We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #100 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I never heard of this hotel before and went there by the recommendation of a friend about the hotel. The hotel is located in a very centeral location in terms of shops and transportation. The room was much better than i expected compared to what i paid during my stay. I will stay in the same hotel during my visit and i will try a few other NH hotels in other countries. I recommend the hotel due to its great price / quality measures.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear SilviaBV20,

We are delighted to read that you would recommend NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to others – that is certainly the greatest compliment we can possibly receive.

On behalf of all the members of staff of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, we would be honored to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    916
    482
    214
    131
See reviews for
287
1,103
162
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is considered a classic hotel of Amsterdam, and is indeed very good. The location (on Dam Square) is absolutely perfect. The normal rooms are fine, and the superior rooms significantly nicer and more modern. There are good conference facilities (which is why I was there) and the food very good. The wifi is free. So why four stars? Well, the staff were very pleasant, but service was invariably slow. The breakfast -though nice - was a pretty poor value Eu30 extra, with no option for light eaters to have something more modest a la carte. And the nice tea room doesn't open until breakfast is over. So unless you're travelling on someone else's dollar, I'd suggest padding out for something nearby; we found some excellent borek in a Turkish cafe just off the northwest corner of Dam Square.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the conference facilities and the provided in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. We will take your suggestion in regards to the a la carte breakfast into consideration, thank you for sharing that with us.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you here again!

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as our original hotel we booked had double booked us but offered us a room here for the night and would upgrade to a suite and they would pay the difference which we accepted. Firstly the staff charged us twice for the room then decided our card was declining and then decided they didn't no how or why and they wouldn't be able to tell us until Monday! (This was a Saturday) eventually they refunded us and it was ok after being made to feel like we were poor or didn't have enough in the bank which we clearly did! Any way the suite was lovey really spacious and a lovely bathroom but based on the staff id say it's not worth the money although the location is fab there's another hotel over the square for half the price and the most amazing service !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Jody M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay with us.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel really is located in the perfect place for you to see and experience the whole of Amsterdam. I loved it. The hotel itself is situated on a pretty square, surrounded by cafes, restaurants and bars. There are Amsterdam cheese shops and Ripley Believe it or not museum a stone's throw from the hotel lobby. All of the best tourist spots are within a short walking distance and the hotel concierge was very helpful.

The very best thing about this hotel is the breakfast buffet! I was AMAZED! Everything that you could wish for is served here in huge quantity: Many small cakes, every fruit, pastry and bread you can imagine, porridge, cereal, lots of different fish, lots of different meat and a chef that cooks eggs in any way to order, they have a waffle station, they have smoothies, many teas, lots of champagne and the biggest selection of continental and full English options I have ever seen. It is worth staying here just to experience it.

The hotel itself is decorated in 'old school' 5* glamor which suited the design of the building and it doesn't take long to relax here and enjoy the wonderful service. The hotel bar is very pleasant. I enjoyed my time here as a solo traveller. The staff looked after me and I would feel very happy to book and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the breakfast bar as possible so you can arrive there early to enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear sir / madam,

On behalf of all the staff members at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you have been able to enjoy your stay and your time in Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the facilities and the services provided by our staff members, this especially regarding your kind words on the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden. It is genuinely uplifting to read that you had such a good experience and that you would return to our hotel when travel brings you to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, a really nice hotel, its 5 stars (what you would expect, a good sized clean room. Many facilities available, conference rooms, bar, gym, spa.... The restaurant is a bit pricey-has a top Chef but it's Amsterdam everywhere is pricey). The Staff are great their friendly, effecient, polite & helpful! Most of all it's in such a brilliant location, centre of everything. A great break to get away, whether as a couple, single or as a group, lot's to see & do, plenty of walking so make sure you have comfy footwear! Central Station is only a short walk away & a train will take you straight to the Airport in 8 mins for €5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Denis I,

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the facilities and the services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your kind words with them as well. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Amsterdam is at this time very hot and busy, so the Hotel Krasnapolsky has made a great place to retreat from the heat and the crowds,. The room is in the remodeled tower - small, but modern and well designed. It includes everything that is on our essentials check list and then some: air conditioning, individually controlled within the room, big fluffy towels, large tub, handheld shower, terry bath robes and slippers, good internet access, a long counter to use for desk and suitcases, comfortable beds, reading lights, and black-out curtains. Breakfast is in a lovely room and includes great variety - most anything that you could want. We particularly enjoyed the nice selection of fresh fruit. Bravo NH Grand Krasnapolsky!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room that is away from Dam Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear seattlesmile,

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the facilities and the services provided by our staff members. Furthermore we are glad that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location is best in Amsterdam. Staff is amazing. Breakfast cost is extremely high, but worth it and it is served in a worldwide unique magnificent hall. Similar statement is also valid with regard to an internal restaurant. Issue I encountered during my stay was treated eventually extremely well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear judge_in_motion,

thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your kind comments with them as well.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking foward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.