We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good, centrally-located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very good, centrally-located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Krasnapolsky in early March and enjoyed our time there very much. On our arrival, we were upgraded to a deluxe room on the fifth floor of the Amsterdam wing. The room was large and modern, as was the bathroom. It overlooked a side-street and was quiet. The bed was large and comfortable, and the room was well-lit. We had free Wi-Fi throughout our stay, both in our room and in other parts of the hotel. The staff were warm and polite and always helpful. Our room was cleaned daily and the towels and bed-linen regularly changed. The hotel location on Dam Square is perfect for touring Amsterdam. It is a ten-minute walk from the main train station. Lots of trams stop there, but many of the tourist attractions are within walking distance. The breakfast was fabulous with anything one could possibly wish for. The decor of the Winter Garden, where they serve breakfast, was beautiful and relaxing. I recommend the Krasnapolsky and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 5129 in the Amsterdam Wing is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Noga M,

On behalf of all employees at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us.

It is genuinely uplifting to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us and in Amsterdam.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services. We will make sure to share your comment with our staff members. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden and we hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to your overal experience of your trip to Amsterdam. Besides this, being recommended to fellow travelers is the greatest compliment we could ever receive.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With kindest regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    819
    435
    192
    117
See reviews for
259
1,008
142
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very friendly staff, helpful attitude
Location
Comfortable rooms with quick personnel reacting and professional staff.
Nice renovation of the premises. Very comfortable accommodation, I can recommend to all my friend sang colleagues!



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Anna X,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at NH Grand hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and in Amsterdam. We are glad that you were satisfied with the facilities and the services provided by our staff members. We will make sure to share your comments with them. It is genuinely uplifting to read that you would recommend us to your friend and colleagues, this is the greatest compliment we could receive.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your experiences and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Fabulous place to stay, stayed with my husband for 3 nights for a romantic weekend away
Nothing too much trouble, lovely room stayed in business double, chocolates and water on arrival with slippers and bathrobes
Breakfast was amazing never seen so many different fruit juices and choices
Close to all attractions have great night sleep

Room Tip: Business double on back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Caroline L,

On behalf of everyone at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant time in Amsterdam, especially since it was a special occasion for you and your husband. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided by our staff members. We will make sure that your comments will be shared with them. We are glad that you have been able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden en we hope that the central location of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky could contribute to the overall experience of your stay with us and in Amsterdam.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

With kindest regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a night whilst at a conference. The hotel has a great location on Dam square which is very central. The downside to this is some of the rooms are very close to the main roads leading up to the square. I was staying in the Royal Wing (elevator 7!) which is a separate building to the main hotel, i had a 1st floor room which meant i was very close to the street noise which continues until around 3am.

The room itself was a nice sized room with a good bathroom without the glass walls that other people have complained about.

The hotel has been created over the years by the original owner buying up all the blocks around the main hotel. This has lead to a rather strange layout with bedrooms all over the place.

The main part of the hotel does feel dated but at least everything is clean.

Overall i would be happy enough to stay here again but there are better hotels in Amsterdam.

On a side note there is a restaurant called CAU in the road to the side of the hotel which served one of the best steaks I've had and is worth a visit....might need a reservation though as it gets busy

Room Tip: Try to get a room either high up or away from the main streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear DynamicAV,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services. We regret the fact that we have not been able to meet your expectations in regards to the noise pollution from the streets. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we hope that you have been able to enjoy your stay with us and that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overal experience of your business trip in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husbond and I stayed for three nights, he was on a conference, I was just enjoying Amsterdam.

The room was ok, but none of us like bathrooms with walls of glas, it`s not ok when one has to use it during night, or get up early in the morning and the other one wants to sleep, - impossible. We were also disturbed every night (much later than evening and earlier than morning) by noise from other rooms, it sounded as if elephants were doing aerobic, with some talk and laughter to go with the dancing. The room was nice, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was very good and the service in the breakfast room was excellent.

The location at Dam square is perfect when you want to walk to see the city. The spring arrived this Sunday and it was lovely to sit at Dam enjoying lunch and cold, Dutch beer. We may very well return some time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sigrid L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services. Therefore we very much regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations with regards to the design of the room and the noise pollution. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

Besides this, we are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet in the Winter Garden. We hope that the central location of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 day conference and it proved to be a good 4 star hotel.

It's a short walk from the central railway station and easy to find.

The breakfast is mega expensive at 24 euros. If I was staying for pleasure I would go to the corner restaurant and pay a lot less for breakfast.

Rooms are nicely appointed but there is some noise as you are right in the centre of the city. I had a room in the annex but this was not really a problem apart from a walk to breakfast every morning but it was quieter than the main hotel by the sounds of it.

Rooms were cleaned twice a day with fresh towels etc. only tea and coffee available in rooms but there is a mini bar which is at cost.

Staff are very helpful and friendly as are most people in Amsterdam. Well worth a visit. The red light district is on the doorstep so be aware if you have children and go the wrong way out of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Geoff S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during the conference. We are pleased to be informed that you were statisfied with the services provided by the staff members. We will make sure to share your comments with them. We hope that the central location of the hotel could contribute to the overall experience of your trip to Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

After weeks and weeks of viewing all the comments on this hotel and many others we decided to stay at this one purely for the location..... and i'm so glad we did!

Firstly with regards to the 150 euro security deposit- if you put it on a credit card it will get credited back to the card. If you use maestro or visa debit you will get it back in cash - no big deal!

This hotel really feels like a 5 star and i'm a fussy person. Every time i walked in the lobby it felt so grand and the staff were professional , and very helpful!

The room was clean and very modern and the bed was the biggest I've ever stayed in with the most comfortable pillows. A lot of people complain about WIFI which i noticed a lot of comments about prior to staying at this hotel. I tried to connect also but failed through the 'settings' button on the phone, we called guest services who sent someone up to connect us and we were doing it wrong all along just like most of the other reviewers on here but we called and had it fixed immediately ( you connect through ' safari ' )

The breakfast was lovely and a huge choice. We had ours included in the price which i would recommend.

Before our arrival i emailed the hotel to tell them it was a special occasion ( wedding anniversary ) and they left us a note on the bed as well as petals all over the bed and bathroom plus a lovely box of chocolates, plus an upgrade which we didn't know until we asked them at reception 2 days later ( they should have told us when we checked in )

Overall do not hesitate to book here, if you look at other peoples reviews they complain about the most trivial things which is really a shame because this hotel is lovely and deserves the praise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKlok, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Lisa S,

On behalf of all the staff members of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services. We will share your experience with our staff members as well.

We hope that you have been able to enjoy your special trip and that we were able to make it memorable.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us, it is only with guest feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the standards for which NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is renowned.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Herman Klok - Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, NHHotels, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.