We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky) (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A good hotel but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I liked this hotel and enjoyed my stay but could not claim that for the price I paid it represented particularly good value for money. The location is great, a short walk from Central Station and right in the town centre so handy for trams, shops etc. The hotel itself must have been luxurious twenty years ago but I doubt it has seen much change since then, everything is clean and well maintained but from the décor to the small, slow lifts it is very dated. My room was a good size with decent furniture and a large, comfortable bed but the bathroom was small, rather sparse and had no ventilation. While I was content with my accommodation the temperature was a problem, judging from the dial on the retro air conditioner it was 24 Celsius when I arrived, scorching for my taste, and playing with the various switches and knobs made no discernible difference so I slept with the windows open. The staff were generally conscientious, efficient and polite; checking in and out was smooth and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. Unfortunately the exception to the rule is what sticks in my mind and the concierge from whom we collected our bags when completing check in on Thursday afternoon did his job staggeringly badly. He kept a friend and I waiting without acknowledging our presence while he finished a lengthy phone call, once this was done he immediately began another and then, just in case his contempt wasn’t quite plain enough, embarked on a third. When he finally deigned to allow us to collect our luggage he shouted at us as if he were admonishing naughty school children for a reason that he was apparently too important to elucidate. Maybe he was having a really bad day and is normally the epitome of courtesy or maybe he is an ignorant, conceited misanthrope who should not be working in a service industry. The highlight of my stay was breakfast which was thoroughly enjoyable. It is served in the winter garden which is beautiful, the staff were very happy for a friend who was staying elsewhere to join us and the buffet was excellent in variety, quality and quantity. I’d have been quite content with breakfast anyway but to top it off it includes Prosecco and pretty good Prosecco at that, a really nice way to start the day. I’d say that generally the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky did most things quite well and one brilliantly but if you charge 150 Euros a night and an additional 30 for breakfast your guests are more likely to remember being welcomed to an overheated 1990’s time capsule by a rude concierge than a good visit subsequent to that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    806
    786
    421
    186
    112
See reviews for
232
930
132
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is the best, you can walk everywhere and also very close to their well planned trolly system...the hotel itself is lovely...we had a very beautiful contemporary furnished room with all the amenities. The hotel is very clean and the staff wonderful...would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I doubt the location could be any better! It's walking distance from most of the touristy places in Amsterdam and countless cafe's. The rooms are spacious enough and well equipped. A special note goes to the beds which are conducive to deep sleep! On the whole a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went to amsterdam from 21st april to 24th april and believe me you cannot get a better place to live in amsterdam. The USP of the hotel is its location. Just behind it is red light district and every popular location is just nearby. Loved the newly built rooms. The view from some of the rooms are amazing. The staff is very friendly. Actually i found this with every european. Loved everybit of it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can see why people choose to stay here! We got a good deal and chose it for its location. The reception staff were nice, and helpful. Our triple room was in the older part of the hotel, it was big, clean and well appointed. The beds were comfy, even the 3rd was a normal size bed not a converted sofa. The bathroom was quite dated with pale blue tiles on the wall, but it was also big and clean. The shower did however either scald or freeze me, so I took to using the bath. My parents had a room in the new part of the hotel which was the furthest from reception, but this was fine for us, but I can imagine would bother people who found walking a problem. Their room was super modern and really very nice. The breakfast was very good, plentiful and very tasty. It was however extremely pricey and I am sure I didn't get my money's worth. There was a terrible smell as we came out of the lift (5th) on the 4th floor. There were a couple of other places with a similar smell. Maybe it is time to change some carpets! On the Saturday night there was a big party, which was very noisy, I could feel the thumping of the music on the 4th floor. Overall we had a good stay and felt like we had a better experience than some other travellers, maybe we were lucky. Not a 5 star, but a good hotel.

Room Tip: I wrote to the hotel before we came asking for nicer rooms, they said they would do their best for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is in the very middle of Amsterdam at Dam sq. It's easy to reach the hotel from the airport as it's within walking distance from the central station. This means that can get there in about 30 minutes from the airport.

Yes, this is a 5 star hotel with everything that comes with it; nice efficient personnel (everyone from the cleaning lady and the handyman to the frontdesk personnel and the waiters). clean modern hotelrooms and all-you-need-and wish-breakfast. The hotel consits of several parts and to some rooms you may need to go through some electronically looked sliding doors. You may have problems finding your way in the huge hotel, but there's always someone willing to assist you.

The hotel is perfect for arranging big working conferences as there is a huge hall directly connected to the winter garden and several smaller rooms for work shops. Furthermore there's a separate conference desk and the meeting facilities have all the electrical appliences you may need including an internal info system with several screens.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant, but as you're right in the middle of town there's hundreds of other options just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great! Walking distance to nearly everything we wanted to do or see. The location is the only thing that gets a 5 star rating from us though. The room had an "odd" odour and faced onto Dam Square. The noise from the square lasted well into the night/early hours of the morning, so there were no good nights of sleep here. Our "double" bed consisted of 2 twin beds pushed together. Each bed even had its own set of sheets and comforter. The bedding was nothing special and the towels were thin and wrinkled. The lobby area was OK. We did not get to use the bar as we were told a private party had it completely booked for both of our nights. As we were so disappointed in the quality of this hotel we did not even want to try the restaurants. No, this is definitely NOT a 5 star by anyone's standard (might be a decent 3 star). We would neither recommend this hotel nor stay here again. There are so many great choices in Amsterdam. Don't take a chance on this hotel unless you absolutely have to be in Dam Sqare for some reason!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky

Address: Dam 9, 1012 JS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very heart of the city, right on the central Dam square near many major tourist and business attractions. Situated in a historical building that dates back to 1865, the hotel combines a traditional feel with the comfort and style of modern conveniences. Numerous Amsterdam tourist attractions are within easy walking distance of the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, including the Royal Palace, Nieuwe Kerk, Anne Frank House, Van Gogh museum, red-light district, and Heineken Brewery. The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is also quite convenient for business travelers, with public transportation readily available to access places like the RAI Convention Center, Schiphol Airport, and World Trade Center.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky offers a total of 468 stylish guest rooms, including one split-level suite, six luxurious junior suites, and 35 fully equipped apartments. Stop by the fitness center for a workout or relax with a soothing massage after your busy day. If you arrive by car, the hotel has a parking attendant at your service and a secure paid garage. Excellent public transportation connections take you all around Amsterdam, with bus and tram stops right outside the hotel. The central train station is only five minutes away and Schiphol Amsterdam Airport is just a 25 minute taxi or car ride.There is no shortage of fine food and drink at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. Enjoy the hotel’s exquisite buffet breakfast, served every morning in the Summer Garden and glass-roofed Winter Garden. The hotel restaurant Reflet offers an à la carte dinner selection and menu of belle époque French style cuisine. Grand Café Mathilde offers a great selection of homemade tea, liqueurs, and an exceptional view of the Dam plaza. The hotel is also home to the Wynand Fockink Distillery, which dates back to 1679, where you can taste and buy top gins and liqueurs, and its Golden Palm Bar offers a wide variety of the refreshing cocktails.The NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky is considered the largest conference hotels in the Netherlands and Belgium, offering an impressive assortment of facilities to help make sure your events are successful. Conference facilities include 22 fully equipped and air-conditioned function rooms, which can accommodate groups of any size up to 1600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.