We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Pleasant Stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #93 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location. Pleasant Stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My first time in Amsterdam, and for me and my group, the hotel was in an excellent location, as it was a stones throw away from red-light district. Plenty of places to eat nearby if you don't fancy eating at the hotel, as we did.

The room itself was ok in my opinion. Not bad and not great but it was very clean and beds were extremely comfortable. Generally satisfied through my stay.

The hotel is far from being modern/contemporary. It had a lot of character and heritage about it, which was nice to see but some of the interior decor looked it had been there since the 80s.

Perhaps not the best of places to stay if you're after peace and quite. The hotel is right in the middle of everything so you will hear the business of Dam Square during the day and the party atmosphere from local bars by night until 2/3am.

A people carrier (for 5 people) from the airport to the hotel cost around 60 Euros (£50 or £10pp) one way.

We didn't have much reason to speak with the staff but when we did they were very accommodating and polite. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    1,012
    513
    224
    140
See reviews for
318
1,245
173
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My associates and I always stay at this hotel while in Amsterdam because of its amazing location but know that you must stay in the new renovated part to have a decent stay.
I had no choice on my 1st night as the hotel was full but as I am a woman often traveling alone or with other women I hate the old part (you have to go to another building and go through doors that lead to the outside). Not only did I do not feel secure in this older part but its not very appealing (old and dated decor, damaged floors...) and the corridor smelled of cheap take-out food and it was quite noisy.
In revenge the new part is very stylish, comfortable, quiet and feels 100% safe, all a modern traveller should expect.
The female staff were all nice and helpful but I was not impressed with the concierge whom I felt was annoyed with my questions and did not seam to know much about near by restaurants. Maybe I caught him on a bad day and it was extremely busy but I have seen much better as far as concierge goes...

This hotel is a fair bet if you know what to ask for and how to book your room but don't expect exceptional service as it caters to masses as opposed to personalized approach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Offered a choice of room either traditional or renovated on check in. We decided to go for for a recently renovated one. A superb room very very modern with a huge tv. Two showers and very nice sharp fittings all round. Service was very good and all you would expect for a 5 star hotel. Fantastic breakfast room in the old winter garden conservatory. A really beautiful hotel. The only drawback was they were checking in. Business conference at the same time as many were checking out but the bonus was as we checking out Sint Nikolas was arriving in the square! Would certainly recommend staying here as it was very central and easy to get to all points of the City.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room 1103 on the first floor. No view but away from the busy Dam square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you are going to Amsterdam for a few days, want to stay in comfort and don't want to spend time on public transport, Krasnopolsky is your choice. However, we faced a problem during the check-in, when receptionist told us that the hotel was overbooked and suggested to move to another NH hotel near Van Gogh museum. We refused this option and insisted on a hotel in a center area. After this we were moved to Sofitel and our room in Krasnopolsky was upgraded to deluxe. As far as we understood, overbooking is a usual thing for the hotel, but we were satisfied with the way the hotel solved the problem.
The deluxe room was on the highest floor, so there was pretty lovely view on the roofs of Amsterdam. The room itself was spacious and new. Breakfast was very good, with impressive choice of meals. Internet was free, but veeeerryyyy slow - do not expect to watch youtube videos in your room. But in general, the hotel worth its price and I don't see any reasons why not to stay in this hotel again when we come to Amsterdam next time.

Room Tip: If the difference between deluxe and double is not crucial, chose deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of the centre of Amsterdam. just 5 min walking to main train station and main shopping area. We stayed therewith a kid and had quite a big and comfortable room. The breakfast was fantastic, restaurant looks like a large garden with trees .food variety is very wide and delicious. The hotel was amazing, we loved it, very worthy choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We always wanted to stay there because of the centre location and try it out. We were not disappointed. The staff was excellent and will go back there next time. We had dinner and breakfast with champagne. The wife will never forget the weekend.It was a busy weekend but the staff still had time for us answering any questions we had about the hotel and the city.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a cool place to be in the middle of Amsterdam. Very old historic building with lots of character. Room was small but comfortable. I wouldn't recommend bringing too much with you as there is no room to put it unless you want to leave everything in your suitcase. Food was tough if you are vegetarian, they eat ton of meat and cheese and pastries are a norm for every meal. Bring comfortable shoes, this is not a place for high heels. People are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.