We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #112 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff are helpful and efficient, meeting rooms were well set up and quickly rearranged when needed. Although sometimes a lot of behind the stages noise when in meeting rooms. Some bits are looking a little dated and tired but all is acceptable. My room was good, not outstanding but fine except that even on the lowest setting the aircon wouldn't get cool enough, and i had a king sized bed (two singles joined together). One side was terrible wnd worn out with a big dip in the middle, although the other side was fine, luckily i was alone. The wifi service was terrible, very slow and patchy, I don't pay for the premium and only used the basic free, but colleagues who paid for the premium said it made no difference. The hotel is well located. The rate was not bad for a centrally located business meeting hotel.
Breakfast buffet is good and conference lunches were of high standard.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the outside of the hotel can be noisy in the night from outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maale Adumim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located right in the city center, everything is within walking distance , restaurants, shops, bars and the central station.Staff are welcoming and always ready to help. The room was spacious, cozy and clean. We highly recommend and hope to return again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank roniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel looks good but the room we were given has nothing to do with a five star hotel. Basic furniture, TV not really working, tapestry torn, dirty ventilation grid, bathroom ceiling damaged, no shower but a plastic shower curtain in the tub ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bistoufly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Staff, service, cleanliness, and equipment in room were excellent. Room was too warm and furnishings were shabby. Hotel has not been refurbished in a long time - it looked tired. Drinks in the lobby were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I can't even list all the bad things about my 6 day stay here. One instance was that I brought with only 2 pair of quick drying man-undies. The first morning when I needed to use hair dryer to help dry my only clean pair, the device quit after 2 seconds. Had to go commando to a work meeting.
On the plus side, the staff is friendly, though completely unhelpful.
Only reason to stay here is its extremely close location to the Red Light District, so if proximity to prostitutes is a plus, have at it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NotoriousCLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times now. Stunning, clean, grand hotel. Front of hotel overlooks Dam Square and the Royal Palce. There is also a back route on to the Red Light District (The quieter end of the RLD)

It is one of the more expensive hotels in Central Amsterdam, but well worth the money. Book well in advance to get good deals.

Fantastic location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a previous stay at the Krasnapolsky, I was not going to return, but I decided to give it another go and I am glad I did. On this visit it was very hard to fault the hotel form the check in to the rooms to the concierge to checking out were all excellent. My only issue was with the chef on the Monday morning at breakfast, whom I believe could have been a little friendlier towards the customers, but the dining room staff were brilliant. My overall experience of my return visit was 100% better and I will return to the Krasnapolsky for IBC 2014 if I am to travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Crona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing