We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and sophisticated hotel in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“A beautiful and sophisticated hotel in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I arrived at the hotel earlier than expected. The staff could not have been more helpful, immediately offering an upgraded room to avoid me having to wait. The accommodation was well appointed, clean and comfortable, the only issue throughout the stay being the erratic Wi-Fi signal and this was quickly attended to by the manager himself. He was clearly keen to ensure I had a really positive experience. The breakfast in the fantastic Winter Garden could not have been better and lunch or tea in the lovely ground floor Cafe Mathilde, overlooking Dam Square, afforded a relaxing opportunity to enjoy good food, whilst watching the world go by. The apple strudel is to die for! Wherever possible, ask for a bedroom at the back or side, or on an upper floor, as Dam Square is very busy and the noise could, I think, be intrusive. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning. Centrally placed for most tourist attractions.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    831
    441
    197
    121
See reviews for
263
1,024
144
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent 5 star hotel in Amsterdam. Close to the central station and opposite dam square .very close to bus route and trams as well. Had a good variety to choose from at breakfast.very friendly and helpful staff.highly recommended

Room Tip: Luxury room overlooking dam street not bad thought it would be noisy but not so
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

be aware do not get your room as reserved and have another hotel offer.

In the room you will find very used towels. TV chanel are not work properly. Shower tools are used and fluid around. Shower curtain is not clean at all.




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed for three nights and I selected the hotel for its proximity to the popular city center. I was also convinced by online reviews that the hotel was a good value. My experience was less than expected.

First, I am a business traveler and the free Internet was attractive but the hotel claim is misleading. If you are going to do any work on the Internet, your free account has limited data transfer rates. I have never been "stopped" from Internet access before due to hitting some arbitrary data limit. So, if you want unlimited data plans, you have to pay 9.90 Euros. Which is what I was forced to do.

My room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, but the room was very tight. Traveling for business I was carrying 3 suits and some dress shirts. The closet could only accommodate half of my clothes. There were two small draws to store personal items, so you had to keep things in your suitcase.

The breakfast buffet is very nice and it had a wide selection of International food. However, you can only eat so much and what you can eat ends up to be very expensive. To pay over $75 US for two people to have a breakfast buffet is questionable.

The gym was small and the equipment very outdated. The treadmills looked to be at least 10 years old. For a hotel of this size, the gym is too small and maybe an afterthought.

The hotel is also a busy conference center. During our stay there were two professional conferences being held, which took away from the charm of the hotel. I did not read that this hotel was an active business destination or I would have stayed elsewhere only because I attend too many conferences already each year.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. Oddly, when I asked for an iron and ironing board, the iron did not have steam or a water reservoir. It was a rather old fashioned iron which I have never been given in at least 10 years of business travel.

So, in many ways the hotel is enigma. Location great. Room size: small. Room and Bathroom Accommodations: Clean. Food and Beverage: As high as a New York City Hotel. Amenities: Dated. Gym: Old and Limited

Since I travel 200+ days a year, the entire package of this hotel is just average. The value is average when you consider the cost and the amenities.

Room Tip: Be very careful to select a room size that has ample space for luggage and clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Krasnapolsky was recommended by my fellow travelers and I was quite satisfied. The hotel is located in dead center of Amsterdam which gives you a short trip to a huge number of restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner. The hotel itself has a very friendly staff and big clean rooms. The breakfast buffet had a very good selection as well as an "egg-cook" preparing omelets on demand, good bread selection and a lot of healthy options.

The only negative remarks I have is the poor pressure in the shower and the poor WiFi-access at the hotel. As a business traveler I often require to work from my hotel room, but that becomes difficult when you are limited to a 10kbps capacity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is situated in the center of the city. Surrounded by great restaurants, bars, the red light district. We didn't realize though that on Sundays the hotel has a late check out policy which is at 5pm-other days are at 3pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The corridor leading to our room was like walking through a hospital for the mentally unstable, the design is awful with no character or anything to give you a good feeling about staying there.

The air conditioning in the bathroom was terrible and everything was steamed up. The shower screen leaked onto the floor and became dangerous to walk on. The mini bar was laughable and offered little variety and was not re-filled daily. The breakfast, which we booked for only one day of our stay was 24 euros each and was a complete shock to us as I would have to have four servings of a full 3 course breakfast to consume what I had paid for, a very mediocre quality breakfast at a very high price.

The car park was also a terrible shock, we arrived in an Audi A5 and missed the very narrow turning at first because it is little more than an alley. When we did turn into it, the bicycles in the way made it very slow and difficult. On exit after 2 days the price was 100 euros....I stay in 4 and 5 star hotels all over Europe and Asia and I have never been charged that price at any of them. I will NOT be returning to this hotel or any other in the NH group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, NHHotels, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.