We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. The best location in town. easy access to all major attractions. We got a room in the renovated section. The room was in clean decoration modern and comfortable. The only downside was that we stayed at the first floor and we could hear the street noise. (It is an alley so it is not so bad).
The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    815
    430
    191
    117
See reviews for
257
1001
140
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This Hotel is right on damn square..lovely bars,restaurants and shopping centres,markets nearby. the staff were lovely,rooms spotless and comfy comfy giant beds. the food very expensive as was rooms but well worth it. fresh cakes to die for!)))

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

a fantastic location, that said there is nothing at all about this rundown shabby expensive hotel further to compliment it.

the staff were rude, the rooms were tired wall paper missing and the rooms were generally worn out. our room was on teh first floor above the smoking pit!, it was so noisy that it was not possible to hear the TV even when it was on full volume, (locked out at 34 which is just above a whisper)
Fitness centre, great if you want to go after 12 (that when it opens on Sundays! and the sauna is 8 euro extra!!! what a rip off.
its about the 6-7 time i have stayed here and for me its the last, its got worse and more expensive over the years

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline v, Guest Relations Manager at NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay with us through Tripadvisor.

We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and we very much regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to offer you our sincere apologies the inconveniences caused during your stay in the hotel. We regret to read that your room was not in a perfect condition, as it should have been.

We would be glad to be informed about the exact experience you have had with our staff members, so we may use your experiences in order to re-train our staffmembers.

We hope that you will give NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky a second chance and we would be glad to make sure that you will have an excellent experience here. In order to arrange this, we would be pleased to receive your personal details via e-mail as well. Could you please be so kind to contact us via e-mail (guestservice.nhkrasnapolsky@nh-hotels.com)?

With kind regards,

Caroline - Guest Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel lies in the best spot in Amsterdam! The service and the hotel itself are of a 5-star standards. I had a particularly pleasant experience as initially I wasn't happy with my room (had see-through bathroom) and have been offered a replacement one promptly!

Room Tip: If you are not happy with a see-through bathroom then U should ask beforehand for a different type o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As all have said you cannot fault the location. Hotel itself is nice, staff friendly and not too bad a price for centre. Room was totally functional, great bedding, spacious ( we were in the separate block via lift 6). Only downside was the shower which fluctuated from scalding hot to freezing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is spot on , the staff are wonderful, the rooms are nice and very clean , the only thing i could fault was the breakfast , there is no way it's worth £25 and where we ate reminded me of my school food hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a great location right on Dam Square. You can walk to Central Station in 10-15 minutes. Near major attractions, red light, coffee shops, museums, tram, restaurants.

Stayed there with my wife for a short couples trip. Rooms are quite small but we had a great view from the 5th floor. All the staff were extremely efficient and very helpful. Good restaurant and nice lobby.

Hotels in Amsterdam are quite expensive so this wasn't an extremely expensive hotel considering.

I liked it because you (I) always get lost walking around the canal district. So if lost every local knows how to get to Dam Square !

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.