We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #94 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raisio, Finland
1 review
“Perfect location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location, nice room and friendly staff. They checked us in after 10 am. What a breakfast! Everything was perfect except the air conditioning, which did not function very well... We are pleased to recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, Front Office Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matkaaja2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your kind comments with them. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we regret to read that we were not able to fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the air-conditioning in the room. We have discussed this matter and actions will be taken in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    1,014
    513
    224
    141
See reviews for
319
1,246
173
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The NH hotel Chain is one that I like. It's Spanish owned, normally very reliable and places a premium on good service, efficiency and good Hotels - so what's not too like.

This 5 star Hotel is on Dam Square and so with such a central location there is always going to be a bit of trade off between access and personalised service. The Hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam and has extensive accommodation. There are opportunities for conferences but this does mean that the number of lifts serving floors can be restricted we had one lift serving 5 floors which can mean a bit of wait but nothing excessive.

This is what you get

good location
great breakfast in an architecturally stunning winter garden ( the breakfast is very extensive and open till late and covers all tastes)
good rooms - all are well presented, very accessible and crisp
there is a cafe and bar but when we were there the Brasseries was closed for the holidays

What didn't work for us was the reception! Perhaps one of the grumpiest reception greetings in the last 3 years that demanded we show passports ( no one else had in the last 4 weeks and in the last 6 hotels including two NH ones) and didn't like it when we asked why, got irritated when we queried whether there was going to be much noise from the building work outside (building work happens but we just wanted to know what to expect) and so placed us elsewhere and got frosty when I mentioned that I was member of NH and was told " yes but you didn't pay for the room so we can't recognise you" - OK but it was all a little frosty for a 5 star Hotel.

The other thing to avoid is don't take the " hotel taxi" to the rail station this cost 15 Euros for a fixed price of 1 km and seemed very steep.

It is trade off - busy hotels in city centres often get overwhelmed and so personalised and friendly service can be difficult when its' a demanding period but it is a 5 star hotel!

So average service, lovely hotel, great breakfasts and great location but hmm can't help but feeling that a bit more customer friendliness might make this a brilliant hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ESVincent,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding our customer services. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investaged in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com.

Besides this, we are glad that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is no longer 'grand', which it likely once was, given its age. However, even though the decor is very plain the rooms are modern and everything was well functioning. Beds good, shower good, A/C good, service good. It did have a grand breakfast room and the buffet selection was excellent. It was pricey but if you like to start your day with a hearty breakfast you can do so, and don't really need lunch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Eridotto,

What a wonderful review! On behalf of everyone at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is very centrally located on Dam Square. All major sites in Amsterdam and the train station are within easy walking distance. The hotel's public spaces are beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was located at the back of the hotel, which meant it was very quiet. The king bed was comfortable, all amenities in the room were of high quality. and he room was very clean. Only negative, if you can call it that, is that the breakfast buffet was very expensive, so we ate elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Janice B,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is genuinely uplifting to receive such positive feedback from a loyal guest. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy your stay here so much and hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

About 10-15 minutes' walk from Centraal station. Dam Square has lots of shops and there are restaurants in every direction as well as trams going down the main street from Centraal. The back entrance abuts the red light district. The lobby is huge (have a look at the winter tea room). Service is good, but the concierge and luggage desks can be slow - and the concierge's recommendations were not that impressive.
Rooms were clean, spacious and modern. The rooms facing the square are being renovated apparently. Wifi is free and reasonably fast with only a couple of dropped connections.
Not five stars, but a good four star establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with your stay in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Please feel free to contact us directly via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com in order to share the details of your experience with our members of staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you here again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The breakfast here is amazing! Never have I seen such a splendid display of food before! Anything you want, they have it!

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfy and clean. What else would you expect from a 5* hotel?

Hotel is in the perfect location, close to everything you would want to visit! I'd love to go here again and would recommend to anyone considering a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Lola876,

We are delighted to read that you would recommend NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to others – that is certainly the greatest compliment we can possibly receive.

On behalf of all the members of staff of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, we would be honored to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bignose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have just returned from six nights in Amsterdam. We loved this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful especially Caroline Hogendorg who really made our stay so memorable. The bedrooms were so lovely,modern and comfortable. The hotel is in a great central position. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We have shared your experience with our colleague Caroline; as such great praise is a fabulous reward for her efforts.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.