We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #99 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Smallfield
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the start of our early check in the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was not ready until normal check in time however the concierge were more than happy to keep out luggage. The hotel was clean and very warm and a good impression was made from the onset. Our room was clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. Our air con broke during our 4 day stay however the staff were very helpful and provided us with 2 fans etc, they took money off our bill as they could not fix the problem which was very good of them. We did not eat at the hotel but did visit the bar and again the bar staff were good fun and made us some cracking cocktails. Overall I will definitely visit the hotel again when I return to Amsterdam. A great hotel, with good staff and nothing was too much bother for them all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Bronwyn H,

On behalf of the staff members at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us.

We regret to read that there were some difficulties regarding the air conditioning in the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided by our staff members. We will pass on your comments to them as well.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    886
    467
    205
    125
See reviews for
271
1,059
154
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

As so many visitors say, the place is one of the best in Amsterdam! We are a couple of 70 years an had to start our trip very very early in the morning. We arrived to the hotel at about 10.00 in the morning. I had earlier sent email to the hotel asking if it could be possible to get a room earlier than normally, since we could be quite tired after the trip. The hotel kindly arranged a three persons room to us, since it was free. The room was very spacious with a large dining table in the middle. Also the bathroom was large with a separate shower room. Two bathrobes, one very large bed (good one) and one smaller bed. Everything was ok. Of course the furniture and textiles were old and old fashioned, with a bit dark colours, but everything was in good shape and clean.
Maybe this was not exactly a five stars level, but good four stars! Alltogether, the old fashioned style in the whole hotel was nice,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear sir / madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding the design of the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided by our staff members. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a large standard dobbel room. The room was comfortable but bathroom needs to be upgraded. Shower in bathtube with showercurtain is out. Would prefer a shower with door. Bed was very soft and had prefered a more medium matress. Friendly and very serviceminded staff. Great location. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Hasse J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations regarding the bathroom. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided services. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our staff members. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We - middelaged couple on combined business and pleasuretrip - had a lovely stay at the excellent hotel with excellent location in Amsterdam center. Perfect for visiting museums etc.
Friendly and luxury atmosphere.
Very good and spacy room.




  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Susanne D,

On behalf of all the staff members of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services. Furthermore, we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

wonderful hotel in Dam square - huge, rooms were of an ok standard with everything you'd need down to dressing gown, bath items etc. pre paid breakfast, which was outstanding, catering for everyone and every age group. would of liked to have had a room with a nicer view, though wasn't too bad as your not in your room that long enough, just felt it would made the stay a tad more classy. would return and stay there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided services and facilities. We will make sure to pass your comments on to our staff members.

We regret to read that there were some difficulties with the shower. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a great experience. Although it is a bit faded, ( currently being renovated ) it is a wonderful hotel in the grand old tradition. The rooms are a good size, the beds comfortable, the location the best in Amsterdam, the breakfast was unbelievable in fairy tale surroundings, everything you could possibly want including a glass of bubbles. Evening meal in restaurant was also excellent one of the best I've had, service was just right, not too fussy. The only negative was the shower which was a bit erratic hot/ cold but otherwise a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ours was good so I can't really offer any suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided services and facilities. We will make sure that our Food & Beverage departments will receive your positive comments.

We regret the fact that there were some difficulties regarding the shower. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and be informed that we will take actions in order to prevent this in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a terrible hotel. Our room was across the way from a bar that generated a huge amount of noise from early afternoon until 2:00 am and it was impossible to get any rest. We talked to the front desk and she said it would probably get worse because it was Friday night. With the exception of the bellboy other services were very unhelpful. We think the hotel is vastly overpriced, almost hostile to its guests and the noisiest hotel we have experienced and we suggest people stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Dan S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.