We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When dreams come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #88 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Roma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When dreams come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a kid visiting Amsterdam many times since when I was 18 and staying usually in overcrowded hostels, every time I walked pass Dam Square I always looked at Krasnapolski and thought "Oh gosh, if I will ever able to afford it one day, I'll stay in this hotel, no more fricking hostels!" And it finally come true 4 years ago, I was amazed. Then I came back to NH Krasnapolski in December 2012 and the impressions and emotions were the same, maybe even better. The location is the best you can find in town. The staff is very professional, reliable and helpful. One special remark to the bartender of the lounge, he really knows how to do his own work. The rooms are very clean, in my second staying I finally got one without moquette. It is possible to relax looking at the window even in internal-viewed rooms. The breakfast in the wintergarden is somehow overwhelming. Rich full american buffet with a lot of pastries, champagne, and a very nice hot section. Room service is totally reliable, it takes usually no more than 10 minutes to have your orders in room. Just a bitter note, prices have really raised in 3 years. On my first visit in January 2009 I took a nice Travel Agent price, on my second one in January 2013 (way after NY) even the Travel Agent price was nearly untouchable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    815
    430
    191
    117
See reviews for
257
1,001
140
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After a few days of business at the Casa 400 we switched to the Krasnapolski for a leisure weekend. I have stayed here a number of times in the past and you can't be better placed to enjoy Amsterdam. Although I had a travel card the weather was lovely so I walked to all the main areas (Rembrandtsplein, Ledesplein, Museum quarter and Jordaan) as well as to Centraal station to met my wife. The only downside with the hotel was the wifi through Swisscom - it was free but this was no consolation as the service was really awful - very slow and continually needing to be refreshed. It is time that these major hotels really understood that their guests want reliable high speed wifi all the time in all areas.

Room Tip: We were in the Amsterdam wing slightly separate from the main hotel and although our room overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hotel room was amazing except that the safe didn't work. The best perk of the hotel was the central location. Also the room when we walked in felt very friendly and clean. Everything in the room besides the safe worked very well.

Room Tip: It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kungsbacka
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

the best situated hotel in Amsterdam, big old impressive lady that have seen the best of her days. still friendly helpful but a little posh staff in the reception. we get an offer on apartment instead of a room, that is not the best deal. we hade people in the stairs ringing the bell in the middle of the night, really hard beds, window that could not be opened, but they changed us after one night. the breakfast was really outstanding, but we did not get it in the famous wintergarden...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have stayed here a few times in the past, and was looking forward to staying here again. The location is pretty great, right on the Dam Square and an easy 7 min walk to the Central Station. It's closer to the Red Light District, Touristy Restaurants and coffeeshops than the museums or quieter areas, and it's a large, busy hotel so the location still probably isn't for those seeking a personal retreat.
As for our room, we asked about an upgraded room and got a "recently" renovated room in the Amsterdam room which still looked/felt somewhat dated. Also, the sitting area of the suite was just two chairs squeezed into the entryway, not at all convenient or comfortable. Having stayed in their most basic room, I can't say it was worth it for the 50 euro or whatever upgrade. The steam shower was actually a mini-steam room in the shower which seemed weird and unappealing to me but my fiance liked it sort of. That said, the toiletries were very nice, the bed comfortable, and the view very good. Concierge was slightly sniffy, but ultimately got us a reservation at a great restaurant that wasn't just next door or insanely expensive, so overall that was a win.
The general impression of the hotel is very nice, but also more on the business/conference side- maybe a little to big and impersonal for a true romantic/relaxing getaway. But if you need a business hotel or a good deal (I've always gotten good deals from them - they have frequent 50% - 60% off sales) I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a midlevel corner room in the Amsterdam Wing and can't say it was much that better than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Right at Dam Square, this hotel has probably the best location in Amsterdam.Budget hotels costed only like 20% less, so I didn't hesitate to book here and spent a great night.
The room was huge, although I found the deoration a bit outdated and the bathroom area needed to be renewed. I spent neverheless a great night here. Breakfast wasn't included on the rate I booked so I can't tell anything about food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam, 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.