We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, Amsterdam 1012 JS, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #79 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. The best location in town. easy access to all major attractions. We got a room in the renovated section. The room was in clean decoration modern and comfortable. The only downside was that we stayed at the first floor and we could hear the street noise. (It is an alley so it is not so bad).
The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    724
    389
    175
    108
See reviews for
204
871
125
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This Hotel is right on damn square..lovely bars,restaurants and shopping centres,markets nearby. the staff were lovely,rooms spotless and comfy comfy giant beds. the food very expensive as was rooms but well worth it. fresh cakes to die for!)))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

a fantastic location, that said there is nothing at all about this rundown shabby expensive hotel further to compliment it.

the staff were rude, the rooms were tired wall paper missing and the rooms were generally worn out. our room was on teh first floor above the smoking pit!, it was so noisy that it was not possible to hear the TV even when it was on full volume, (locked out at 34 which is just above a whisper)
Fitness centre, great if you want to go after 12 (that when it opens on Sundays! and the sauna is 8 euro extra!!! what a rip off.
its about the 6-7 time i have stayed here and for me its the last, its got worse and more expensive over the years

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay with us through Tripadvisor.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to offer you our sincere apologies the inconveniences caused during your stay in the hotel. We regret to read that your room was not in a perfect condition, as it should have been.

We would be glad to be informed about the exact experience you have had with our staff members, so we may use your experiences in order to re-train our staffmembers.

We hope that you will give NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky a second chance and we would be glad to make sure that you will have an excellent experience here. In order to arrange this, we would be pleased to receive your personal details via e-mail as well. Could you please be so kind to contact us via e-mail (guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com)?

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel lies in the best spot in Amsterdam! The service and the hotel itself are of a 5-star standards. I had a particularly pleasant experience as initially I wasn't happy with my room (had see-through bathroom) and have been offered a replacement one promptly!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with a see-through bathroom then U should ask beforehand for a different type o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As all have said you cannot fault the location. Hotel itself is nice, staff friendly and not too bad a price for centre. Room was totally functional, great bedding, spacious ( we were in the separate block via lift 6). Only downside was the shower which fluctuated from scalding hot to freezing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is spot on , the staff are wonderful, the rooms are nice and very clean , the only thing i could fault was the breakfast , there is no way it's worth £25 and where we ate reminded me of my school food hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a great location right on Dam Square. You can walk to Central Station in 10-15 minutes. Near major attractions, red light, coffee shops, museums, tram, restaurants.

Stayed there with my wife for a short couples trip. Rooms are quite small but we had a great view from the 5th floor. All the staff were extremely efficient and very helpful. Good restaurant and nice lobby.

Hotels in Amsterdam are quite expensive so this wasn't an extremely expensive hotel considering.

I liked it because you (I) always get lost walking around the canal district. So if lost every local knows how to get to Dam Square !

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Krasnapolsky
Address: Dam 9, Amsterdam 1012 JS, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.