We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back on track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Back on track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I used to stay here whenever I came to Amsterdam, never looked beyond it The location was, for me at least, the best in town and everything else about the place ticked the relevant boxes. A few years back, I felt standards slipping and the level of service dropped off to the extent of borderline arrogance from some of the staff and so I started to stay elsewhere. Banks, Estherea etc

Fast forward a few years to last Thursday and for reasons undisclosed, I wound up back at the Krasnapolsky for a long weekend and I am pleased to say that things have changed significantly since I was last here. Most noticeably the general attitude of staff. Every member of staff I encountered appeared warm and friendly, from housekeeping upwards, every interaction was a pleasant one and especially so in the wonderful Winter Garden breakfast room. It really is a jewel in the crown of this impressive building and the staff that serve this magnificent room deserve more than a little recognition for the smile they bring to their work.

It's not all love and bubbles though. There's still something to have a pop at;

The Mini Bar: Why do hotels persist with these ridiculous things? It is stuffed choc full of various uninteresting snacks and drinks that are priced to the point of extortion and renders having a small refrigerator in the room as utterly useless. Removing an item for even a fleeting second will add a zillion dollars to your room account instantly and replacing it won't help.

So, mindful of not closing unfairly on a negative slant because of a minor irritation, I'd just like to add that the enormous Queen bed (real Queen, not two oversized singles pretending) was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Eddyo,

On behalf of all the employees at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel.

It is genuinly uplifting to read that you have had a pleasant time with us after your previous experiences and that you appreciate the services provided by our staff. We have shared your comment with all our employees since such praise is a true reward for their ungoing efforts.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    837
    798
    419
    189
    114
See reviews for
247
976
138
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from Amsterdam, did all the usually toursit things had a great time. Anne Frank house is really worth a visit very interesting. This hotel is lovely you will not be disappointed, our room was really nice & all the staff are extremely helpful nothing is too much trouble. The cocktail bar is good fun & not really overprised. The breakfast at the hotel is the best we have had to date who can ask for more than champagne breakfast with so much choice. If you are about to go to this hotel than have a lovely time & enjoy we did.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sue W,

On behalf of all the employees at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable this with us.

It is genuinly uplifting to read that our breakfast services have been the best you have experienced to date and that you have been able to enjoy your time at the Golden Palm Bar.
We hope that you have had a joyful time in Amsterdam and that the central location of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky could contribute to this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was a bit on edge about this hotel BUT everything has been perfect! We checked in all smoothly and quickly. Breakfast was the best bed and breakfast I have had in any hotel before such a big selection. We was upgraded for free so I room was amazing very clean and fresh feeling. My only moan would be it was a bit loud sometimes so the walls are quite thin.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sofia B,

On behalf of all the employees at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant time and that we have been able to meet your expectations with the provided services and faciltiies. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast services at the Winter Garden and that the room was to your liking.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Located on Dam Square just 15 minutes stroll from Centraal Station. Large hotel with mix of bedroom styles (some due for an update). Beware some newly refurbished rooms have glass (clear and frosted) bathrooms - such a shame as the rooms are aesthetically very pleasing otherwise. We opted for an older room, with a private bathroom, in a quiet part of the hotel. Rooms at the front have fantastic views over Dam Square. Breakfast is served in the wintergarden - a lovely room. Plenty of choice - all self-service. Not the best breakfast in Amsterdam, but very good. Staff are mostly very friendly and efficient. Toiletries NH branded and a bit disappointing - OK if you like orange! Public areas are rather tired, but not awful.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room for whatever reason, ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear JJEnglandUK,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations in regards to our toiletries. Please accept our sincere apologies for this matter.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant time in Amsterdam and in our hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the breakfast in the Winter Garden and that you were satisfied with the provided services.

We hope to welcome you back again at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Myself and my Mum have just returned from three night stay in Amsterdam. I was so impressed by the hotel, from the staff, to the amazing breakfast room, the location, the bedroom and facilities... It is located on Dam Square and is so close to all tourist attractions, restaurants, bars, etc.... I will definitely be returning to Amsterdam and this hotel. We flew in to the airport and got the 20 min train to Amsterdam Central Station, the hotel is ten min walk from station.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Lindamcd2013,

Thank you for such a wonderful comment regarding your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. We have shared your review with all the members of staff of the hotel.

We are delighted to read that you and your mother had such a wonderful experience in our hotel and in Amsterdam. We are pleased to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided services and facilities and that you enjoyed the breakfast in the Winter Garden.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your mother back again soon at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam and without a doubt the best located hotel in Amsterdam - easy access to the whole city.

There were a few types of rooms, all of different decor - some very tired (the one closest to the reception and has no view), some modern looking (faces the street on another building attached to the main building) and some a bit of both (in the main building).

All the rooms are clean and the consumables are topped up sufficiently. Other free equipment that I noticed were ice dispenser and shoe polish machines located in the hallways. Talking about hallways though, some are not lit as bright as I would have liked.

The concierge and reception staff are excellent - going out of their way to help us.

Breakfast is Euro 30 per person- and the selection is average.

Notwithstanding the above though, you're paying for the location. Otherwise the price is slightly high for the whole service rendered.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Souffian63,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We have shared your experience with our colleagues; as such great praise is a fabulous reward for their continued and consistent efforts. We are pleased to hear that you appreciate the facilities in the hotel such as a ice dispencer and shoe polish machine and got to enjoy the central location of our hotel.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline – Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Champagne and an excellent variety of food and drink for breakfast, in the beautiful Winter Garden setting, was undoubtedly the highlight of my stay at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Decor is quite dated, with a 1970's vibe, however rooms and the hotel in general was very clean. Like other reviews on here, my friend and I were also unaware of the deposit to be given upon arrival to secure the mini-bar (which was insanely overpriced!). It would have helped to have been informed of this prior to our visit. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam who likes a central location, comfortable bed and amazing breakfast! I will definitely return in future!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ulakx,

We are delighted to read that you would recommend NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to others – that is certainly the greatest compliment we can possibly receive. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our beautifull breakfast buffet in our monumental Winter Garden.

On behalf of all the members of staff of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, we would be honored to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Caroline – Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.