We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Dam Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Gosford, NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On Dam Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel before heading off on a river cruise. Close to everything touristy in and around the area of the Dam Square, e.g. Red Light District, river canal cruises. Great cafes for people watching. Staff at this hotel were fantastic couldn't do enough for you. Food was great.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    791
    424
    187
    112
See reviews for
238
936
132
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wythenshawe, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was treating my self and my cousin to what i thought would be a luxury trip to Amsterdam, reading a few reviews i was looking forward to our stay at the NH grand Krasnapolsky. i had booked online and after booking i emailed the hotel to confirm went payment would be taken. they replied and said payment would be made at the point of check out. When we arrived at the hotel i was quite impressed until i got to the reception desk. Not only was the staff was rude to the trainee member of staff practically demanded an up front payment for our room which i didn't have a problem with until they said they wanted a £150 deposit for our stay which was the first time i had been informed about this, so not only did they want up front payment and a deposit all why the couple next to check in with no payment and no mention of a deposit. they then tried to charge me an extra 150 euros because they couldn't convert euros into pounds which i had to do for them after spending 35 minutes at reception being made to feel like we didn't belong there, i was looking forward to getting to my room to only to be told that we wouldn't be allowed to out room until four not three like it had stated when i booked. when we finally got to out room i can only say i was bitterly disappointed if i wanted to stay in cheap hotel i would of booked there was no one thing i could say was 5* about this room housekeeping was the only service i was happy with in the hotel

Room Tip: if you want a nice room book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room was very clean, but smelly. Room was noisy from adjacent rooms.
Elevator smelled of sewer. Room was small.
It was much less than expected for the money we paid.
Bath tubs bottom were curved to promote slipping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice spacious room, in the annexe off the main building, on top of a street of restaurants.

Noisy in the evening from the street below. However, great central location on one side of Dam Square.

Buffet breakfast prices extortionate (€32), so ate at places outside hotel - plenty of choice.

800 metres from central station, so an easy-ish walk with case and 2 year old.

Bedroom walls not thick enough to prevent us hearing our neighbour losing their stomach contents every night!

Not a stag do in sight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at this fab hotel to celebrate his 50th Birthday. We could not have wished for a better hotel!
The hotel is in busy Dam Square - the heart of Amsterdam, about 5-10 minutes walk from Centraal Station (depending how fast you walk!) and near all the tourist attractions. On entering the hotel you leave behind the noise of Dam Square and enter the lovely, serene atmosphere of the hotel! The staff were all very helpful and we were able to check in a lot earlier than expected.
The room was perfect - spotlessly clean and looked newly renovated. My partner was given chocolates as I had mentioned to the hotel that it was his birthday!
We can't wait to come back to this fantastic hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel so that you don't hear any noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel, only info we had was that it was a 'mystery' 5 star, central hotel in Amsterdam. We booked 2 nights at a moderate price and were more than happy with our eventual destination. Really friendly staff, a huge comfy bed, immaculately clean bathroom and all 5 mins walk from Central Station. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We were worried about trip advisor reports of having to pay 50 euros deposit but all we were asked for was 13 euro city tax. No problem. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Krasnapolsky on several occasions now, and reviewed at least one of them before. It is the location which sets this hotel apart from any other: it is in the heart of Dam Square, a short walk from Centraal Station, next door to de Bijenkorf and a short walk from most or all of the central tourist attractions.

It continues to be a slightly strange place: fairly grand lobby and communal area downstairs, but with the feel of a hotel which has grown a bit too big: it operates over quite a number of buildings, and it is really very large. The rooms are reasonable, but grand they are not. They are three star rooms in an otherwise 5 star setting.

Still, service is pretty unpretentious and efficient. Amongst a pretty limited pool of good quality hotel rooms in Amsterdam (by international standards), it still sets itself out as one of the better options to consider. For luxury, however, you will need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.