We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but hightly overated as a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #91 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location but hightly overated as a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For the price I paid satisfied but this is definitely not a 5 star hotel or 4 1/2 star hotel. We were given a "deluxe" room in an annex building,. We had to leave the main hotel , go outside and cross an unsecure and rather dingy alley to get to our room. Other than a swipe card, there is no security or personnel manning this building, and on a Saturday night all sorts of characters, drunks etc. were hanging out in the alley. It didn't really bother me, but for many people (woman? elderly?) or someone payimg rack-rate for what they thought was a 5-star hotel experience this would be unacceptable. I cannot imagine any "5 star" hotel that makes you cross an unsecured ally to get to your room in an that has no personnal manning that building. If I had been paying "rack" rate would have felt taken but my rate was quite good.

Our room was fine but not luxurious, perhaps 3 1/2 stars. Updated but with dings chips and wear The general appearance of the lobby, a bit worn out.

ALSO: The free internet is not quite free. You get an allocation of 100mb data per 24 hours (which is almost NOTHING), then you have to pay additional data charges at a very high cost. In my case, just pushing my emails up to my PDA exhausted my data in about 3 minutes! The website I booked through touted FREE INTERNET is a major selling point and in this case is facilitating a BAIT AND SWITCH.scheme.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    811
    790
    424
    187
    112
See reviews for
236
935
132
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed here for weekend Aug 2012.....Location right on Dam Square......Lovely rooms and lovely toiletries ....lots of energy and gym for my boyfriend.....Outside garden ...beautiful....peaceful right in middle of crazy fun vibrant city .Breakfast room food heaven on earth...even offered prosecco....Great hotel cant wait to return ...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 4 day break in amsterdam and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were attentive and helpful and the hotel location in Dam Square could not have been better. Terrific.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My hotel stay was quite acceptable, my only regret was I wasn't there long enough for me to enjoy all of that the Hotel had to offer. I felt safe and the location of the hotel was easily accessible to so much that Amsterdam had to offer. The dining room where I had breakfast during my stay was simply beautiful and the staff was very attentive and were eager to please you without any pressure. When I return to Amsterdam I hope to stay at this same hotel but for a longer stay of time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend had a conference at this hotel last week- we got home yesterday. We were very happy with the hotel. We stayed 6 nights. The location is outstanding. You can walk most places or get the nearby trams. It felt very safe. We stayed in the third floor in one of the modern rooms. The bed was very comfortable! The shower had great water pressure. They checked the room for cleaning and turn down service twice per day. There is a pillow menu and we used it. Anytime we called the front desk someone came up within 5 minutes to help with any need.

The hotel is pretty. It is old style with interesting touches such as an ornate banister. As I wrote, our room was modern and we liked it very much. And the third floor was quiet. No real view but we didn't mind. Breakfast in the winter garden was included for us because of the conference. The food was very good. I understand it is usually 30 Euros per person.

The staff was friendly and professional. When we first arrived it was too early to get into the room and we were exhausted from the long flight. This was true for many people who had just arrived. But to be fair the room was not promised until 3:00 but we got in at 1:30. There was some complaining from other guests but the staff were doing their best. The hotel was sold out for the conference. I was able to purchase my ticket for the Rijks Museum from the concierge easily. All in all, we were very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de janeiro
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've spent three nights at Krasnapolsky this month (July) with my wife and 13 year old daughter. The hotel is sumptous and very well located. Everything works well, from front desk services to room care.

Concierge was out of public transportation tickets and was not very helpful. They should offer more actively tours, bikes, etc.

The room was spacious but must be renovated, specially the bathroom. The breakfast costs 29 euro per person, which is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a pleasant surprise we had on our trip to the Netherlands. When you read about the star ratings of European hotels you wonder, at times, how they get them. From the very start we were treated with efficiency, smiles and courtesy. Not one single question or request went unmet, reasonable requests. Like a move to a renovated room. Late check out. Help with restaurant reservations. Advance ticket purchase to places like Anne Frank's house to avoid the Queue. This is a Large beautiful Hotel. Full of energy and perfectly located in the middle of everything. Best Concierge service we have encountered in years.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room...free late stay...their is no charge for leaving luggage downstairs. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.