We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #93 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived at 9 a.m. and were very tired and were greeted warmly by front desk person and the man handling our luggage. She told us our room was not ready but an upgraded one (at no additional cost) in the renovated section was available "now." What a treat---a modern, comfortable room with plenty of closet, storage space. I needed a plug for an outlet and it was brought promptly. The only problem was the height and slope of the bathtub which made it difficult to get in and out and made it slippery. Asked for a bath mat which also was delivered promptly. The Concierge was most helpful in directing us to the correct trams and in giving us information that was most helpful. The location of the hotel is great--quiet but right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Bshapiro14,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

We are delighted to be informed that you have enjoyed your stay here.

We will always try our utmost best to check-in our guests as early as we can, especially because we know that most of them have been travelling.

We will take note of your experience with the bath, thank you for sharing this with us.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back here!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    1,012
    513
    224
    140
See reviews for
318
1,245
173
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, right in the centre of Dam Square. Staff were excellent, very attentive. Excellent room, large bed, very comfortable. Only comment would be that perhaps a little worn in parts so not sure about 5 star rating. However perfect as far as I'm concerned. Didn't eat here so can't comment on food

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear LynneHartelpool,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We have shared your experience with our colleagues; as such great praise is a fabulous reward for their continued and consistent efforts.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok – Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

... Not 5 standard rooms, was very disappointed with the quality of the room we were allocated. Decor was worn and old, bed was stained which was unsightly and upsetting as it was an anniversary stay. Bathroom door was chipped although clean. There are 2 wings of deluxe room, we were in the Amsterdam Wing which is not renovated, the corridors smelled strange like Brussels sprouts and the carpet is old. It's a separate wing which backs onto a small exit and the red light district was a hop away but this was not a problem. Nontheless, the staff and duty manager were very friendly and bent over backward to help. As they were not able to change my room due to availability they did compensate for the distress and convenience caused due to this and confusion over them being able to Change our room or not, by providing us with free breakfast for 2 days. The breakfast is excellent for European standards and very good. The location is excellent right on dam square. However very expensive. **The customer service and the location of the hotel are it's saving grace**. I may give the hotel another chance again if I got the right room I.e. A renovated one which do exist. You may wish to ask for one ahead of your trip, like I did but it is not guaranteed. They decorated out room with flower petals and heart confetti in the bathroom and a welcome note due to anniversary which was nice. I would like to thank all the staff for their excellent service. A parting note on housekeeping- it hit and miss, we went out early on day 3 and did not return until 8 hours late and the room was still the same as we left it in the am and when they did do it it was only the bed that was made nothing else was tidied up.

Room Tip: Ask for a new renovated room not in Amsterdam Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Fabhols,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We have shared your experience with our colleagues; as such great praise is a fabulous reward for their continued and consistent efforts.

We regret the fact that your room did not meet your expectations. We would be delighted to allocate a renovated room for your next stay here. Please feel free to contact us direclty via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back here again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've stayed here many times while visiting family and friends in Amsterdam. The staff are always so welcoming and accomadation which makes it a pleasure to return each time. The rooms are spacious and clean with great views over the Dam or the 'Kanaal'. The self catering appartments with views at the back are excellent if you want to stay a bit longer then normal in town.
The breakfast is a MUST and is served in a beautifull room 'winter gardens' anything you can think off it's all there freshly made to order and so many options make sure your hungry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Exd59,

We are delighted to read that you would recommend NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to others – that is certainly the greatest compliment we can possibly receive.

On behalf of all the members of staff of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, we would be honored to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzeliya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just got back from 4 nights in the hotel. The location is wonderful- on the dam square, the staff very friendly, the room was quiet, the minibar was very useful, the bed comfortable. we had slippers & bathrobes in the room, the staff brought us iron & board, there is AC, hot water cattle for hot drinks.
The hotel provide umbrellas, maps, ticket service for all attractions.

Room Tip: we were in the 4th floor- which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Morin255,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We have shared your experience with our colleagues; as such great praise is a fabulous reward for their continued and consistent efforts.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I have been visiting Amsterdam for many years and have stayed at many hotels in the city. The Grand Krasnapolki is by far the most superior I have ever stayed in. The staff are always welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious, the location is perfect: right in the middle of Dam Square.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding, beautiful surroundings and attentive staff.
When booking my trips to Amsterdam, I never go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mary A,

On behalf of all the staff member at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with all the provided facilities and with the services of our staff members. We will share your wonderful comments with them as well.

It is genuinely uplifting to read that you would return to our hotel when travels bring you to Amsterdam. This is one of the greatest compliments that we could receive.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

With kindest regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is pretty good but my score is because it is a 5 star hotel and I expect better from 5 star.

The room was ok. A bit tired bit with a great bed. Bathroom was ordinary.

Service was adequate but nothing special.

Location wise it is excellent !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to fully meet your expectations regarding our facilities and services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. We will use your comments to train our staff in order to elevate guest experiences in the future.

Besides this, we hope that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.