We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LVTraveller/ Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #99 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
LAS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“LVTraveller/ Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The pictures in this hotel on travel were not alluring, but when I arrived at this hotel, I was impressed with the staff and location. At time of arrival, I was greeted and serviced well with the front desk staff. I was upgraded to the apartment rooms which was located at the back of this hotel. The room was big and spacious, and had a balcony overlooking the city. Internet was slow,but worked. The only thing I did not like on the room, was when you showered, the water would splattter on the floor, otherwise bathrooms were clean. There were few minor cosmetic flaws on the ceiling and balcony, but were tolerable. You also have the option to get breakfast buffet, but you can also opt out on it. Overall, clean, friendly staff and superb location. We were always out, so it is a great hotel for active travellers.

Room Tip: get the apartment rooms at the back with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    889
    470
    206
    126
See reviews for
273
1,063
154
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beginning April we (my wife and me) stayed for three days in this hotel in Amsterdam. In this hotel they have old style (not renovated rooms) and they have modern style (renovated rooms). We make a choice of a modern room, which feels comfortable. It’s was cold outside and the air co/heating doesn’t give us enough temperature. We called the reception and nearly immediately came a technician to see the problem and half hour later we had a ‘good temperature’. We also asked extra pillows at the reception, which they bring directly to our room. We asked also other things and received a correct answer to all our demands. We booked this staying including the breakfast.
The champagne-breakfast (classical in 5* hotels) happened in the so called ‘wintergarden’.
The champagne (cava) wasn’t the best, although for the rest of the breakfast was everything ok.
The ‘wintergarden’ by him is a beautiful historical place and we liked very much this style.
All by all I we can have a positive impression of this hotel: a modern renovated room, service is excellent, breakfast in the ‘wintergarden’ is something special and location in the centre of Amsterdam is excellent. A small negative is to park the car: I used the P+R system for this and during 3 days we didn’t use our car: Amsterdam is not a car-friendly city.

Room Tip: renovated room, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff are helpful and efficient, meeting rooms were well set up and quickly rearranged when needed. Although sometimes a lot of behind the stages noise when in meeting rooms. Some bits are looking a little dated and tired but all is acceptable. My room was good, not outstanding but fine except that even on the lowest setting the aircon wouldn't get cool enough, and i had a king sized bed (two singles joined together). One side was terrible wnd worn out with a big dip in the middle, although the other side was fine, luckily i was alone. The wifi service was terrible, very slow and patchy, I don't pay for the premium and only used the basic free, but colleagues who paid for the premium said it made no difference. The hotel is well located. The rate was not bad for a centrally located business meeting hotel.
Breakfast buffet is good and conference lunches were of high standard.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the outside of the hotel can be noisy in the night from outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located right in the city center, everything is within walking distance , restaurants, shops, bars and the central station.Staff are welcoming and always ready to help. The room was spacious, cozy and clean. We highly recommend and hope to return again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel looks good but the room we were given has nothing to do with a five star hotel. Basic furniture, TV not really working, tapestry torn, dirty ventilation grid, bathroom ceiling damaged, no shower but a plastic shower curtain in the tub ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff, service, cleanliness, and equipment in room were excellent. Room was too warm and furnishings were shabby. Hotel has not been refurbished in a long time - it looked tired. Drinks in the lobby were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I can't even list all the bad things about my 6 day stay here. One instance was that I brought with only 2 pair of quick drying man-undies. The first morning when I needed to use hair dryer to help dry my only clean pair, the device quit after 2 seconds. Had to go commando to a work meeting.
On the plus side, the staff is friendly, though completely unhelpful.
Only reason to stay here is its extremely close location to the Red Light District, so if proximity to prostitutes is a plus, have at it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, NHHotels, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.