We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #94 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times now. Stunning, clean, grand hotel. Front of hotel overlooks Dam Square and the Royal Palce. There is also a back route on to the Red Light District (The quieter end of the RLD)

It is one of the more expensive hotels in Central Amsterdam, but well worth the money. Book well in advance to get good deals.

Fantastic location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    1,014
    513
    224
    141
See reviews for
319
1,246
173
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After a previous stay at the Krasnapolsky, I was not going to return, but I decided to give it another go and I am glad I did. On this visit it was very hard to fault the hotel form the check in to the rooms to the concierge to checking out were all excellent. My only issue was with the chef on the Monday morning at breakfast, whom I believe could have been a little friendlier towards the customers, but the dining room staff were brilliant. My overall experience of my return visit was 100% better and I will return to the Krasnapolsky for IBC 2014 if I am to travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at Krasnapolsky for 3 days, due to business activities. The place is one of the best hotels I ever been to, quiet, clean, very rich breakfast and in the middle of Amsterdam Center. I really enjoyed breakfasts, because you have a cook (or two) ready to serve you in the best way. The breakfast salon is huge, liberty stilish and I felt very good.
I can't say anything about the price, since my company paid for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I came to Amsterdam on a last minute 5day trip with work and the Krasnapolsky was my hotel of choice, I absolutely loved it!! the Staff were absolutely brilliant and couldnt be any more helpful. It's in an ideal location and close to all the shops and amenities.

I loved my stay in Amsterdam, and the hotel really made the stay worthwhile for me, would DEF recommend !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel location is great, you can walk to almost every attraction. The night life next to the hotel is great. There are many restaurants near by to enjoy. But the internet at the hotel is just horrible!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first trip to the Netherlands, and we were pleasantly surprised by the people of Amsterdam. They're gracious, polite and helpful. Thank goodness we took the advice of our friends who recommended the Krasnapolsky, it was a fabulous experience. The hotel was bright, clean and updated. The staff was awesome. They saw to our every need with courtesy and professionalism. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

great hotel very central location, easy to walk to everything
although in the dam the hotel was quiet and very comfortable, just put on your walking shoes and you can see most sights, sightseeing stores very close if you want to venture further afield. train ststion within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.