We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is pretty good but my score is because it is a 5 star hotel and I expect better from 5 star.

The room was ok. A bit tired bit with a great bed. Bathroom was ordinary.

Service was adequate but nothing special.

Location wise it is excellent !

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to fully meet your expectations regarding our facilities and services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. We will use your comments to train our staff in order to elevate guest experiences in the future.

Besides this, we hope that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    814
    428
    191
    115
See reviews for
255
1000
140
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has to be the best located hotel in Amsterdam! It is right on Dam Square and backs up to the Red Light District. It is one of the oldest hotels in Amsterdam, and you can tell in the rooms. The Hotel is undergoing renovations so there are better rooms but the room we stayed in had old carpets and furniture. The bathroom doors were closet doors that do not lock and becareful because the water is really hot. Oh, and the beds weren't the softest, but reasonable. Overall Great location, but not great rooms. For the price I would stay there again, just in a better room.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Dam Square, Good. Get a NEW room, Better. Getting BOTH, Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused, especially for the water temperature. We have discussed these matters and we will take action in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Besides this, we hope that you had an enjoyable time in Amsterdam and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a stay in one of our renovated rooms.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The staff members are very friendly and professional. The room was very clean and has excellent things including free WiFi. The location of the hotel allowed me to move around the city of Amsterdam easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mobolaji O,

On behalf of all the staff members at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the facilities and the services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your kind comments with them as well. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just got back from three nights at the hotel. chose it for it's good reputation and the location. Location was good ,the rest far from what you would expect from a hotel of that standard. Starting from the room which was very basic and was not cleaned until late hours of the afternoon with an excuse that they give priority to cleaning rooms to incoming guests rather than existing guests in the hotel. To top it up for most of the time you are dealing with very unfriendly staff at reception at concierge desk and in the breakfast room. For that money go elsewhere !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We will use your comments to train our staff members in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed many times here and overall I have good to very good experiences.The bar staff and the customer service desk is great!!!But you need some luck though.Sometimes they just do not have their best day in checking in and checking out aswell the restaurant is sometimes just closed and they have some very old rooms you might end in.It somethimes very crowded.And some times big events or congesses take over the whole thing.They had a local radio called 'Q' broadcasting from their bar a few days which means you cannot get in as a guest.So yes 80% good but you can pick the wrong day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guitarric,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experieces of your stays at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of faciliteis and services and we regret that we have not always been able to fully meet your expectations regarding our services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we are glad to read that your overall experience of our hotel is positive and that you are satisfied with the services provided by our staff members of the bar and guest services. Furthermore, it is genuinely uplifting to read that you are a returning guest. This is one of the best compliments that we could receive.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we all are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raisio, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location, nice room and friendly staff. They checked us in after 10 am. What a breakfast! Everything was perfect except the air conditioning, which did not function very well... We are pleased to recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, Front Office Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matkaaja2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your kind comments with them. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we regret to read that we were not able to fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the air-conditioning in the room. We have discussed this matter and actions will be taken in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The NH hotel Chain is one that I like. It's Spanish owned, normally very reliable and places a premium on good service, efficiency and good Hotels - so what's not too like.

This 5 star Hotel is on Dam Square and so with such a central location there is always going to be a bit of trade off between access and personalised service. The Hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam and has extensive accommodation. There are opportunities for conferences but this does mean that the number of lifts serving floors can be restricted we had one lift serving 5 floors which can mean a bit of wait but nothing excessive.

This is what you get

good location
great breakfast in an architecturally stunning winter garden ( the breakfast is very extensive and open till late and covers all tastes)
good rooms - all are well presented, very accessible and crisp
there is a cafe and bar but when we were there the Brasseries was closed for the holidays

What didn't work for us was the reception! Perhaps one of the grumpiest reception greetings in the last 3 years that demanded we show passports ( no one else had in the last 4 weeks and in the last 6 hotels including two NH ones) and didn't like it when we asked why, got irritated when we queried whether there was going to be much noise from the building work outside (building work happens but we just wanted to know what to expect) and so placed us elsewhere and got frosty when I mentioned that I was member of NH and was told " yes but you didn't pay for the room so we can't recognise you" - OK but it was all a little frosty for a 5 star Hotel.

The other thing to avoid is don't take the " hotel taxi" to the rail station this cost 15 Euros for a fixed price of 1 km and seemed very steep.

It is trade off - busy hotels in city centres often get overwhelmed and so personalised and friendly service can be difficult when its' a demanding period but it is a 5 star hotel!

So average service, lovely hotel, great breakfasts and great location but hmm can't help but feeling that a bit more customer friendliness might make this a brilliant hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ESVincent,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding our customer services. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investaged in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com.

Besides this, we are glad that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.