We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard, good location, super breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #91 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Davao
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“High standard, good location, super breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to Amsterdam as tourist and stayed 3 nights in Krasnapolsky.
Perfect location for tourist in dead centre of the city.
Easy check in by professional staff. Nice and newly updated room. We stayed 4088 which seems to be a separate adjacent building. Good Wifi, well equipped minibar and large bathroom.
The room was facing the back and was totally quiet. Think front rooms may be noisy since there is full activity on the Dam square even long after midnight. The concierge was very helpful for advise and arrangements for various sightseeing. The breakfast was served in a wonderful room and was very good indeed. A big variety and very fresh raw materials. Even it was rather expensive Eur 29, it was a nice way to start the day there.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room in upper / back area . Dam square is gathering place both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter19502013

On behalf of all the staff members at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding the experience of your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services by our staff members, in particular regarding the concierge. We will make sure to share your kind comments with them as well. Furthermore, we are glad that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    804
    776
    415
    185
    112
See reviews for
240
943
131
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and on the 26th of June and the locaton was ideal. It is a short walk from Central Station in Dam Square. Reception staff very pleasent and check in very quickly.We were in a regular room which was very bright and modern with a good sized bathroom. Dressing gown and slippers supplied which is a nice touch. We never ate in the hotel but the breakfast room was enormous and looked to have plenty of food to choose from. Housekeeping knocked most days just to check if everything was ok and to see if we needed anything extra.
WIFI was free of charge which was good and we found the reception ok.
The bed was a good size and very comfy. There is a safe, mini bar and tea and coffee
We really enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Laineymay,

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding the experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services by our staff members. We will share your kind comments with them as well. It is genuinely uplifting to read that you would return to our hotel when visiting Amsterdam. It would be great if you could then experience the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we all are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is right in Dam Square and for that, you can't beat the location. Short walk to the Centraal Train Station, and near all the major tram lines which you can use to get anywhere in Amsterdam. I had a regular room which they offered to upgrade when I arrived to a King room for 15 euro. I thought it was well worthwhile. The room was very large with plenty of space. The bathroom was clean and modern. The room itself was appointed well and had a beautiful walkout balcony. The bed was a King which is a rare treat in just about any non-American branded hotel. I only had two issues with the room - the floors were wood and it was ruined/stained in a number of places which detracted from the good aesthetics of the room. And, like most European hotels the air conditioning wasn't reliable and sub-par. Other than that, good value in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rlafleur99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to fully meet your expectations regarding the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused, especially in regards to the air-conditioning. We have discussed these matters and actions will be taken in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Besides this, we hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the central location of the hotel contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam. Furthermore, we hope that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services by our staff members.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran, Middle East
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there from 29 june - 3 july. Everything ok unless the air conditioning.
When the weather was about 8 -15 outside, we were in oven rooms with about 30! We suffered of warm and non ventilated room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Amrza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the air-conditioning in the room. We have discussed this matter and actions have been taken in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Besides this, we hope that you enjoyed your time with us and in Amsterdam and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to Amsterdam last january with my boyfriend and we stayed in this hotel.I can say it is really a 5star Hotel.The room was new restored,nice, very clean and the housekeeping was passing every afternoon to see if we need clean towels.The breakfast room was amasing...seem a ball room, the buffet was full of everything, for any taste.In spite of this is an expensive Hotel.We find an offer on internet (trivag) , so it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Elena D,

Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments about the experience of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff members. Furthermore we are glad that you have been able to experience the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we all are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The only really positive thing that can be said about this hotel is the perfect location. Everything else has bad price performance. We were put into a "Deluxe Double" room that had something I would call "east block charme". We were then offered to move into a business deluxe room, that was nice, but nothing really to write home about. And of course we were charged 45 EUR more. The staff at breakfast can best be described as un-trained and unprofessional. But this is not a problem of the people, but those who lead and train them. Not to talk about the cheese that we had one morning, which was mouldy and when I showed it to the waitress she had no apoogies to offer, rather than the excuse "This was the only piece ....". The shower that coudn't stay straight in the bathroom didnt help either. All in all not the standard you would expect from a 400 EUR + room.

Room Tip: When you book at Deluxe Room, make sure you make a reservation for the St. Johns wing, because the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Patrick K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused regarding the room and the breakfast.

In order to ensure that these matters are thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com. This way we can take actions in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This Hotel is very big. I visited the hotel during the Christmas period which was very busy.
Generally though other than the waiting time until check in everything was great.
On another trip to Amsterdam I also stayed at the other NH Hotel near the central station which was also very good. It's location is as central as it can get as you are in Dam square where from you can visit all the other squares, you are near the central station, 15 minutes from Rembrandplein or Leidsplein or Joordan. If you are going with a girlfriend or spouse I recommend this hotel. If you are going with friends though I recommend renting an apartment instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Constantinos C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your Christmas stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us, especially as it was during the holidays. We hope that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.