We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and really nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #98 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great location and really nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After visiting Amsterdam a few times over the years, we stayed here mainly due to its central location on Dam Square, walking distance to all the attractions of the city.

The staff are very professional and friendly. On arriving, we were offered an upgrade from the deluxe room to an apartment. The apartment was very clean and comfortable whilst being very spacious and modern. Just a few things let this experience down:

Firstly, the access to some of the apartments is a little strange. Practically going through a service entrance next to the kitchens and then up a steep flight of stairs outside the main building is not what I expected in a 5star hotel. To be fair though, I'm sure they wouldn't offer this block to the elederly or infirm.

Secondly, the building is obviously very old- and so are the windows in this section- so sound proofing is non existent in this area of the hotel. Therefore, when workers are emptying recycle bins and wheeling laundry between service entrances directly under your apartment window at 7am, it tends to wake you up early.

Although the apartment was lovely and we enjoyed our time there, I do think that we may have been better off keeping our original room.

I would still recommend this hotel though- but I'm not quite sure I would personally class it as a 5star establishment.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not look out to inner courtyard where the service area is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    886
    467
    205
    125
See reviews for
271
1,059
154
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Its worst of all hotels i've ever been. You will be surpised to find out that your deluxe room is "in another building right across the street"! WiFi like on [--] submarine. Bathroom has no shield so you always has a pool on the floor. Water can not have stable temperature. I could hardly take shower.
Also I hate when being charged for hundred euro "deposit" on chek-in despite the fact that the room was already paid. TV in the room is also avaliable for additional charge and has double-dutch menu. Maximum 3*** hotel with good location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this specific room because of the room description stating it included a balcony. Upon arrival was very disappointed to be told that the hotel does not have rooms with balconies!
I do not hold this against the hotel as our stay was very pleasant. The
description was on a third party website linked through agoda, so I lay the blame on them.
very helpful staff, fantastic location, excellent cocktails.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel again after many years of not visiting the Netherlands and once again, it was a pleasant experience. We had one of the rooms in the renovated annex and althoughit was not a huge room, it was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We liked the glass wall between the room and the bathroom ! The hotel is not a 5 star hotel in the true sense of the word any more but it certainly had all the attributes any tourist, who wants a bit more, can wish for. Friendly staff and service and do remember to include the breakfast as it is quite comprehensive and help your day start just that little better ! Within walking distance of the big departmental stores and nice restaurants. Parking for your car is not on site but are wisked away and fetched again in a jiffy. We really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam - we'll go again !

Room Tip: If you like clean, modern designed rooms, ask for the new wing. The main building houses the old wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very good hotel with friendly staff [especially in the reception and concierge areas] in excellent location. Good value for a City center hotel. Superb spread for breakfast in impressive room. Good atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Krasnapolsky many times over the years, and have always been satisfied. Rooms are small but not tiny, and are remarkably clean. The staff has always been courteous and accommodating. The hotel now touts itself as five-star, and I consider that a little aggrandized: it is a three or four star facility, and excellent rates can be had in the offseason with online booking. Breakfast is included and if festive and fabulous. It's in a good part of Amsterdam and convenient to many attractions, and I have always enjoyed walking the city blocks around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is extremely clean, however considering it's a five star and we were staying in the superior deluxe room, there is no comparison to the facilities you would have in a 3 star hotel. We were promised VIP treatment and a free room uprade which amounted to a bottle of water and 5 chocolates. The hotel was more concerned with a business conference and offered a spanish gentleman a free upgrade because he had travelled from spain. When I asked what happened to my upgrade I was told none were available. I did argue with them because I had just heard them offering an upgrade to the spanish business man. I was not told that behind the hotel was the Red Light District! neither was i warned that the same time of my booking a fairground was occuring in Dam Square which is where the hotel is situated. Will never stay here again. Only service we recieved was the lovely room maid. Feeling very let down.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 4000 number range using elevator 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.