We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ! Best location. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place ! Best location. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were there for 5 days.
We had the exclusive room up on the fourth floor

The room was big and comfortable.
We where missing some light in the room it was a bit dark but the ambiance was great.
The location is the best thing, you are on the middle of everything.

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    815
    430
    191
    116
See reviews for
257
1001
140
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a great location. The room we had was a bit dated but the service and breakfast made up for it. The bathroom had a bit of a smell to it. We were not sure if it was a drainage problem. The overall experience was good




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros:
1. Nice place to stay - comfortable and clean rooms
2. Courteous and prompt staff - I had issues with the safe and it was rectified in 5 minutes
3. Great breakfast spread
4. Very good location - on the Dam Square

Cons:
1. I stayed for 4 days - but I only had free internet access for 24 hours - after that it was chargeable. Such a hotel and you have to pay for internet - just not acceptable. Maybe my plan was incorrect. Please check yours
2. Rooms facing Dam Square are Euro 75 extra
3. Very few options on TV - most content is chargeable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We took a pre Christmas break to Amsterdam and chose this hotel for its location. It certainly did not disappoint. The central location on Dam Square meant that almost everywhere was within leisurely walking distance, even the street markets (including the flower market).

The hotel has obviously been long established and does have an air of grandeur but not double glazing! Our room was spacious and spotless with both a bath and large walk in shower
room. And the BBC TV channel meant that we could keep up with events at home. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

A good breakfast is a must for setting you up for the day and the Krasnapolsky exceeded our
expectations. The breakfast 'room' is a massive glass roofed area which made the almost limitless choice of hot. cold, savoury and sweet breakfasts all the more enjoyable.

Be sure to visit the W & F gin museum 'round the back of the hotel' for a tasting session. It is open from 3:00 pm until 9:00 pm during which time you can taste some of the 100 flavoured
genever (gin) based liquers for 2.65 euros for an overflowing glass.

And watch out for the cyclists. The trams and the cars will not get you but the 'million' cyclists
on the cycleways next to the pavements will do their very best!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very convenient location , in the middle of downtown, you can go walking to the majority of the atractions.Good restaurant, excellent breakfast, very confortable room.Efficient and polite emploees.Good wi-fi internet.Points for improvment: Few cables channels options. bath area too sllipery, dangerous for ancient people

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in late October ,our son was running the Amsterdam marathon.The hotel is a short walk from centraal station just strait up the Damrak turn left you there.The hotel is directly on dam square easy access to all the local areas the main tram stops are easy to find, the staff at reception were very helpful with providing maps and info. Our room was large, nice big bed the usual robes ,slippers and quality toiletries, we had a balcony that gave us rooftop views over Amsterdam this is a very nice hotel. Will stay there again on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a great hotel in a perfect location in Amsterdam. From the minute we entered the front door, we were warmly greeted by several members of the hotel staff. The check-in process was without delay and in fact, they upgraded our room as a courtesy. The Christmas Markets were in full operation right across the square extending all the way to the train station. There are so many restaurants near the hotel offering a wide choice of menus as well as great shopping. While the hotel was great, the staff was outstanding and really made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.