rooms for other members of the group were odour free spacious and comfortable.
The hotel was booked through local travel agent on the understanding that there was a restaurant and bar in the hotel. (booked in December 2013 for holiday in August 2014) the restaurant was closed and bar was very small though adequate for our purposes. We had a problem with a leaking shower in one of the rooms which was fixed when we reported it but is it appropriate for guests to be doing what should be a routine maintenance duty ? We also had another issue with misunderstanding regarding an elderly group member which was resolved by management very satisfactorily and with utter professionalism. I feel this 5 star hotel did not quite hit the mark. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly so 5 stars to the staff for the most part but not 5 stars to this hotel - must try harder. On plus side breakfast in winter gardens was wonderful and in a fabulous setting and really lived up to description.

Room Tip: don't request room in new part of the hotel if you are staying for longer time and want a comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Hennart,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. We are delighted to be informed that you have enjoyed the service of our members of staff and the full american breakfast buffet in our historical Winter Garden.

We have also noticed that you were not completely satisfied with your hotel rooms; please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I will personally share your experience with all heads of departments in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay here via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com so we are able to personally take care of your next stay here.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back here.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great location right at the Dam square in the center of the city. One to two blocks from two tram stations serving several lines. If you like walking, pretty much everything in the downtown area are within walking distance.

Central train station is a several blocks down the main avenue although you probably would not want to drag a large suitcase through the sidewalks. The "red light district" is just next door together with a few “coffee shops”.

This is a 4-star hotel; facilities are old and showing their age. Our room was in an adjoining building that required using the room key downstairs to enter. This was somewhat inconvenient particularly when your cardkey got corrupted and required another trip to the lobby.

The pride of the hotel is the Winter Garden where you can have buffet breakfast for $45+. This is worth doing at least once. Alternatively you can visit the small shop across the Damstraat and get great pastries, sandwiches, and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Trekker00,

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky and especially the location.

It is a great compliment that you would recommend our full american breakfast buffet in the historical Winter Garden to others; thank you!

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in the near future; untill then we all wish you a great day!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great location right on Dam square within walking distance of most things and easily access to trams for everything else. The room was spacious, modern and well-kept. My room was in a side wing of the hotel, across a covered alleyway and up the lift to a separate entrance. Noise levels on a Friday night were quieter than I'd anticipated. The staff were friendly and helpful.. Free wifi was fast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear FttH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you here again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.