We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #100 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

On arriving in amsterdam the hotel is a short walk from the train station on entering the hotel we were presented with a great hotel lobby with very help full staff as we couldn't check in straight they helped us by letting us use there facilities to freshen up and change which I found a nice touch.....the room was fresh and clean and bright......if you are in in amsterdam for a short break this hotel does the job very well and for that reason I would recommend this hotel :)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear sir / madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are delighted to read that you would recommend the hotel to others - that is certainly the greatest compliment we can possibly receive. It is also a pleasure to be informed you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered, especially in regards to the facilities to change and freshen up.

We hope to be welcoming you back again soon at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    891
    471
    206
    126
See reviews for
274
1,065
154
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Surly staff - nice location. The location is excellent in the Dam Square Amsterdam. However over many years of travelling I have never met such a miserable, not reaching out to the customer, bunch of staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay with us.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel looks and feels very grand. The Christmas decorations were very pretty and the giant gingerbread house impressive. However, I felt that the size of the hotel had some impact on the guest service i.e. housekeeping knocking on your door at 8 a.m. when you're on holiday! I felt there was some lack of understanding that not all guests are at the hotel on business. Also, on New Year's Day we were given a phone call to the room to ask that we present to reception and pay the minimal number of Euros we had spent over our deposit in the bar on NYE! This didn't seem particularly friendly. This leads to another point about having a deposit taken upon arrival. If you have a debit card, monies are taken and will be returned to you in cash on check out! If you are from a country which does not use the Euro, this leaves you with cash that you lose money on when you have to convert back into Sterling- I felt this was an inconvenience. Other than this, the rooms are warm and comfortable. The location is the main draw for this hotel with it being directly on Dam Square.

Room Tip: Be aware that when using a debit card, your deposit will be returned in cash as you are leaving and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear DonMcUnitedKingdom,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that our services did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused, especially in regards to the disturbance in the morning and your experience on New Years day.

We would like to inform you that actions have been taken in order to prevent experiences like yours in the future. In order to ensure that this matter is thorougly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-htoels.com.

Besides this it is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the provided facilities in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky and we hope that the location of the hotel could contribute to your overall experience in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would definitely stay there again!
the location of the hotel was fantastic.. the rooms were big and spacious. the concierge were not too good though. Better to stay in a higher floor to avoid noises.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear LamisAlm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations in regards to our concierge desk. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused.

In order to ensure that this matter is thoroughly investigated, we would appreciate it if you could contact us via guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com.

We are however delighted to read that you would revisit NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky again and that you were satisfied with your room. We hope that the location of the hotel has contributed to your stay and overall experience in Amsterdam.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Top end hotel right in the middle of everything. Room and bed very comfortable , nice friendly staff , and the breakfast area has a chef who will cook you whatever you like , fresh !
It is expensive to book but it is a 5star ! Go on spoil yourself !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Matey4663,

On behalf of everyone at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast services in the Winter Garden. We are also pleased to be informed that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Superb Hotel.Very friendly and superb location.The staff were excellent and the Buffet breakfast was to die for.Could not wish for a more central location for shopping,Eating and of course drinking.Will be Back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear GeorgeMandy,

What a wonderful comment! On behalf of everyone at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to read that you had such an pleasant stay in the hotel and in Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to be informed that you have enjoyed the breakfast services in the Winter Garden and that you were satisfied with the provided facilities and services in NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Such a perfect location; very close to the Central Station, right on Dam square, yet the room was so quiet and large, comparing to hotels in Amsterdam in general. The room was very clean, the bathroom spacey and luxarious. The food and coffee down at the Mathilde is very well presented and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, NHHotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.