We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant wedding planning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #90 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant wedding planning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We planned out wedding from a abroad, choosing the Kras as they offered a wedding planning service that included everything, and I mean everything! They planned and organised the most magnificent ceremony in the Restaurant Reflet and a wonderful drinks and cakes reception in the Seasons Room and Garden. The cake was beautiful, as was the set up in each room. Their in-house wedding planner, Charissa, made the planning and organising from abroad so easy and smooth, offering advice and making sure we didn't leave anything out! I can't rate this hotel better. The honeymoon suite was simply perfect, too! Our family and friends who attended haven't been able to stop talking about just how beautiful and relaxed it was!

If you're looking for a romantic Amsterdam getaway or a venue for your wedding, I can't recommend this place enough. You won't be disappointed. The best part, it was rather inexpensive for a 5* Hotel wedding.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was amazing! Simply beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    803
    774
    414
    184
    111
See reviews for
239
938
132
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Its around ten years since we last stayed at the Krasnapolsky, and while the service remains excellent and the location on Dam Sq is unbeatable, the deluxe rooms that we stayed in (we had two rooms for our group) were very tired and knocked about. In one the air conditioning did not work and in both the wood floors were in a bad state, with badly scuffed furniture and stained soft furnishings. I used to stay in this hotel as a child in the 1960s and it was very old fashioned, and then NH (a chain I use a lot) redeveloped it late in the 1990s (I think) and it was great. However, now it feels like it needs to be completely re-done agin to re-establish why you should pay premium rates There are quite a few other NH hotels in Amsterdam and next time we will be staying on one of the others.

Room Tip: stay in another NH in Amstersdam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. The location is unbeatable, as it's in the heart of Amsterdam. The hotel staff were very courteous, helpful and friendly.The rooms are large with a nice size bathroom that were both clean and in good repair.The shower pressure was great and the air conditioning worked well. The hotel itself was attractive, nice size, and well maintained,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked this hotel through booking.com and it was as expected. I had read the reviews about the older style rooms but resisted upgrading and paying the extra which we were offered at 30euros more. We had an excellent price for a 5 star hotel. Yes the room was tired and nothing like the 5star hotels i've stayed in the UK but it was spacious and clean well serviced and we slept well.I expect It is the facilities that bump this hotel to 5 star rather than the rooms.

We stayed for 4 nights from the 5-9th of Agust 2013 and the room was very warm and we needed the air conditioning on constantly. The windows blocked all the outside noise from the busy area. We were able to store our luggage when we arrived and on leaving, we were able to check in early at around midday and the later midday booking out was much more convinent than some 10-11am checkouts that I have recieved.

This hotel was exactly as I expected.(read all the reviews) An excellent location. If you want modern, up dated rooms pay the extra, but nothing wrong with the standard rooms but they are not 5 star.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in the Amsterdam wing and the window over looked a busy street leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Landed, took train to central station and only 150 meters walk away you are in front of the hotel. Really easy and many things to see around it. Staff are friendly as all of them speak English which was very helpful to us travelling in non English speaking country. I will recommended this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Got a room in the Annex which was ideal for me as I wasn't using the hotel other than to sleep. The room was large, especially so, for Amsterdam, however it might not be suitable for all guests. The central location is ideal for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Smack bang in the middle of the Dam Square, with trams just across the road, bars, shops and cafes at every corner and of course not forgetting the red light district, this hotel is pretty conveniently located I must say. Just a few minutes walk from all the mayhem and you'll come to the canals. A great hotel to stay at if you're not fussy about noise at night, as the restaurants and cafes are just behind the room we stayed. That said, the rooms are quite well sound proof and there's air-conditioning, so there's no need to open the windows. My tip would be to ask for a room NOT facing the back streets OR the front. Just ask for somewhere that's not facing any main streets :)

But what amazed me most was the service we received from one person in particular- the Front Office Manager by the name of Marije who went well beyond her duty to allocate us a room for three. Thank you so much Ms Marije!

Definitely looking forward to returning to one of the most beautiful and culturally diversed city in the world! Luv ya Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Away from the main streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.